Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful, historic hotel with huge grounds

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We had a great here. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the hotel building itself is stunning. We visited the very nice pool and spa, the llama farm at the edge of the grounds and went on one of the hotel's detailed walks into the beautiful Ashdown forest. Drinks and food are very expensive, and the restaurant was Ok, rather than fantastic. BUT we had an amazing time and would definitely return here. The staff were brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E.Sussex

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel is beautiful, food excellent, views excellent if you are lucky enough to get them from your room a bonus .
Location: We looked at the lama park. Very good value also went into to the village of Hartfield very pretty.
If you do book into this hotel avoid room 28 if you are after a good view. Over looks kitchen rather noisey bit like sleeping in the engine room. Deliveries arrive early so woken early also lots of trolley noises when clearing from hotel dining area to kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is beautiful and so are the grounds.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel felt very opulent and that in itself makes you feel special and nice to be there.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated& on the Ashdown Forest it is a lovely part of the world. You are near Forest Row, East Grinstead, Bluebell Railway & Sheffield Park.
It's recommended you book the main restaurant especially at the weekend. We had not done this which was a bit disappointing. However, the hotel more than made up for this by serving our meal by the fire in the main lounge. My daughter said she preferred this. We also received a Sunday paper and were put on a lovely table for our breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely January stay!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Customer service and area around grounds.
Cons: Room photos need updating on website. Felt slightly misled on the room we're receiving
Lovely place and perfect for a romantic getaway. Staff very friendly and provide an excellent service. Room was a good size but didn't look as advertised on Expedia or on their own website! Had dinner at their restaurant and was a great experience, good food and ambience. Morning walk around the hotel and their grounds is amazing. Room we received was a long walk to get to from reception!
5 out of 5
by Lydia

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time, it's a truly beautiful hotel, service is perfect and the food was delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Don

Ideal Anniversary stay

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place in fantastic location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very warm welcome and warm hotel. Very comfortable bed and the coffee machine in the room and hot drink facilities was very welcome. The bath robes were a nice touch and the room view stunning. Absolutely beautiful grounds in the hotel and great walks. We wish to thank Ben, one of your staff for his help with our luggage and his knowledge of the facilities and very friendly welcome. He even offered to take photographs of us on check out to preserve our memories! He is a credit to your hotel and made our stay. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Beautiful one-night stay

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The rooms, the staff and the overall atmosphere
Cons: My only complaint was that the rooms were dark and I found it very difficult to read in the evening
Location: Lovely to go to Ashdown Forest and walk in the steps of Winnie the Pooh
From the moment that we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautifully decorated and were spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable and there was nothing lacking. The breakfast was delicious and again all the staff were very attentive but not over the top. I only wish that we had had more time to extend our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Forrest location. The Llama Park in walking distance was a great experience. We got to feed many different animals, great fun!
Very nice setting. View on the garden was superb. Enjoyed walking in the forest and mini-golf!