Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly and Comfortable

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Very friendly people and a great location in Fort Kochi. Great value for money with air con, cable TV and fridge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute Cochin (Kochi)

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Xavier is the Christian owner, named after St. Francis, and will likely greet you. If he gives you advice you should follow it. On display is his picture with Mother Theresa. Xavier will explain all the switches and adjustment for the shower. It was first shower that had water hot enough to scorch you—be careful. You can request AC if you are overwhelmed by the heat, but the fan is the better choice. Marble floors throughout and good wi-fi. The included breakfast is either a toast and beverage style or an Indian choice. It is a mistake to not choose the Indian breakfast. The room door has a curtain, which is customary, and a formidable latch and pad lock-which I never felt necessary so I didn't even use it. Princess street is best described as the cutest street in Kochi and just off the peripheral walkway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of Fort Kochi

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Right in the heart of Fort Kochi. It's not far to anything. Everything in the room was working as it should and it had a few unexpected touches.
Cons: I thought the upgrade from fan only to AC room was a little expensive.
Location: It's right in the center of most tourist interests in Fort Kochi. Good restaurants nearby, shopping, everything.
Aging, but well maintained and well appointed, quaint place right in the center of tourist interests in Fort Kochi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Staff

Posted Feb 25, 2016
I went to the hotel in the afternoon and the staff there help me booked a backwater cruise for tomorrow. The hotel is very close the the Chinese net and have a few nice restaurant nearby.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Montreal

On Princess street, great location

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
Originally was going to stay only 1 night but decided to extend to 2. I usually only book my first night in a hotel until I can see the condition before deciding to stay any longer, but if you are like me and are considering staying a few days in Cochi, there's no need to hesitate to book multiple nights at the Sonnetta Residency. For me, the important things in accommodations are: a clean bed, good wifi, a good location, and if possible breakfast included and Sonnetta had all these things. Breakfast was a little simple, coffee, a few toad with jam and a banana, but that's pretty much what I eat on any weekday when I'm at home. Across the street from Sonnetta is a pretty good restaurant as well, with chairs laid out on a terrace. The manager, I didn't get his name, but he genuinely seemed concerned about my comfort/happiness more than turnover and the business aspect as is usually the case in India. A tip for getting there from Ernakulam junction station. Take the ferry to Fort Cochi. Ferry pier is about 15 minute walk from train station, or 40 rupee tuk-tuk, then a 6 rupee ferry ride to Fort Cochi, then another 15 minute walk from the jetty to the hotel. Just ask around for "princess" street, everyone knows where it is. I would not hesitate to stay at Sonnetta Residency again.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Montreal

Come for 1 day, stay 3

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
At first I only booked one night in Cochi but I enjoyed the environment so much I stayed a little longer. I usually only book my first night in a hotel until I can see what it's like before deciding to stay longer but I can assure you, if you are like me and planning to stay 2 or 3 night, don't hesitate to book them all at once if you're staying at The Sonnetta Residency. Also, the gentleman at the reception, I didn't get his name but he seems to run the place, is genuinely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was simple, milk coffee, a few toast with jam and a fruit, in my case a banana. For me it was enough, that's usually all that I eat on weekdays when I'm at home. There's also a pretty good restaurant across the street with chairs outside. Good food, good portions, reasonable price. A tip for getting to Kochi, take the ferry. The ferry pier is about a 15 minute walk from Ernakulam junction. Then a 6-rupee ferry ride to Fort Kochi jetty. Then another 15 minute walk from the jetty to the hotel. After the ferry ride, when you get to fort Kochi jetty, just ask around for "Princess street", everyone knows where that is.
5 out of 5
by M H from Bangalore

Glad I chose to stay here !!

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
We went to Kochi on vacation and stayed at Sonnetta for 3 days. It is located just a couple minutes walk from the sea side (not a beach where you can get into water and play or swim). It is located on a charming street with old Portuguese style buildings. Sonnetta is also a heritage building, although the recent renovations have robbed it of the heritage feel inside. The rooms are clean and the service is very friendly. All tourist attractions in Fort Kochi are within walking distance (2-3 Kilometers). Breakfast was complimentary and was quite good. Eating joints nearby are plenty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very central in Fort Kochi.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Felt safe and at home. Given good information for my interests. They provided bottled water daily.
Cons: They offer a simple breakfast, however I did not enjoy either the Indian or International options. I typically ate elsewhere. Their coffee was good.
Location: Absolutely central for all activities in Fort Kochi.
The proprietor and staff were very friendly and helpful. I am a return customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunny coast Australia

Very friendly people & like family after a daystay

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable & clean & friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Breakfast could be more natural with fresh fruit.
Location: Quiet & funky part of the world with most things nearby.
Good part of town close to beach ferry & restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well positioned hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: position and price
needed air conditioning in late feb. only continental breakfast but more like homestay than hotel