Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Cons: Update the rooms and buy all clean sheets and towels. Clean the floors and light fixtures.
It's one thing to have old fixtures or paintings etc. but a hotel room should be clean for its guests. I was not happy with how dirty the baseboards were and there were millions of dead bugs inside the light fixtures. The bedspread looked like the original and was dirty and I'm not sure we had new, clean towels until we asked for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Cali

Big Comfy Bed

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Staff, exterior decor
I missed my original reservation past the deadline to cancel without consequence. They were nice , understanding and I was able to arrange another date that fit my schedule without any additional fees..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to give us the review. Thank you for your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the stay it was pleasent we were unable to get a couple massage but that’s ok, there is not really a beach view or acess that’s close, and the restraunt/bar that they say they have was closed but very close to downtown and the place was nice an clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and taking time to give us a review. Next time let us know a day or two to schedule the massage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east coast

not what is pictured

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
The room was clean, but no shampoo or soap. Not a nice area to see the pacific coast. Mostly industrial area across from the Inn. The place did not look at al like the pictures. Glad we only stayed one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
We are sorry that room did not have shampoo or soap. We do provide shampoo and soap to all the rooms. We wish you let us know so could bring it to your room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missed a lot of comforts.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: Lots
Checked in and heater did not work. Brought us a space heater which did not warm room. Finally sent a repairman who lite the heater. No Kleenex, no hair dryer, nothing of the basics to make stay more enjoyable. Only stayed one night but paid for two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We could provide extra kleenex and hair dryer. We wish you would let us know about the room that you did not like about when you check in so we could have chance to take care of it.
3 out of 5
by Phyllis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Pablo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Carol

Filthy, noisy & smelly!

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Strong, musty, smoke oder in room. Owner handed me a commercial size "oder eliminator" when I told her about the smell. When I wiped some water up on the hardwood floor I was shocked about the filth that was on the floor. He paint was also peeling ( see pictures.). The walls are so thin I could hear the guests next door using the bathroom, talking & walking around. The satellite was spotty at best. I have no idea why this is named an inn & spa!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you were not happy with your room. We will look into and take care of the issue that you have mansion. Thank you for your information.
4 out of 5
by Margarita

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Not the best but not the worst.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The hotel owner was very nice and welcoming. The place is quiet and great for kids but needs upgrading. The room was dusty and the beds hard as the floor. The outdoor jacuzzi was nice as was the fire pit area and grill. That was fun because it felt like camping. It's not that bad of a place if they just get more comfortable beds. Also, the 9:40 curfew for the jacuzzi was redicilous. At $300 a night we should be able to stay in there until midnight. It wasn't even cold enough to get in until around 7pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Chong, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews on your stay. We do have Posturepedic mattress in some of the rooms and some rooms with Garden sleep system which has 3 layer of natural form which feels harder then Posturepedic. If you let us know we can reserve the room with Posturepedic for you. Out door hot-tub close 9:30 p.m. since 10 p.m. is quite time (the weather has been hot and some of our guests ask us to lower the temperature). We also have some rooms with jacuzzi and there is no cut off time. Thank you for your stay with us.