Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

don't stay therr

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel is old! We got into room it stunk was musty and could smell smoke. The tub was running a house keeper seen us and said we know tub doesn't shut off. I thought they knew but we couldn't regulate water temp so I complained to front desk. We left for day nothing happened. Come back and complained again. Got to shower in room next door. They had maintaince come next morning we had to leave again for rode came back at 11 that night we had to no cold water in room the didn't tell us anything couldn't flush toilet or have anything but burning hot water. I went to desk and complained. We had to shower next day in another room again., The pool is dirty and water is freezing cold! Hot tub was hard to start. Don't stay there. Not worth it!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Close to the hospital where I was having meetings

Posted Sep 25, 2017
probably would not stay here again. I like a more full service hotel, with a bar and a restaurant. The rooms in public areas were clean as well as my own room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

It's OK

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Pricing and convenience.
Cons: Looked like room hadn't been stayed in for awhile- a couple dead bugs in the bathroom.
Location: Right on Hwy 169, on edge of town. Close to the highways and streets leading to the activities in Ft. Dodge.
It's a decent place to stay. On the ground floor and had a little issue with people smoking and making noise just outside our door. The fitted sheet for the bed was too small and kept coming undone. Poor explanation on using key card to get in to the motel. Staff was pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan D

Great price & stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Older motel that has been recently renovated. It was great! No smell, comfortable beds great service. Everything was clean and very nice. Wonderful breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls

Friday night

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Cleanliness and location. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. One staff member, Sydney, specifically went out of her way to help me.
I like to stay in Fort Dodge Friday nights before morning football games in Ames. I usually leave after work in Sioux Falls at 5, giving me the opportunity to drive in daylight and get there at 8. The location at 169 and 20 is perfect for easy access. I can then leave at 8 after breakfast and be at the game in plenty of time for 11 o'clock kickoff. During the stay, one of the staff, Sydney, went out of her way to help me get into my room after I had locked myself out, while she was working the breakfast room and the front desk staff was already occupied. I'm thankful to her, as I was in a big hurry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roaches, Dirty, Smelly.

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Cockroaches in the room and hallways. Hotel has a weird, unpleasant odor. Not well maintained. Broken desk chair in room. Doors don't close well, needing to be slammed shut, which also means other guests are constantly slamming doors. While checking in, it took 15 minutes for someone to answer my bell ringing. I should have left then, but having prepaid, I didn't want to be charged for a no show. The wifi password changes daily, which they didn't tell me until asking. No arcade, just 1 "grabber" machine. Room key doesn't work for pool. After seeing how dirty everything else was, I didn't bother checking w/desk about it. 30 minutes after breakfast service started, the eggs were cold and sausage was hard and inedible. I went out to breakfast instead. Biggest problem : COCKROACHES everywhere. When informing front desk, she just stared at me then finally said "I'll let housekeeping know". While inquiring about refund so I could switch hotels, told "we can't issue refunds". I was in town for a funeral. This experience didn't help. 0 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Fort Dodge Museum

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Good for the night. Breakfast was very delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by nancy, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments and the time you took in letting us know about your observations. It would be our pleasure to host you again when your travels bring you to the Fort Dodge area.
4 out of 5
by Amy

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
The lady at the desk when I checked in was super friendly. She knew I was traveling alone so she moved my room closer to the front desk. When I left at 5:45 am, the gentleman helped me get my stuff to my car because I had my bicycle with me. Excellent service by both team members! Kudos to them!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that we were able to deliver on the high standards you can expect with our brand. We take great pride in our hotel and we're glad that is shows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Older hotel not well kept up. Upon getting to the room, the door did not open or close without having to band it hard, there was soiled linen on the bed and someones hair on it, and dead cockroach on the bathroom floor. We were able to move to a different room but it was on the 2nd floor and no elevator. New room was better but the beds really squeaked so every time anyone moved it would wake you up. The pool and hot tub were nice ce but needs overhaul on the pool deck as the little pebbles were coming loose and hurt to walk on. Also the pools were old style so the vents on the bottom of the pool and hot tub hurt your feet if you didn't notice them and you trip on them as they stick way up off the pool/hot tub floor. A couple people tripped on them getting out of the hot tub. Staff were very apologetic for all the issues.