Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles/Palm Springs

Clothing optional close to the beach

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach, restaurants and access to the major freeways. Close to the airport. Room was clean and comfortable. Grounds well maintained
Location: Beach is 2 blocks away. Casablanca restaurant is walking distance from the hotel. Great food at a reasonable price right with beach front view.
Enjoyed my stay at Cheston House. Pool was out of commission due to damage done by Irma. But was notified a few weeks in advance so I could make other arrangements with no cancellation fees. Close to the beach yet on a very quiet street. Staff were great in giving suggestions on where to eat, what to do and how to get to destinations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Watertown, MA

Great place to rest, relax & unwind with the boys

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, the staff and the entire place. I really enjoy my stay.
Cons: I suggested they add charging USB outlets, as their available outlets are sparse and have the WiFi available in the rooms in addition to the outside.
Location: I recommend the Quarterdeck for a good sports bar that's not too far away, and the Red Cow for excellent BBQ.
The Cheston House is a gem amongst the high rise and overpriced hotels on Ft. Lauderdale Beach. You have access many local restaurants and beach within walking distance, and a short drive to Wilton Manors. The two-level resort-style motel echos from the 50s with charm and grace with its stylish staircase to the upper floor, and each room facing the pool area. The pool and the grounds are kept spotless and guests can feel free to be nude, if they choose, as there is a high wooden privacy fence and gardens that surround the premises. It's a great atmosphere for making casual or intimate friends. I arrived late on a Thursday night, but my access was provided, my room key and instructions were left for me at the office. I reserved a room with a king bed and expected a standard motel room. I discovered that I was given a king suite with a sitting room, 2 TVs, a changing area, fridge, microwave and bath that had a shower big enough for two. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens were fresh and very clean, as was the entire suite. The AC provided much relief from the heat and humidity from the heat of August, and the ceiling fan was excellent too. I never ran out of clean towels for the bath or the pool/beach, as they had a separate supply for both. Each morning I enjoyed a continental breakfast and was greeted by the manager. They were very friendly and helpful. They let me use the pool and shower after I checked out as I had a late flight Sunday. I want to return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Thank you for your most in depth review. We sincerely appreciate it along with the pictures. Please do come back and visit with us again. It's guest's like yourself that make feel we're doing it right. The entire staff appreciates your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

First Time Stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
My first impression was that it was overall dated . But it was comfortable the rooms were comfortable and clean . Overall the staff was very nice of big shout out to Larry . What's close to the gay beach and really nice places to eat . Disappointed that they close the pool for a day and a half and they did not give us any opportunities and maybe they could've given us a day pass at another guest house close by . But overall it's a very nice place to stay .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Thank you from Larry, he heard your "shout-out." Unfortunately, there is no "best time" to close a swimming pool for "emergency" repairs. You were made aware several days in advance this was going to happen. With 2 broken underground pipes, the priority was to get it repaired. I'm sure you understand that. I wish you would have voiced your suggestion to me abut a day pass at another guest house. It didn't even cross my mind to offer that alternative. As we all know each other and quite often do business with each other. I do apologize. I'll make it up to you on your next visit to Cheston House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY

Clean and Friendly Staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, affordable conveniently located
Cons: Turn down the pool heater
Location: Shopping, restaurants all within walking distance. Two blocks to the beach.
From check in to check out staff was excellent. Room always clean, Grounds well maintained, quiet and close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by nick, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. We make every effort to ensure a comfortable and friendly stay at Cheston House. Since our property has a southern exposure, the pool is exposed to sunlight all day long, especially at this time of year. The pool heater is off, it's mother nature heating the pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Good, Need Whirlpool/Hot Tub!

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice sized room. Comfortable. Overall very good. However, no whirlpool/hot tub facility. Seems like a must have for a place like this. And, because it rained the whole weekend while I was there, I didn't even try out the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Great location, Staff were very plesent

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Room was a good size had a fridge which I think is so important ✔️ It rained the entire six days I stayed there no fault of the of the hotel of course but there was nothing to do in the hotel only sit in the room, they have a no cancellation policy so I couldn't move to another hotel that had better indoor facilities like a full gym etc, the A/C was so loud it couldn't be used while trying to sleep, The staff were wonderful, i'm parking the property was reasonably priced,
5 out of 5
by James

Nice place friendly staff

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
The place was clean and the staff was really friendly
4 out of 5
by Fidel

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Russell

Another Great Stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
This was a return visit. I still like this hotel. Great spot and location. The staff are friendly and easy going. The room renovations have helped improve things over my previous stays. The bed was comfortable but one corner of the mattress is sagging and made sleeping on the side uncomfortable. I like being able to use the pool at night.
4 out of 5
by GARY

Ft Lauderdale beach all male hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great stay, easy on site self parking. Easy block walk to beach and restaurants. Friendly staff, very clean room and comfy bed. Nothing fancy but well kept and plenty of room, nice shower. Having a refrigerator was great to have. Nice pool. We would stay here again for sure.