Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Fiona

Full of old world comfort and charm

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay in a quirky and historic building. There isn't a straight line in the whole place and I loved it! Super friendly staff and delicious breakfast. Will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Convenient for our Requirements

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The friendly attentive staff.
Cons: Some decorating.
Location: In the forest, nice background. We stayed after the funeral of a family member and therefore we didn't have the opportunity to explore the local are
We stayed at the Speech House following the funeral of a family member. It was convenient for all of us who live away from the area. The Finger Buffet that was supplied was well presented anf enjoyable, the staff involved in looking after us were very professional and attentive to any of our needs. It is true to say that the Hotel decor is a little tired but after all said and done it is a very old building, but our bedroom which was outside the Hotel was very comfortable, the bathroom was large and had some disabled facilities with the exception of the shower which was over the bath, they do have specific disabled rooms available on request. We also had a single bedroom which would have been very useful for a child or a third guest off the main bedroom. All Staff members we encountered were friendly, professional and helpful and seemed happy in thier work. We will stay at the Speech House again if we have the need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Very good stay. A little dated

Posted Mar 9, 2017
We stayed overnight for a family funeral. There were other family members staying and the staff were wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable and had the added benefit of a small sitting room. The decor was a little dated but we had everything we needed . Great value for money.
5 out of 5
by R A

Superb accommodation at a very reasonable price!

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel with great service, great rooms, and great food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Hotel grounds could do with a clean as lots of litter around our cabin and car park
Location: Lots to do in the local area and lots of information in the hotel
Very good location and staff are very good hotel clean and prices very reasonable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Tired and over priced.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Setting
Cons: As above, tired, only needs a little investment to make a big difference.
Had an outside room in what I imagine was an old stable block. The room was stifling hot, with only one window that opened. No wifi at all, no offer of a fan, really badly designed room, why not have windows that open?! Fairly recent conversion, so not impossible to do. And no wifi? For £100, very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Live in the history!

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel has an interesting history and is very popular with the locals as well as tourists. Good walking tracks all around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful part of the world

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely setting and good stay and location
5 out of 5
by Simon from Bath

Excellent hotel, great location and service

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great long weekend at the hotel, probably the most dog friendly of anywhere web stayed which was great, amazing food and service also.