Ratings based on 1,563 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Only 2 days, but they were perfect. Beach is perfect, clean and big. Only comments, their is no restaurants near the hotel, you must take a car or walk for 20 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa.

Family vacation

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The Lago Mar is a beautiful place to stay. It is very kid friendly and you don't even have to leave the grounds. Everything is very clean and the staff is awesome! The walk to the beach is quit a stretch but well worth it! We used the spa and it was so relaxing. My only complaint would have to be the woman that does the nails is pushy and tried to get me to buy these health drinks from her personal business. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Lago Mar!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

2 Star Dressed up as a 5 Star

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Bartenders at the tiki bar were excellent, Concierge were professional and very helpful (they should move on to a better establishment)
Cons: Where to start, upgrade the rooms, paint the Hotel, Clean the carpets, some form of managerial presence and interaction with clients. have some rules!
Location: Decent location, close to lots of restaurant's (although you cannot walk to any of them)..... close to fishing and sightseeing charters.
Folks, not sure how this can be rated 4.6 out of 5? Hotel is old and poorly maintained, for the money this is one of the worst experiences we have had in twenty years of travel. I'm disappointed I read and believed the ratings and reviews. The Hotel is loud, run down and basically a hotel were the locals come to play for a day or two. If you need your fix of screaming kids, crying babies and just plain noise, this is the place for you. Front desk staff was helpful when asked, concierge desk went out of there way to help and the Bartenders at the pool tiki bar we great but that's were it ends. Room service was a ten minute make the beds and out, the young lady serving drinks around the so called "Adult" pool was the rudest person we encountered on our entire ten days in Florida, should not be in the service business. Overall there was really no one picking up after the hoards of kids, we have kids, we just have never seen kids screaming and yelling like this before, absolutely no rules or at least non enforced. I have never left a negative review before but please understand this is not a place for relaxation or any form of relax time, it has the makings or maybe once was a great place to stay, right now it needs a major facelift and management that is actually seen and servicing the clientele.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Great location on the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent facilities and service, with friendly and helpful staff. The photos don't do this hotel justice. Would definitely like to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The reasterant had great food.
Cons: More comfortable furnature in the rooms.
Location: Right at the beach and close to other things to do.
The staff was very helpfull and the reasturent was really good. Close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Great hotel next to beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We had a great time the pool and ocean are amazing. The private access to beach was awesome. Hotel staff very nice and friendly. Food and drinks were fairly priced. Only complaint was the hide-a-bed was uncomfortable (although most are anyways). So no real complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved everything about Lago Mar!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Policy of what can or cannot be watched on Bar TV. Bartender had to change MMA that was on, per management.
Beautiful beach and pools. Free chairs were comfy, no need to rent the cabana set up. Restaurant was good, rooms nice, view great. If I have one negative thing to say, it is that the hotel management would not let us watch MMA on the TV in the bar. Someone complained at another time about it being on the TV's in other areas of the resort so management has banned it from all TV's at resort. I understand MMA may be too violent for young children to see, but this was at the Bar where you had to be at least 21 and besides my husband and I were the only ones there. Management has to think that while they may appease one guest they may offend another and use digression on the decisions. TV in area where kids are shouldn't have the same things on as a bar TV. People like watching sporting events at bars be it football, MMA, boxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK, Midlands

Outstanding!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Food, staff, room size and facilities, view, pool
Cons: nothing, perfect for us.
Location: Jungle cruise is awesome.
better than the reviews had suggested, We will definitely be back next year. Food was great, pool was great, The local amenities were great, All in all extremely enjoyable and relaxing which is exactly what we wanted. As a family of 4 with two young teenagers, this was a perfect base.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Great vacation

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel is be beautiful with various activities on the grounds. The food is excellent. The beach was great!
Location: Perfect location!
This was the best resort/hotel by far. The resort offered everything as if you were on your own island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewes, Delaware

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 3, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at the Lago Mar. I used to live in Ft Lauderdale for years and the location is perfect. It is very close to the airport, Ft Lauderdale beach, downtown, and Las Olas. The staff were very receptive to us from the moment we checked in. We needed a crib which was no problem. They also offered us a high chair and brought both to our room immediately. At one point we asked for an additional lounge chair for our balcony and were accommodated no questions asked. The free parking is a huge perk. We had a rental car as the hote is not really walkable to much. The free parking allowed us to come and go as we pleased and we did not have trouble getting a spot once all week. The pool area was large and nice and there was I've entertainment on the weekend. The pool bar was adequate although service was a little slow at times. There are tons of towels available but not always am attendant which makes is confusing as there isn't a sign explaining what to do when there is no attendant (you just walk behind the counter and get them yourself). The private beach is nice. Standard chairs are free but an umbrella will cost you $25 a day. This was a negative combined with the fact that they are pretty far from the water and not mobile. If you don't need an umbrella, however, you can take the free chairs as close to the water as you like. All in all we had a great time and will definitely stay at the Lago Mar again.