Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Not Happy from USA

No breakfast, although it is clearly advertised

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
After 30min of waiting for the reception to find my reservation...I walked into a dirty room.The hotel is located near a busy street and I was not able to rest. WILL NOT be returning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

False advertising, poor service - be aware!

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
When booking this hotel we ensured the front desk is staffed 24 hours, additionally we notified the hotel ahead of time about our late arrival time (our flight got into Denver just after midnight and we mentioned this). When we arrived at the hotel at 2 am we found an empty lobby with a note of a phone number which should be called if anything is needed. The phone call went straight to a full voice mail - even though we called several times no one ever picked up and we could not leave a message. We contacted hotels.com and received a refund but were on our own at 2am and had to find another hotel. Luckily there is an Econo Lodge right next door with a front staff that actually is staffed 24 hours so we ended up staying there, we just wished we would have booked another hotel ahead of time right away and saved some money. We thought maybe there is an explanation and since we were right next door, we went back the next morning to find out before leaving a bad review. However, the experience with the Red Lion Inn only got worse. The rude front desk assistant did not apologize once, instead she questioned our story and said she would have to check the security cameras to see if what we say is even true - unbelievable! We strongly recommend to save yourself some trouble and not waste time on booking the Red Lion Inn - they clearly don't want your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Higher expectation for a Red Lion

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: All comments above to be remedied.
Location: Close to highway
No breakfast included as advertised, housekeeping missed our room completely, plastic bag covering room smoke alarm, shower door missing handle so just two large holes in shower door, overnight staff seemed very young and inexperienced. Won't ever stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Horrible

Posted Feb 22, 2017
First I prepaid for the room when picking up my rental car at the airport so that I knew where to go and could get some sleep. I showed up at the hotel and there was nobody there. There was a piece of paper with a phone number on it, I called that number a dozen times with no answer. So needless to stay I spent money on a room that I was never able to use which was fantastic. Then I had to find another hotel in order to get some sleep. Horrible experience. Will never stay or try to stay at this place again. Will also probably never use Expedia again due to their lack of customer service as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WYO

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The facility was very clean and the staff was more than not helpful, but they need to reevaluate their pillow supplier, and they had ended the free breakfast that was advertised.
4 out of 5
by Marissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Demanded cash, no record of expedia booking

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Do not extort a cash deposit from guests. Fix your system and have a record of my stay. If you offer breakfast, provide it when guests stay.
Hotel did not have record of expedia booking and claimed their system was down. Requested I call expedia to fax record of booking. I requested they call expedia. This is their problem, not mine. Hotel said credit card machine could not process refunds, so the only way they could take my incidental deposit was through cash. If I did not come up with the cash, they would cancel my reservation. At the time of booking (and in other online information) the hotel says it has free morning breakfast. However, the staff informed me the manager no longer offers breakfast unless she "feels like it." Very disappointing! I got expedia on the phone, who wonderfully handled the situation and called the hotel. I also contacted Red Lion corporate who informed me this is no longer one of their properties and is only a licensed independently owned facility. They now have record of this location not living up to their brand. Let's see if they do anything about it. AVOID AVOID AVOID
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Colorado State University and I-25

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Close to Fort Collins, Colorado
Cons: Buffet Breakfast
I went to check in to this motel and the first thing I was asked was to put down a $50.00 deposit in CASH for amenities because I paid for the room through Expedia.com and they couldn't put anything on their credit card machine because of this. I have never experienced this before, but luckily I got my deposit back in the morning. Once I got into my room, I found that the toilet seat was loose and about to fall off. I looked around the room and it seemed OK, but could have been a little cleaner. When I woke up in the morning, I went out to the lobby to find out that the breakfast room was dark with no activity going on. I asked the person at the front desk what was going on and he said they no longer offer a free buffet breakfast. Nothing, Zilch. Even the Expedia site indicated that there was a free buffet breakfast. I have stayed at this motel before and they had a buffet breakfast, but not any more. Needless to say I will stay elsewhere next time. Also I contacted RLHC and I was told that this property was no longer part of the Red Lion Hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was ok , but the service was poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comment is very important to us. It helps us to improve our service, sorry for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Sincerely Nancy Rodriguez General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort collins CO

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
I showed up 68mins before check in time 20 dollars must be paid in cash.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest sorry for the inconvenience that you had with us but our policy says we must charge 30.00 dollars for Early Check in and we only charge you 20.00 dollars Thanks for your comment we appreciate it a lot. Sincerely Nancy Rodriguez General Manager