Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire,England

Relaxing break on a beautiful Island

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The location was suitable to us and with it having its own restaurant and the friendliness of Giuseppe, Kelly and all the staff members.
Cons: Nothing when you consider the price.
Location: The location is out of a Forio centre, there are buses that can take you to anywhere on the Island
Just returned from a two week holiday at the Hotel, the owners Giuseppe and Kelly made us feel very welcome upon arrival, the rooms and pool area's are set up a steep bank and gives lovely view of Forio and the coastline. Continental breakfast's are served in the large restaurant with some outside seating at the bottom of the steep bank. The restaurant called "La Caserrechie" offers excellent food at reasonable prices and is often busy and frequented by locals. The staff are very attentive and polite and speak good English.With the Hotel being about 1 mile out of Forio town centre the hotels mini bus will drop you off and pick you up at suitable times, local buses also operate and are not expensive. A very relaxing and enjoyable experience which we intend to do again, soon! The owners and staff really make this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic family run hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Relaxing and enjoyable stay with great food. Transfers to and from beaches, spas and other locations also included. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Tim

You will feel welcome!

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Giuseppe and his wife Kelly were most welcoming and helpful, collecting me when lost and offering lifts to Forio and helpful advice. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The terrace had great views and I enjoyed sitting out there at night looking at the stars and fireflies! It was lovely to be surrounded by nature. Their restaurant only 100m away served some excellent food and the staff were all very nice. I certainly hope to have the opportunity to be a guest again. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by Rumyana from London

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr

Hill

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Afte you trudge the hill to your accommodation from reception, you realise the effort was well worth it. The view from room veranda was spectacular. From the family who run the hotel to the staff in the restaurant we received the best of service and have to mention Lorenzo's chocolate souflee which is the best ever. Roberto and Enzo looked after us with friendliness and fervour despite the occasional language differences. Overall would definitely recommend hotel but be warned as hill is not for the fainthearted and anyone with breathing difficulties or disablement should be warned. Island is beautiful and lots of different cultural and leisure facilities to fill your days from gardens to beaches and thermal spas. Travelling to these sights though a little more difficult if you depend on the buses. Don't in any way be fooled by the timetables and expect to stand and discover you've stepped on the wrong bus AGAIN. Weather superb but look out for the mosquitos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teddington, Uk

Great food and views

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Views excellent, food better than any other restaurant. Lovely friendly helpful family place. Bit of a climb to pool and rooms but worth it. Pool good to cool down and kids to play. Guiseppe organised scooter to explore island. Best way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views, friendly staff!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: almost everything. family-run business, beautiful grounds, great views, great food and staff was wonderful. wifi good.
Cons: pool area needed just a bit of love. but that didn't really matter...was beautiful and a great reward for walking all day in the heat.
Location: A bit out of the way. We walked everywhere to work off the pasta. Taxis about 15 Euro to downtown. Busses cheap but timing a bit unpredictable.
This is a great place! The staff was very accommodating and pleasant and the food at their restaurant was great. The room was perfect for us; basic, clean, bright, and they cleaned everyday. The hotel is a bit out of the way (and a big hill to climb to get to the rooms) but that made for great views and good exercise-we loved it. Also we appreciated being away from the bustling downtown. The pool and hot tub were nice but needed a little maintenance. Beer in the vending machine-by the pool-was an added perk. Overall we would definitely go here again and recommend it to friends! Great for couples and families alike.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ava from London, UK

Fabulous family run hotel , tranquil but fun!

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: The people! View from the balcony unbeatable with a chilled glass of white wine from their own vineyard. The food & atmosphere of the restaurant .
Cons: Pool was very small but enough to cool off in.
Location: Hill location, 20-30 min walk up from beach or town, preferably not midday! Good walk. If fit. Hotel will pick you up....no problem!
We had a little problem at the start which was quickly resolved. It is a family run business in every sense of the word by the time we left we felt like we had been adopted. A very warm and humerous atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful, rooms kept very clean, air con worked well. A bit of a trek up to the room but the view on the way more than made up for it and it kept you fit! The whole family go above and beyond to make your stay a memorable experience.....they work extremely hard yet still found time to drop us off and pick us up around Forio within 10-15 min waiting time night & day at no extra cost.....Myself , my sister and my daughter all had an amazing time at Poggio Del Sole even the other guests were varied , sociable and considerate......would reccomend it to everyone who can make it up the hill. We would 100percent stay there again, we plan to in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leonard

The entire experience at the hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2009 on HotelClub
The entire experience at the hotel was fantastic. The surroundings were like being in paradise. The atmosphere was like being with family. The food was unsurpassable. I highly recommend the hotel and hope to return next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stroud

Fantastic View Over Ischia

Posted Sep 25, 2008
I have recently returned from a week staying at the Hotel Poggio Del Sole, thoroughly enjoyed it, and would definately return. The hotel is clean, tidy, with excellent service provided by the family running the hotel. As the hotel is fairly small, the room was quiet at night and allowed a good nights sleep. The restaurant associated with the hotel is also very good, with some excellent food and wine at a good price. The only down side(depending on your perspective) to the hotel would be that it is a bit of a walk out of the town of Forio up a hill, and therefore probably not suitable for older or disabled travellers. I would reccomend this hotel to young couples or families who are after a quiet relaxing break. Very enjoyable.