Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Great location next to the river
Cons: ok
Location: Golf course
We enjoyed our stay. The food was great and the staff friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Great Falls, MT

A terrific place to stay!

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Grand Union; amazing food, comfortable room, the staff was friendly and efficient...and a great view of the river!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Grand Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The food and wine were excellent, but the bed was hard!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eindhoven

Leuke ervaring

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: De ambiance van het gebouw en z'n inrichting en trots van het personeel en de wil om het de gasten naar de zin te maken.
Dit hotel is na de renovatie van enige jaren terug een juweeltje dat de glorie van weleer even terug doet komen. Het gebouw is heerlijk oud en alles is geheel in de stijl ingericht en alles straalt een ambiance uit zoals het in de glorietijd van Fort Benton, tijdens de goldrush, moet zijn geweest, maar toch met de luxe die we nu gewend zijn. Zelfs de heerlijke scheluw en schuine vloeren zijn helemaal van de bouwwijze van die tijd (eind 19e eeuw).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB, Canada

Lovely historic hotel in picturesque setting

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room with views over the great Missouri River. Good buffet breakfast.
Location: Attractive small town, Missouri R. runs through. Historic fort, museum, art gallery, antique stores and monuments to Lewis & Clark and 'Old Shep'
Stayed one night in this beautiful hotel - will be returning for a longer stay asap!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlowton, MT

Fair hotel by the river and parks, BUT!!!!

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Install standard coffee maker, breakfast time earlier, install internet router/range extender on third floor, improve hall lighting.
Location: Good location, walking trail along river, park amenities.
Nice location close to river and parks. But hotel did not live up tp expectations. Internet did not work on third floor, in-room coffee maker did not work, air condijtioner controls extremely difficult to access (had to get small frame employee to squeeze between armador and wall to adjust comfort level), continental breakfast served too late in the morning (7:30). Hall lighting so dim could not read room number. On the bright side, excellent location and overall motiff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old time charm. Excellent restaurant. Delicious

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: The ambiance
Cons: nothing
Location: Shopping, an antique shop within walking distance,great night life opportunities. T The hotel is right on the Missouri River.
A must for people who enjoy a change from the tradition hotels of 2016. Cozy rooms, a restaurant with sumptuous food. The staff was helpful, courteous, and had lots of information about local historical events and places to see. Old time architecture with up to date amenities. I rate the over night experience as first rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Conrad,Mt.

Wellcomeing

Posted Oct 2, 2014
It very nice, everyone on the staff was great except the Bar tender . He sat us at are dinner table, toke our order , brought us are food , then we never saw him again. Thank goodness for the rest of thestaff, they toke care of us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat

Grand Union Hotel, Fort Benton

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: We appreciated its history and charm.
Cons: No music on the patio and the continental breakfast. There was limited breakfast breads and no tea or muffins.
Location: The walk along the river is very nice.
We were expecting great things from the Grand Union based on recommendations from friends. The hotel is a very nicely renovated old hotel with great history. We appreciated that! We were somewhat disappointed in the restaurant, which received great reviews but didn't live up to our expectations. The continental breakfast included in the room rate was dismal compared to other hotels. Our room had a river view which was wonderful; however, there was music blaring for the patio of the restaurant downstairs which didn't make much sense considering it was raining and there wasn't anyone on the patio. We did have our toast on the patio the following morning and found the music to be distracting and unnecessary. A quiet contemplation of the beautiful view of the river would suffice!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maple Creek, Sask.Canada

Great Heritage Building. Enjoyable experience.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good walking path right outside the door. Friendly and competent staff. Nice patio on which to dine.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Three large museums in the town. The river view was fantastic. Beautiful sunset the day we were there.
Staff was first rate. Food was fantastic and the retro atmosphere was very pleasant.