Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by gilles

Cher pour les prestations, peu de choix région

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Cette hôtel n'est pas fait pour les GEEK. Hotel en pleine forêt au bord de route( beaucoup de passage en journée. Le téléphone mobile ne passe pas encore moins la 4G. La réception est équipée d'un ampli pour pouvoir téléphoner. Le Wifi est accessible partout dans l'hotel quand il veut bien que vous vous connectiez . Sinon, aller à la réception. Restaurant, choix , qualité, et le prix ne vont pas ensemble. 21p pour une simple steak frites. Manque d'intimité , les personnes sur le parking peuvent vous voir à l'intérieur de votre chambre ( surtout la 20 ). Mettre de portes sans fenêtre,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Live in the history!

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel has an interesting history and is very popular with the locals as well as tourists. Good walking tracks all around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful part of the world

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely setting and good stay and location
5 out of 5
by Simon from Bath

Excellent hotel, great location and service

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great long weekend at the hotel, probably the most dog friendly of anywhere web stayed which was great, amazing food and service also.
5 out of 5
by Luis from Caracas

Mejor de lo que esperaba

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente lugar para descansar. Inmejorable atención.
4 out of 5
by David from Sutton

Long weekend

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay, good breakfast and dinner. Some bedroom furniture and bathroom fittings a bit tired, and bathroom could have been warmer. Happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel in the Forest of Dean

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: It was very friendly and the food was delicious.
Cons: We had only one chair in our room, so one person had to sit on the bed.
Location: It is just a few miles away from some beautiful spots, such as Westbury Court Garden, Painswick Ricoco garden and Symonds Yat Rock - spectacular views
The hotel is in the Forest of Dean and is full of character and history; where children and dogs are welcome. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, although the menu was mostly the same each day, with a couple of specials to add a bit of variety. Set next to an arboretum and forest walks, it is a wonderful place for someone who likes walking. For children, Puzzlewood, nearby is an exciting place with farm animals, special events and walks in the woods (it was used to film 'Lord of the Rings').
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Wales

I booked this hotel for a visit to the Steam Show

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: I must add how excellent the food was and the breakfast was one of best self service I have ever tasted in my forty years of frequent travelling.
Cons: Nothing, pure heaven.
Location: No comment as I enjoyed the vintage steam show held on site and the drive around showed that there is plenty to do in the area
I had queried my booking as previous experiences from others reported that if a wedding party was held during stay it was very noisy,my experience was the opposite. The vintage show being held on the grounds during the weekend brought during the evening two Showman steam engines to the front entrance and had them running until late.Everybody I spoke to during the evening and following morning enjoyed this and could not complain as standing outside next to these produced minimal noise and could not be heard from inside the hotel even it was single glazed. There was also a wedding party the same weekend which I never heard..I will definitely stay at this hotel again as the staff were very professional and friendly and nothing was a problem to them even as busy the hotel was that evening. Thank you Speech House for an excellent weekend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, the staff were very welcoming, in fact we arrived about 2 hours early and decided to have a cup of coffee since the rain was too heavy to go walking, by the time we had finished our coffee the room was ready. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was both delicious and plentiful.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Johannesburg

Speech House

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
A good all round hotel with a bit of history in the Forest of Dean. Very friendly staff and good homely food. No lifts as a listed building so if you are travelling with heavy luggage request a lower floor room. Do not expect flash city type hotel rooms-this is an old building with creeky wooden floors and no air conditioning-a great period piece in superb surroundings.