Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super building in the heat of the Forest of Dean

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing restaurant in the Verderer's Court but we were the only people dining there. Menu was rather limited. Our room was a bit too small to be comfortable for two people, but the view was fab. Staff were pleasant and helpful with good local knowledge.
3 out of 5
by Julie

Mixed experience, has the potential to improve

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in a lovely area to explore. Double deluxe room was spacious and quaint. Lacking a bedside table though which was a pain. Bathroom was adequate but floor was dirty in the corners, horrible. Service on reception was excellent. Service in the restaurant was poor, we had to go to the kitchen twice to find our waitress during the meal. When we first sat down, we were asked for our order, my Dad asked what the soup was, waitress didn’t know. Really irritating that basics weren’t known. We were 3 and sat on a table for 4. After we sat the 4th place setting wasn’t cleared away. Room that we dined in was impressive and historic though, nice open fire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Grimsby

Great Central Location

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Location. Middle of the wood.
Cons: Wifi in the room would of been a bonus, barriers outside the door as you where straight onto the car park / access road and maybe a bike storage area.
Location: Located in the middle of the Forest of Dean, 10 minutes drive from Puzzlewood, Perrygrove Railway and Parkend. Sort walk / bike ride to Beechenhurst
We booked this hotel as we have visited the Forest of Dean before and it is very close (0.6 miles) to Beechenhurst Picnic Site where you can access the family cycle route. It is also a 10 minute drive to Puzzlewood and Perrygrove Railway which the kids enjoyed. We booked a family room with was located on a complex at the back of the hotel. The room was comfortable and roomy for the four of us. We even had room to store 4 bikes in the room overnight. However there was no Wifi in our room as the signal wasn’t strong enough to reach form the main hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Characterful

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Lovely ambience, good food, friendly staff.
Cons: Usual towel problem. Should have 'bath sheet' sized towels for big folk like me (I'm 1.93m high)
Location: It's in the Forest of Dean: what's not to like?!
The hotel is old and its creaky - if you don't expect that, why go to a 17th century hotel?! View it as a feature and not a problem. The food, service, comforts etc are all superb, but having taken groups to old hotels for many years, I know some always complain about creaky floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Fab hotel, centrally located in the Forest of Dean

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Central location, very comfortable
Cons: Decor is a little dated in some rooms, but a country hotel!
Location: Fabulous forest walks on the doorstep; Segways and Go Ape at Mallards Lake; boating at Symmonds Yat.
Brilliant night away in the forest - the hotel was really lovely with excellent food and fabulous staff. Highly recommended, and happy to accommodate dogs.
5 out of 5
by Carol

Blissful Anniversary Retreat

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
We went for our Anniversary and the stay could not have been better. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Sue, George and Aidan. The surrounding forest was perfect for walking and the food in the Orangery was excellent. The breakfast was great for setting us up for a day of sightseeing for which the Speech House was very central for. A very peaceful and refreshing place to stay we have already recommended it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Amazing location! It was close to all local activities but had everything on site if you needed it! Dinner was lovely as was breakfast. The staff were very polite and helpful!
2 out of 5
by Margaret

Avoid cottage rooms

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in cottage room, very cold. Did find an electric heater in the wardrobe mish mash of furniture, very dated. Bathroom huge as equipped for access with wheelchair, lots of grip bars and anti slip flooring. Very utilitarian like a hospital. We did wonder how anyone in a wheelchair could use it as there was not sufficient space at the bottom of the bed for a wheelchair to pass. Ate in the conservatory bar food very good and staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast very good. Had to go to reception to get WiFi signal
4 out of 5
by Woon Leung

Spacious room, friendly staff, poor Wifi

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were friendly. I traveled with my son. Initially we can only book a room with a double bed, but on arrival they quickly found and upgraded us to a family room with a double bed and two twin beds for 1 night, then to a room with two twin beds for the rest of the journey.
5 out of 5
by LARAINE

Forest break

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Our experiance was excellent. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff were very attentive. Buffet breakfast was delicious overseen by Chaz who was very attentive and informative of the hotel and it's history. We had our evening meals in the Orangery that ovetlooks the garden and grounds. Food and wine once again very good indeed. Then you have the fabulous surroundings. So much to see and do. We walked in the forest saw a Goss Hawk at Canop's Pools went to Symonds Yat this is always a treat with the fabulous view from the rock. While we were there saw Peregrine Falcon and a Red Kite also Buzzards soaring. All in all wondetful few days.