Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Andrea

Not a great place place to stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
The picture showed our 4 poster bed with curtains attached - our bed didn't have any curtains and the room was fairly plain and rather boring. Checking in was a bit of a problem but we got it sorted out. The TV in out room would not show any BBC channels - we ended up having to get the barmaid to find the publican and watch the snooker on the TV downstairs. Food was fairly basic, OK but nothing special. The Inn was not busy (and we visited on the first May Bank Holiday weekend!) we were due to stay for two nights but checked out after the first night and came back home. Wouldn't consider staying here again.
3 out of 5
by Steven

Rustic Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Drinks were a bit expensive. Food was amazing
4 out of 5
by Steve

Chequers Inn Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
This is a 15th Century Inn with rooms built on at the rear. Took my wife here as a treat for her birthday. Room was clean and well decorated. The bathroom was a little dated but functional, a non slip mat in the shower would be a nice addition. The mattress on the bed was a little soft for us but that is a personal preference. We ate in the bar and the menu while not fine dinning was good pub grub. Breakfast was a let down, boxes of cereal, juice, cheese portions, marmalade, and jam with tea, coffee and toast made to order. The staff were friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT GOOD . AVOID !

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
poor service room was not cleaned over 3 days no clean towels no light in the bedroom drinks expensive staff rude and uninterested was locked out of my room when i returned from having a meal in another hotel. occupants of next room to me had similar issues inc no toilet paper and only 1 towel also no electric issues
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room comfy , says free continental breakfast 3 types of cereal and a bowl of bannanas , had to ask for bread, no rolls no meats and only cheese was 3 pieces of miniture cheese. Can park on front after 6pm otherwise your limited too an hour. says free wi fi then says on sheet too pay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Year's Treat!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The service was excellent from the minute we arrived and we felt very welcome throughout our stay. Meals were great, especially the roast on New Year's Day! Our room was spotless. Thank you to all the staff for making our New Year a real treat!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did the job

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great Stay, very dated interior but spotless and very friendly staff. Will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Continental breakfast?

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room advertised with free wifi it had none. Paid extra to move to the only room with wifi. Advertised with continental breakfast, which consisted of a pot of tea and toast, no sign of cold meats, cheese, cereals or croissants. Will not stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewes, East Sussex

In need of a major overhaul

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Excellent pizzas. Good location. Friendly staff. They looked after my toiletries bag which I left behind.
Cons: I cannot remember the last time I stayed at a hotel where you had to get out of bed and cross the room to turn the lights on or off.
Location: Forest Row is a thriving large village on the edge of Ashdown Forest. Two excellent golf courses, lots of walking, East Grinstead about 4 miles away
For the size of Forest Row, this is a big place and, on a Sunday night at the start of October, it felt like the Marie Celeste. I believe that we were the only people staying and there were few diners or drinkers either, a fact highlighted by the buzz just across the road at the Swan. The building itself is attractive but it needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to modern standards. The bedroom was tired and dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great staff - overpriced room

Posted Sep 16, 2016
All of the staff we spoke with were friendly and welcoming, but the room was a bit dated and the main reason for the low rating is the lack of a cooked breakfast. The room was a bit dated, but clean and had everything one might expect. I think for £75 per night I want a bit more. Thanks to all the staff though - I'm sure they don't fix the price and they were lovely!