Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Cheapest bang for the buck

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Price and location makes this hotel a great stay.
Cheap nights stay before heading to London Gatwick Airport. This is a hotel for hobbits. Some passageways are very low. Place has character. Breakfast was your basic toast and cereal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Great for comfortable stay with no frills...

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, atmosphere, very comfy & clean room, wonderful steak on the evening meal menu!
Cons: Maybe a little more variety at Breakfast
Location: On Business, so perfect main A road access and easy access back to motorway
Warm welcome and great atmospheric bar and excellent evening pub meal. Room was immaculate, bathroom a little dated but overall the room was of a good size and very clean which is what you want. decent size TV too, better than what you normally expect. We stayed at the rear of the hotel so nice and quiet and far enough away from the bar, so zero noice from there too, which is ideal when you are on business! Buffet Breakfast is a little basic, cereal, tea,coffee & toast etc, so if you are looking for a fry up or hot food & freshly cooked eggs, you'll be disappointed. No drama for myself as that was enough :) No serviettes around either, available on request though...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was a bit of surprise when we were forced to pay cash when we got there for accommodation. Breakfast wasn't the best and bathroom not very clean. Will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Clint from Harrow

Good value

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
More than a bit tired & in need of some serious TLC. But great value & the building is an excellent historic pub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel disappointed with the Management

Posted May 6, 2014
Cons: Staff and customers service, breakfast was DIY which was ok but when offered toast the housekeeper barely showed the bread the flame, cold and pale
All was ok until I made coffee in the room, the handle came clean off and I was scalded with boiling water, When we told the manager he just kept saying he did not know why that happened. We looked at the cup and it was obvious the cup had been cracked for sometime. They offered noting to compensate. I also complained that they didn't even write this into an accident book!
3 out of 5
by Chris from Worcester

Great Food

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and the food was great value and very good.sadly the rooms an den suite were very dated and not clean
5 out of 5
by Michael & Johanne

A Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels
In the fall of 2011, while doing research for my latest novel, my wife and I stayed 10 days at the Chequers. This year we returned, drawn by memories of the old hotel’s charm, the excellent food, great beer, and the proprietor’s (Claudio Priori) engaging personality. We weren't disappointed. Chequers’ qualities that brought us back were untouched by the passage of time, though we did notice new windows in bedrooms and a beautiful dark, oak floor replacing the dining room’s mature carpet. The complimentary continental breakfast served our needs and throughout this year's 11-day stay, we enjoyed excellent service at the bar and in the dining room. Claudio and his staff made us feel at home in his War of the Roses era hotel. It was a truly enjoyable experience and given the opportunity, we plan to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels
thought hotel was lovely, staff were very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East

It did the job but thats all...

Posted Nov 16, 2011 on Hotels
Stayed in this hotel because all the b and b's were booked up for a conference in Forest Row. Room was a large room with new tv but that was about the only new thing in there ~ shabby and run down. Stained quilt cover. No where to boil a kettle other than on the floor. Bathroom cleaned daily. Breakfast was ok ~ the young girl worked really hard to meet the demand. Noisy on the saturday night with drunken couples in ~ didn't hear any intervention from management. Really wouldn't go back again.