Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Well managed, clean, comfortable facility

Posted Jun 1, 2018
Arrived late at night but management left key for us to enter room. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2018
We loved the location and the food.
5 out of 5
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Charming hotel, great location, friendly service, nice restaurant and bar. They even gave us warm chocolate chip cookies when we left. Easy access to the quaint town and Loch Ness boat trips.
5 out of 5
by Gennaro

UK Vacation

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was great and the room very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Ibis M.

very nice food and restaurant.

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Bathroom is big but dangerous. Has cables for the towel rack without a cover and the shower is one of those super modern one with no glass or curtain. The water can go anywhere if you are not careful. No AC just fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
A beautifully present hotel with warm friendly staff and a wonderful restaurant. The room was well present and comfortable with everything you could need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Wonderful hotel and location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
We loved our two day visit at the Lovat. Beautiful location and excellent room. Staff was great and the food was delicious. Highly recommend this hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Leisure break near Loch Ness

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: modern, warm, quiet,clean,friendly,good food
Cons: better selection of beers. Wider selection of continental food at breakfast buffet.
Location: in the heart of Fort Augustus. Central location of the Caledonian canal, loch ness, Fort William. Rib ride on the loch was great fun.
We stayed in the studio's. Obviously refurbished.To a high standard,quiet,warm. Hotel restaurant excellent evening meals. Location of hotel in the heart of Fort Augustus. Perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

OK hotel close to everything (small village)

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Get actual queen/king size beds (don't just push them together). Train staff to think about making guest stays more pleasant.
The room was small (funny enough the bathroom was nearly as large as the rest of the room). "King" meant 2 twin beds put together. Carpeting felt worn. Worst of all - the service. We had car trouble on the way in, had to wait 2 hours in the rain for a tow truck. I called to make sure our room would not be given away - was informed they do not practice giving away room (great policy, they did deliver). I asked how late the restaurant would be open since I'll have 2 hungry kids - was told it was open until 8:30pm. When we finally arrived (at 6:30 pm instead of 4), went downstairs to eat, only to be told THEY DON'T HAVE ANY TABLES! Reaction I would have expected "Hey, I'm running late and will be hungry. - No problems sir, and let me make a reservation for you since the restaurant does get full. - Thank you!" Instead had to go to a crowded bar with tired, hungry kids. For a pricey 4-star wannabe hotel in the middle of nowhere - poor service.