Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Nathan

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Cute place. It's India, so don't expect much. Just be pleasantly surprised if and when it works out. Great art. Mediocre food. Decent room, but bathroom flooding issues, noise from the courtyard, and lots of mosquitos (not really their fault) prob pushes this down a few notches. Surprised this is a Relais property. But it's the price of a Holiday Inn at, like, the Cleveland Airport, so what can you expect? The colonial architecture and interiors were nicely done. Kerala is turning dry, so only beer and wine at the bar. And Fort in Kochi is really only worth your time for a night...it's a bit boring after you see all the standard tourist stuff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Charming boutique hotel with great restaurant

Posted Mar 28, 2017
This is a charming, historic, beautifully renovated property in the centre of the old part of Kochi, within walking distance of great shops, the Chinese fishing nets, and other historic buildings. The restaurant, in a central courtyard, was absolutely fantastic. We found the beds quite hard and uncomfortable. And we had some problems in the bathroom -- the hand-held shower unit pulled out completely from the wall, as did the control for the sink faucet. A bit of a surprise, given this is a Relais and Chateaux property. The staff was very apologetic, but didn't offer us anything to make up for the inconvenience. A nice hotel for India, but am unsure whether it's truly worthy of Relais and Chateaux status.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Very small pool and not that clean
Location: Many tourist attractions within walking distance
Friendly and helpful staff. Good hot shower and clean towels, heaven.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Not worth the price

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The hotel was good and we enjoyed our stay, but I wouldn't consider it worth the price we paid. You can get much better price/quality ratio arpund Kerala elsewhere. However the hotel is one of the few on the area which has alcohol license.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Spot

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
This is a small oasis in the old town of Cochin. It has beautiful decor, terrific staff and a nice restaurant attached.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay in Fort Cochin. Walking distance to the town. The staff were excellent. Live music at dinner time was fantastic. Overall - A+. This is our second time at the Malabar House and will never stay any other place while in Fort Cochin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel in Fort Kochi

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Service, and the location was lovely
Cons: A request to change the dessert on the degustation menu. the tulle was soft & the passionfruit topping too sweet- better suited to a buffet table
Location: Lovely for an evening walk around the nearby shops and fort
I am a business traveller and usually stay at the Kochi Marriot, near Lu Lu Mall, or Taj Gateway; on this trip I decided to try an alternative hotel. I was not disappointed. From the airport pick up, with Wi-Fi in the vehicle and a helpful and informed driver, to the welcoming staff on arrival, the experience was much enjoyed. The hotel is an oasis after a busy day. The staff well trained and attentive. My dinner of Kerala seafood on the first night was delicious and beautifully presented. But be aware that if you want full flavoured, spicy Indian food you may have to ask - the menu caters more for a European palate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback and we hope you are able to visit us again, soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Easy, stay here

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Seldom is a review so easy. Visiting Fort Cochin, then stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Anne, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon