Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

A Must Stay!

Posted May 19, 2017
We stayed one night, before a flight home from Gatwick the next morning. Wish we had booked for longer. This Country Manor is absolutely fabulous! Old and historic, with beautiful grounds and church next to it. Walk the trails if you get time. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. And the prices, for such a luxurious hotel, were extremely reasonable! We will definitely be back, and for a longer stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in an excellent country setting

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Fridge in room
Celebration night away - first class staff, great facilities. Lovely and relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Posted May 8, 2017
An absolutely beautiful hotel with superb, friendly and courteous staff- nothing was ever too much trouble. Only disappointment was the 'alleged' dress code, requiring men to wear jackets and collared shirt for dinner and no sport attire. Many men in jeans and t-shirts on the Saturday evening when we stayed! Nice to feel overdressed though in such a beautiful setting. Wonderful birthday weekend!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Superb amenities - lovely location

Posted May 2, 2017
A very enjoyable stay. Played golf and used the pol area. Staff friendly and accommodating. Would like to feel we will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful, historic hotel with huge grounds

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We had a great here. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the hotel building itself is stunning. We visited the very nice pool and spa, the llama farm at the edge of the grounds and went on one of the hotel's detailed walks into the beautiful Ashdown forest. Drinks and food are very expensive, and the restaurant was Ok, rather than fantastic. BUT we had an amazing time and would definitely return here. The staff were brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E.Sussex

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel is beautiful, food excellent, views excellent if you are lucky enough to get them from your room a bonus .
Location: We looked at the lama park. Very good value also went into to the village of Hartfield very pretty.
If you do book into this hotel avoid room 28 if you are after a good view. Over looks kitchen rather noisey bit like sleeping in the engine room. Deliveries arrive early so woken early also lots of trolley noises when clearing from hotel dining area to kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is beautiful and so are the grounds.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel felt very opulent and that in itself makes you feel special and nice to be there.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated& on the Ashdown Forest it is a lovely part of the world. You are near Forest Row, East Grinstead, Bluebell Railway & Sheffield Park.
It's recommended you book the main restaurant especially at the weekend. We had not done this which was a bit disappointing. However, the hotel more than made up for this by serving our meal by the fire in the main lounge. My daughter said she preferred this. We also received a Sunday paper and were put on a lovely table for our breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely January stay!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Customer service and area around grounds.
Cons: Room photos need updating on website. Felt slightly misled on the room we're receiving
Lovely place and perfect for a romantic getaway. Staff very friendly and provide an excellent service. Room was a good size but didn't look as advertised on Expedia or on their own website! Had dinner at their restaurant and was a great experience, good food and ambience. Morning walk around the hotel and their grounds is amazing. Room we received was a long walk to get to from reception!
5 out of 5
by Lydia

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time, it's a truly beautiful hotel, service is perfect and the food was delicious.