Ratings based on 1,586 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old but nice property on Beach

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Value
Cons: Short of replacing the structure with a new one - not much.
Location: On great beach. Near town. Plenty of restaurants in a few miles.
Suite with oceanview was very comfortable and clean. Building is old but well-maintained. Staff was very accommodating. Especially Keithra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Hurricane Irma Refuge

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: First class facilities in every respect.
Cons: Nothing. Just keep doing what you're doing.
A terrific 3-day stay while we waited for our power to be restored after the hurricane. The hotel was exceptionally accommodating, particularly considering the circumstances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, Florida

Awsome Resort

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The Resort has a tropical touch, very clean, friendly staff. Pool is open 24 hours as long as is quite at night. Free chairs at the beach, I went for my anniversary and it could not have been any better. Great location, very private. Planning my next trip, this time with the kids as the Resort has a really nice set up for kids
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and boring

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Hotel is kinda outdated but ok, rooms were clean though. There's 2 pools, one for families with kids and another smaller one for adults. The grounds are pretty. There's a small playground for kids and a ping pong table, mini golf, and other kid activities. There's only 4 hammocks and there right next to the playground so it's not really relaxing for adults. The beach is so rocky, water is not clear or blue, felt like I was at the jersey shore :( and they have beach umbrellas and chairs to rent but they put them so far from the beach it's almost not worth getting them. The food was blah and very expensive!! The only good food was at the Aquario restaurant that served dinner only, very expensive as well, $22 for a salad with chicken. The soda shop was crazy expensive too, 1 small scoops of ice cream will cost $5! You need a car or use uber, the hotel is far from everything. You can walk a mile or so to a small boardwalk but that was exhausting and not much to see or do there. Overall it was ok but I wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paradise, NL

Private and relaxing!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Private beach
Cons: Decor could us an update but still very nice. I've stayed in MUCH worse!
Location: Parasailing available. Location is in a very quiet area, quite nice.
My husband and I stayed here recently on our vacation for almost a week. If you're looking for quiet and privacy on a beach, this is the place for you. We opted for the beach over the pool because of the breeze - it was stifling hot - and the pool is quite sheltered and also quite popular with kids. On the beach you can rent an umbrella and two chairs for $25 a day. Its a great place to relax and read a book in the shade. There is beach service (i.e. drinks) if you want it but it is pricey - the woman (whose name I cannot remember!) working on the beach is very friendly and helpful, excellent service! The hotel decor itself is a bit dated but is very clean and it wouldn't deter me from staying there again. Beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small with a weird layout - a larger person would have a hard time getting in and out around the door - but overall nice. We didn't use the restaurant as there were lots of places nearby to go if you have a car. Carrabba's was a first for us and we loved it. Likewise with Doc B's. Both are delicious! Carrabba's has the best coffee I have ever had! We had a great trip and I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Syosset, NY

Loved everything about Lago Mar

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The staff and service were top-notch and the rooms were very big with comfy beds. I would recommend this as the top place to stay when visiting the Fort Lauderdale area! I will definitely be returning to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice family friendly resort

Posted Aug 25, 2017
This was our second visit. Always have a great time. Grounds are awesome and love that the beach is just a short walk from our room with no roads to cross. Will return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Only 2 days, but they were perfect. Beach is perfect, clean and big. Only comments, their is no restaurants near the hotel, you must take a car or walk for 20 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa.

Family vacation

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The Lago Mar is a beautiful place to stay. It is very kid friendly and you don't even have to leave the grounds. Everything is very clean and the staff is awesome! The walk to the beach is quit a stretch but well worth it! We used the spa and it was so relaxing. My only complaint would have to be the woman that does the nails is pushy and tried to get me to buy these health drinks from her personal business. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Lago Mar!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

2 Star Dressed up as a 5 Star

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Bartenders at the tiki bar were excellent, Concierge were professional and very helpful (they should move on to a better establishment)
Cons: Where to start, upgrade the rooms, paint the Hotel, Clean the carpets, some form of managerial presence and interaction with clients. have some rules!
Location: Decent location, close to lots of restaurant's (although you cannot walk to any of them)..... close to fishing and sightseeing charters.
Folks, not sure how this can be rated 4.6 out of 5? Hotel is old and poorly maintained, for the money this is one of the worst experiences we have had in twenty years of travel. I'm disappointed I read and believed the ratings and reviews. The Hotel is loud, run down and basically a hotel were the locals come to play for a day or two. If you need your fix of screaming kids, crying babies and just plain noise, this is the place for you. Front desk staff was helpful when asked, concierge desk went out of there way to help and the Bartenders at the pool tiki bar we great but that's were it ends. Room service was a ten minute make the beds and out, the young lady serving drinks around the so called "Adult" pool was the rudest person we encountered on our entire ten days in Florida, should not be in the service business. Overall there was really no one picking up after the hoards of kids, we have kids, we just have never seen kids screaming and yelling like this before, absolutely no rules or at least non enforced. I have never left a negative review before but please understand this is not a place for relaxation or any form of relax time, it has the makings or maybe once was a great place to stay, right now it needs a major facelift and management that is actually seen and servicing the clientele.