Ratings based on 1,792 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Close to the metro station
Cons: Better pillows PLEASE
Location: Restaurants nearby so that is good
Good short stay but hotel staff not very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay. We're sorry to hear that our team members did not greet you with the welcoming attitude that all guests should receive. We will ensure that our entire team is doing their very best to continuously provide exceptional customer service. But it's great that you still had an overall enjoyable stay, and our convenient and easy access to the metro was suitable for you. We hope that you were able to find some tasty dining options from the nearby restaurants. If your travels bring you to the area again, we would love for another opportunity to give you the stay that you deserve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Philly

A Comfortable Stay

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: I especially liked the desk staff & other employees were friendly & nice!
Cons: The ice maker was not working on my floor so I had to take the one elevator up to next floor. The elevator was filled so the wait was long.
Location: Burger King, cleaners (for clothing), restaurants, Pharmacy, café & a few stores are within 3 blocks walking. Metro 4 blks away,
Very convenient to transportation for seeing tourist sights downtown & vicinity. Satisfactory accommodations: access to floors is restricted by room key, parking (extra cost), clean room, tastefully decorated, small but enough to be comfortable, big screen tv, shower & tub, extra towels in room, ironing board, iron, microwave & safe. No breakfast or area in lobby for other than seating for two where there IS a big screen TV and lobby desk near. I found the staff to be very friendly, informative & accommodating. Nice people!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Audrey, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Days Inn Washington DC. Your opinions and feedback are so meaningful to the continued success for all of our guests. We are delighted to know you found the accommodations satisfactory, clean, and comfortable. We pride ourselves on a friendly and informative team, and we are glad to know this was your experience during your staff. We apologize for any inconvenience with the ice machine. Our maintenance team will most assuredly remedy this problem. Again, feedback like yours is important to us, and we appreciate your patronage and time. We hope to accommodate you again during your next visit to DC!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Cons: Some of the plugs and lights did not work, but overall is was a place to stay at a good price,
Location: A bit out of the most traveled, but close enough with the Metro,
An adequate place to stay at a good price. Not fancy, but works.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant, good-value stay with us in Northwest DC. As you noted, the nearby Metro and host of other transportation options allows our guests to get the benefit of a quiet, convenient neighborhood within minutes of everything the city has to offer. We do apologize for some of the maintenance issues you encountered and are glad that you had a good stay overall. Please consider us for another visit when you return to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel had a musty smell , beds were not comfortable and I would not recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your feedback is appreciated and valued as we consider it an opportunity to address any issues we can improve upon. We apologize for any unusual odors you encountered and are sorry to hear the bed was not to your preference. Hopefully, other aspects of our accommodations, such as our excellent service, convenient location, and affordable rate, all added value to your visit. Thank you for sharing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, Il

Nice hotel but no microwave

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great location, very clean could have a microwave for the guest since there's none in the room. Also very close to the Metro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dreana, We're happy to hear that you liked most things about your recent stay. We're glad that our clean rooms and great location contributed to a great stay. However, we're sorry to hear that your room's lack of a microwave was an inconvenience. Our top priority is providing our guests with quality accommodations for an exceptional value, so we're always seeking ways to improve our guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, and we hope your next visit will be even better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from North Myrtle Beach, SC

Great for the Price

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Location: There is a fantastic Italian restaurant located next door. Great service and great food.
I had to make a unexpected trip to Washington, DC on business. This hotel was reasonably priced and in the area I needed to be. Upon arrival the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. This is an older hotel; the rooms are small, but they were clean and the bed was very comfortable. I did have an issue with my TV which was quickly fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, We're delighted to hear that your last-minute stay with us for DC was everything you needed it to be. It sounds like our great value, convenient location, and clean accommodations suited the needs of your business trip. We're glad that our staff was able to swiftly resolve the issue with your TV. Thank you for choosing us at Days Inn Washington DC, and we hope you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in good area

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice clean hotel in friendly neighborhood. About 30 minutes from downtown. Close to food and a fair price
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're thrilled that you enjoyed our clean and updated accommodations, convenient and quiet neighborhood, and affordable prices! At Days Inn Washington DC, our goal is to provide our guests with quality accommodations for a great value. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay. Please come again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nice area, close to the metro. Rooms were small and a bit outdated. Staff was courteous and helpful. There was a grocery store and a CVS close by. The restaurant next store was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad our staff was able to give you the service you were seeking and deserve. In addition to the restaurant next door, our friendly team is always available to provide other suggestions for more dining options nearby. We are very sorry to hear that the rooms felt outdated to you, but we have good news -- a renovation is underway in our rooms and our lobby. We hope you can come check it out once it is completed and we are more able to meet the expectations of value both you and we have for our guests. Thanks again for stopping by and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsatisfactory

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Let me attempt to describe my experience with the Days Inn hotel: 1) I was unable to park my car in the hotel lot because it was unbelievably small, filled to capacity and there were no other public parking lots located within the vicinity 2) I had to change rooms upon my arrival because it smelled of body odor and the TV kept switching off by itself 3) The hotel decor is extremely outdated and has a very "unclean" appearance Recommendation: considering staying somewhere else, if you are able to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We value our guests' feedback and thank you for your honest evaluation of your recent stay. Our staff strives to provide the outstanding service you deserve and we are unhappy that we did not meet your expectations at this time. Currently, renovations are being made to our lobby and guest rooms. We hope you will give us the chance to host you again and to provide you with a better stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
One elevator was broken the other was hard to use because of the busy travel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to notify us of the elevator issue you experienced during your stay. We greatly appreciate all constructive feedback from our guests, as it is helpful in our endeavor to provide the best experience possible. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced because of our out-of-order elevator, and we are working hard at the moment to restore full functionality for the convenience of our guests. We hope that you will consider coming back in the future and allowing us to provide you with a much more convenient and hassle-free stay.