Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
We've little to compare against, having just 2 nights here between week long stays in resorts, but it was a pleasant enough stay. (Delux) Room was very large and airy, air con pretty noisy but we like white noise, breakfast was fresh and tasty. Management was super helpful, and the location was good, central but quiet. Major downside for us was likely a one off, our room on arrival at night was packed with mosquitoes which we spent around 40 minutes eliminating, likely the door had been left open as they didn't return, but it spoilt our first impressions. WiFi was in communal areas only, and bed was 2 singles pushed together which was a shame for a delux room. An outside sitting area would be a really nice addition.
4 out of 5
by Lissi R S from Copenhagen

A room/hotel with old charm

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Large room and bathroom. Close walk to the fishing nets and lots of restaurants. The front desk man was extremely helpful in all things: breakfast, planning day-trips and booking taxis. Gorgeous old mansion with character and "old" charm! Extremely clean and room cleaning/fresh towels everyday. Even though it lacked other services, it was a nice quiet place to come relax after a day of walking.
4 out of 5
by Shabbir from Canada

Close to tourist attractions

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels
It was a very pleasant stay. The front desk person, named Mr. Vasant, was very helpful and hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martien from Australia

Quiet and Pleasant and from another Era

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Location / charm / staff
Second time I have stayed here. This time I brought my family. Charming because it is basic. Not 5 star. Doesn't try to be. But old world charm definitely present. A very pleasant room downstairs to read books in. Staff lovely and very accommodating. Best to get the upstairs rooms if you can. They are quieter. Don't put your luggage under the aircon unit as it can drop water on your stuff. Not a major issue. Just beware. Love this place. Will be back if ever I stay in Cochin again. The rooms can be kept nicely cool in the hot environment. Location perfect. Near the nets and the shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Alison from Terranora, Australia

Comfortable spacious quiet property

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed stay here immensely. Lovely staff greeted us and took bags up to room. Clean and spacious. Furniture is a little old, but that adds to the charm. Air conditioning very efficient. Bathroom huge and well appointed. Breakfast has limited choice, but delicious and satisfying. Staff remain exemplary wherever you are here. Wi-fi fast and free. Location is quiet, and only a simple 10 minute stroll to the middle of town. Definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kaye from South Coast NSW

Booked three days stayed seven

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Room to move, relaxation, breakfasts and staff.
Cons: Charging for mineral water policy should be reviewed to bring it in line with other hotels ie. one bottle a day included in tariff .
Location: Near the parade ground - watch the sporting activities during the weekend or relax under the trees during the week. Good restaurants within a block.
Most relaxing placed we've stayed in India. Comfortable rooms 50's furniture and twice the size of a large hotel room.The one we are in at the moment also has a 6m x 2m verandah a good place to red a book. As an older couple we've found this hotel excellent only 2 floors and quiet. A little out of town five minute walk to the fishing nets but just around the corner from excellent restaurants with appealing ambience. Staff have been more than helpful and the full breakfasts have been excellent. All over a great experience.
4 out of 5
by Ankit from Gurgaon

Great location

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels
Homely, guesthouse like feel, with a brilliant location very close to the ocean
3 out of 5
by J.K. Pereira

Reasonable cost hotel in a tourist location

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels
This was a reasonably priced hotel that was just about acceptable for our stay in Kochi. It is located in an elegant mansion that has been converted into a boutique hotel. The room amenities were of a reasonable standard but there was little else in the way of other hotel amenities. The breakfast provided was very basic in quality and there were no other food services at the hotel. There are however many excellent restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. The hotel is located a fair distance from Kochi Airport and the journey to the hotel took over 90 mins. In terms of things to do, we found the 'Backwaters tour' attraction to be very over-rated. We took the full day tour and did not find that it even approached the rave ratings given by many who have done the tour in the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josette from London, UK

Great welcome at the Victory Dawn in Kochi

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff , excellent location, free wifi
Cons: Not applicable
Location: Near the fishing nets and the basilica Santal Cruz
Wonderful old heritage hotel situated in the heart of Kochi, close to the main attractions. Rooms are air conditioned and are very big with an equally huge shower room. No tea making equipment but use of a fridge and free wifi. Full breakfast served upstairs by polite and helpful staff. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are many good restaurants nearby. We chose to go to the Fort hotel (20 rupees by rickshaw) and sit by the candle lit jetty to watch the huge ships leave the dock. Dinner was excellent and reasonably priced. Note that they do not serve alcohol. Back at our hotel, the receptionist suggested that we go and watch a kathakali performance in the intimate theatre near the hotel and he reserved excellently seats for us. We also watched the actors putting their make up on (worth doing).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dana from tel aviv

Good location , basic hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Pros: The size of the room was impressive
Location: Within walking distance to many attractions
The room was large but very basic. It was a ground floor room and every step in the room upstairs was clearly heard. Electricity shortages were plenty but that must be an area problem. The whole place felt like a relic of a bygone era, not renovated at all.