Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Retreat!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Great grounds and brilliant nature if you are into natural photography, and low light pollution is brilliant for night photopraphy.
Location: Lama Park nearby is fun, as well as running trails and the Spa, the Spa!!!
My wife took me to Ashdown Park for my birthday this year. We last visited 5 years ago for our anniverssary and I ust say the standard has not dropped one bit. The room we were given was generously spacious, airy, warm despite the cold outside and with an extremely comfortable bed. The grounds are fabulous and walking trails are quite close by if you are looking to spread out a bit. The spa is top quality and fully equipped to cater for all needs. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope it will not be another 5 years before we return :o)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Teresa from Hertfordshire

Fantastic venue and staff. Small updates required

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely and the grounds were marvellous. I cannot rate the staff highly enough. The restaurant and food was superb - I love the live piano playing! The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the views are amazing.I would have given this a full rating other than the fact that the 3 rooms I paid for had no fridges. I asked for a fridge and an extremely small fridge (about 9") was sent up. I couldn't even get a bottle of water in it but had to give it up anyway, as my son had booked a fridge but there were none available. My 1 year old grandson took priority!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Croydon

Top hotel but everything is expensive

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Deluxe room could be bigger
Location: Winnie the pooh country, Sheffield Park NT, Bluebell Railway
Set in the Ashdown Forest, this hotel is more like a country house with a church attached. The staff are faultless. Food in the restaurant was excellent, the service superb (despite a wedding going on at the other end of the property) - but you pay for it. £180 for a three course meal with a £40 bottle of wine. Two G & Ts were over £17. There are extensive grounds with a lake and golf club and a country club/pool/spa and gym. Our deluxe room was expensive and small for the price but had everything you'd need. So well worth a visit for that special occasion but save up first!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Lovely hotel beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Perfect as it is
Location: Lovely country location, we didn't stray from the hotel as we only had an overnight stay
Arrived at 12.30 pm. Went for a swim and jaccusi followed by body massage, very relaxing. Had champagne tea at 3 pm. Lovely sandwiches and cakes, very delicious! Weather too miserable to walk round the grounds unfortunately. Went down for dinner at 8.30 and once again the food was exceptional. All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin from Beckenham

Chilly nights

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
No heating in the room for two nights remedied for last night . Made up for with an excellent swimming pool and spa .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great food and service.

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed more than week, unfortunately my room was small and shower’s water pressure was very low. But great quality of food and service. I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by J from Witney

Glorious Ashdown

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
The setting is glorious and the hotel staff very pleasant.It has old world charm .Not a place to choose if your not in tiptop condition,as there is no lift. The continental breakfast was good but the cooked breakfast really so dreadful we declined to eat any on the third day ,even though it was included the holiday deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steven from Exeter

Excellent country hotel, perfect family break

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 3 nights at the end of the summer holidays. I can't rate this hotel highly enough, it is comfortable, friendly, has great facilities, and the overall effect is a hotel that is very relaxing and puts its guests at the heart of all it does. The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and at ease. The health and sports facilies are all excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Aug 19, 2015
No words to describe our stay.... above and beyond excellent! Thank you!! Beautiful grounds and building, attentive staff, great facilities. Quality!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barry from Braintree

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
I was charged by Hotels.com at the time of booking and after checking by bank balance I was also charged FULL price by the Hotel. To date I have received no refund by either party and after calling the hotel on Monday after weekend the accounts lady told me they could not trace any booking for me or details of my stay/reservation. Obviously I have an ongoing problem after my stay at Ashdown Hotel.