Ratings based on 1,554 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved everything about Lago Mar!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Policy of what can or cannot be watched on Bar TV. Bartender had to change MMA that was on, per management.
Beautiful beach and pools. Free chairs were comfy, no need to rent the cabana set up. Restaurant was good, rooms nice, view great. If I have one negative thing to say, it is that the hotel management would not let us watch MMA on the TV in the bar. Someone complained at another time about it being on the TV's in other areas of the resort so management has banned it from all TV's at resort. I understand MMA may be too violent for young children to see, but this was at the Bar where you had to be at least 21 and besides my husband and I were the only ones there. Management has to think that while they may appease one guest they may offend another and use digression on the decisions. TV in area where kids are shouldn't have the same things on as a bar TV. People like watching sporting events at bars be it football, MMA, boxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK, Midlands

Outstanding!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Food, staff, room size and facilities, view, pool
Cons: nothing, perfect for us.
Location: Jungle cruise is awesome.
better than the reviews had suggested, We will definitely be back next year. Food was great, pool was great, The local amenities were great, All in all extremely enjoyable and relaxing which is exactly what we wanted. As a family of 4 with two young teenagers, this was a perfect base.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Great vacation

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel is be beautiful with various activities on the grounds. The food is excellent. The beach was great!
Location: Perfect location!
This was the best resort/hotel by far. The resort offered everything as if you were on your own island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewes, Delaware

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 3, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at the Lago Mar. I used to live in Ft Lauderdale for years and the location is perfect. It is very close to the airport, Ft Lauderdale beach, downtown, and Las Olas. The staff were very receptive to us from the moment we checked in. We needed a crib which was no problem. They also offered us a high chair and brought both to our room immediately. At one point we asked for an additional lounge chair for our balcony and were accommodated no questions asked. The free parking is a huge perk. We had a rental car as the hote is not really walkable to much. The free parking allowed us to come and go as we pleased and we did not have trouble getting a spot once all week. The pool area was large and nice and there was I've entertainment on the weekend. The pool bar was adequate although service was a little slow at times. There are tons of towels available but not always am attendant which makes is confusing as there isn't a sign explaining what to do when there is no attendant (you just walk behind the counter and get them yourself). The private beach is nice. Standard chairs are free but an umbrella will cost you $25 a day. This was a negative combined with the fact that they are pretty far from the water and not mobile. If you don't need an umbrella, however, you can take the free chairs as close to the water as you like. All in all we had a great time and will definitely stay at the Lago Mar again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Wonderful location, beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: As a woman traveling alone, I felt very safe at this hotel and on the grounds.
Cons: I can't think of anything to improve upon.
Location: Located right on the beach in a quiet area of Ft Lauderdale.
I arrived at the hotel exhausted from a long day of difficult travel. I asked for the possibility of a room with an ocean view and was upgraded to a King room! The room was very clean and offered plenty of space to unpack and spread my things out. A very short walk to a clean, quiet beach with towel service provided. Complimentary valet service was very quick to bring my car around. Staff was all very polite and respectful to me. Overall, this was a wonderful experience! If I ever find myself traveling to the area again, I will definitely look into a stay at Lago Mar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GPW, MI

Wonderful place!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Cheaper drink prices!!!
Location: Great location, not far from all varieties of shopping and beaches.
Would recommend this resort to anyone. Nice for couples or families. Plenty of things to do and good food. Staff was exceptional, pleasant, welcoming, and very helpful. Concierge staff assisted us with setting up reservations at Miami Seaquarium for our son. They were super friendly and more than happy to help us with any questions regarding things to do in the area. Stunning, large beach and pools. Cannot wait to return! Thank you for the great memories!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evergreen Park, Illinois

Private beach. Impeccably cared for hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Staff always present and attentive to guests and hotel needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Perfect Getaway

Posted Jul 24, 2017
It was a very relaxing stay close walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem

Posted Jul 21, 2017
We have been coming to Lago Mar for 5 years. The proximity to the beach, its secludedness and the quality of the service are second to none. Amazing family-run, for-families hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice beach accesible

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Hotel is really nice , Horrible customer service, Workers hardly speak English And the ones who speak engloba sh had a very bad attitude.