Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The grounds are stunning
Beautiful grounds, but hotel interiors are tired. Carpets and furniture definitely need changing. Staff are very friendly and helpful but some seem to be clueless or very poorly trained/prepared for the job. Breakfast needs improving a lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax and spoil yourself!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Every member of staff made you feel relaxed. The ground are beautiful, sports and Spa facilities have everything you could wish for and are quiet and personal.......and the food was a delicious, stylish adventure! I felt so relaxed and didn't want to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous grounds

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Great golf course and good tennis. Staff make every effort to help you enjoy your stay
Beautiful location the grounds are fabulous. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

A Must Stay!

Posted May 19, 2017
We stayed one night, before a flight home from Gatwick the next morning. Wish we had booked for longer. This Country Manor is absolutely fabulous! Old and historic, with beautiful grounds and church next to it. Walk the trails if you get time. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. And the prices, for such a luxurious hotel, were extremely reasonable! We will definitely be back, and for a longer stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in an excellent country setting

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Fridge in room
Celebration night away - first class staff, great facilities. Lovely and relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Posted May 8, 2017
An absolutely beautiful hotel with superb, friendly and courteous staff- nothing was ever too much trouble. Only disappointment was the 'alleged' dress code, requiring men to wear jackets and collared shirt for dinner and no sport attire. Many men in jeans and t-shirts on the Saturday evening when we stayed! Nice to feel overdressed though in such a beautiful setting. Wonderful birthday weekend!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Superb amenities - lovely location

Posted May 2, 2017
A very enjoyable stay. Played golf and used the pol area. Staff friendly and accommodating. Would like to feel we will be back
4 out of 5
by Ralph

Great Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely grounds, great service & enjoyable stay, only negative is the spa / pool / changing was poorly maintained in terms of cleanliness, so an area that needs some improvement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful but room was a long way from reception and dining rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful, historic hotel with huge grounds

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We had a great here. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the hotel building itself is stunning. We visited the very nice pool and spa, the llama farm at the edge of the grounds and went on one of the hotel's detailed walks into the beautiful Ashdown forest. Drinks and food are very expensive, and the restaurant was Ok, rather than fantastic. BUT we had an amazing time and would definitely return here. The staff were brilliant.