Ratings based on 2,702 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nicely away from the crowds.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pelican Grand is right on the beach. Beautiful and very secluded, away from the confusions of the “strip” hotels about 2 miles south. Views are breathtaking and the hotel has almost a boutique quality, still small enough and private to earn that distinction. There is an awesome restaurant with outdoor dining, the pool is large, with a great “lazy river” feature for a nice relaxing float. There are padded rockers on the beachfront porches that surround the hotel. The rooms are very large, ours had a great sleeping area with an attached room that led out to the oceanfront facing terrace. That attached Room had a couch that opened to a bed and you could actually close the glass doors that made that area very private as well. Couple of things. (Not necessarily bad)- You probably need a car if you stay here. The hotel only has two elevators for guests, not enough for an 11 floor facility. Nice work out Room- but only available from 8-8. Very small driveway make no drop off and delivery of your car a long process. They charge $33/day for valet parking which should be included since there is absolutely no local parking available. There is also a $30 per day charge to use the “facilities”- Beach, pool, internet. These items should be included on the hotel daily rate, in my opinion. Rooms could use a sprucing up, our couch had stains and our blinds did not work. Even so, this is a great hotel and worth your consideration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from weston, florida

amazing hotel, close to the beach

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, the beds were extremely comfortable. Room was very spacious and clean. Comfort of having a lounge chair and umbrella at beach!
Cons: can't think of anything...everything was up to standards, very impressed
Location: As I mentioned before, had a show at the Au Rene Theatre. Then walking by the beach and having lunch at Rock Bar, and having drinks at Elbow Room,
My son and girlfriend came to visit me from Orlando. I had tickets to go see Love Never Dies at the Au Rene Theatre. I decided that it would be a nice idea to stay in the area that night instead of driving back to my home in Weston. When we checked in, we went to happy hour at your bar, great drinks and excellent service. It was a relaxing time, and then we got ready to go to the show. The next morning we took advantage of having a delicious breakfast overlooking the ocean, and then going for a swim and searching for shells. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time, made it into a mini vacation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The Hotel itself is beautiful and is on the beach. Not a good choice for staying after returning from a cruise. Check in is late at 4pm and the front desk staff are not very friendly or helpful when you ask questions. Since we arrived early from disembarking from our cruise ship, they did hold our bags while we waited for our room to be ready. We were told to come back in 2 hrs. We returned after 3 hours and the front desk gentleman told us room was not ready. He refused to give us a time frame,so that we could plan the rest of our day, only told us checkin is at 4pm, however the people in front of us, he gave them a room and instructed them where to go along with the hotel amenities. Our room was finally ready at 3:30pm they handed us the keys and said no more. We had no idea where to find the elevator or what floor we were on and had to ask . The hotel is very beautiful and clean but we would probably not stay there again due to their late checkin policy combined with unfriendly front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Stunning view

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The charming old country club feel, the porch and the upper deck views. and the rooms were massive.
Location: Perfect location right on the beach and close to everything but not too close.
Sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch kind of said it all, watching it go to dusk, then seeing the moon rise was unreal. Having the great facilities to back me was a great fall back., Staff was quite friendly and accommodating throughout my stay. Can't wait to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Best hotel in Fort Lauderdale

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Only hotel we will stay at in Fort Lauderdale. It’s the perfect getaway spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive, Aging, Limited Options.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Cons: Tear out the lazy river - put in a real pool.
Location: The beach - otherwise - nothing and not wonderful.
The good news is it is on the beach. The bad news is that there is nothing around for miles. And the other bad news is it is very expensive for what you get. Location, location, location. Yes they have that. - it is beachfront. Yet there are plenty of run down, sketchy apartments nearby. So the neighborhood is not exciting. The lobby is OK but the rooms are tired and old. The pool is very tiny because they opted for a lazy river. An interesting gimmick but a real pool would be a better option for adults and kids. Breakfast is very good but expensive. The food is very expensive as there is little competition except the Sandbar Grille next door. The room prices have gone up over the years. I get the sense that management is new. Fort Lauderdale is re-developing but there is a lot of decay around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beachfront hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Had problems at check in, with additional charges that we were not made aware of that was added to our credit card. Also double charged our card which then made it ineligible. The next morning Jessica at the front desk corrected the problem & also gave us a satisfaction recovery. The Pelican is a gorgeous resort, beach front, lazy river, pool, even offers beach services, with comfortable lounge chairs & beach umbrellas. Love the rocking chairs on back balcony of resort, ice cream parlor, & gift shop. Restaurants top notch, a little pricy, but does offer happy hour bargains!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect Resort in Florida

Posted Nov 3, 2017
This was my third stay st this resort. My family could not have been happier. It does not matter what part of the hotel you are utilizing, the staff is so helpful and kind. The rooms are still clean and comfortable. The balconies allow for superior relaxation and are very comfortable. The beach is steps from the backdoor and with a family with special needs I could not ask for more. I will be returning very soon for my next visit!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 24, 2017
My room was beautiful, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in (and I've stayed at a number of hotels - frequent business traveler). I ordered breakfast the night previously for delivery to my room between 8 and 8:15, and they delivered it promptly at 8am. It was hands down the most delicious hotel breakfast I've ever eaten. Great place to stay for business travel, but it'd also be a great place to stay for vacation too. My room was very neat and clean, cute decor, and I loved the layout. Tons of windows to look out of. Cons: I paid for a room with ocean view (specifically did *not* choose "partial ocean view" on my reservation) and I wound up with a city view and a little bit - probably about 1/5 - of ocean. This wouldn't normally bother me too much, but it didn't seem fair for me to have paid for full ocean view and only receive a partial one. The only other con I can think of was that room service ended at 10pm - I flew from Tampa to Ft Lauderdale in the evening and didn't wind up checking into my room until 10:15pm or so. I would've loved to order dinner because I was hungry (jetlagged - I'm from the west coast, so it was dinner time per my body). Instead I relieved the snack bar of one of its bags of nuts and went to bed hungry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vary nice hotel. Right on the beach.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Hotel is right on the beach. We were treated vary well. Would go back again.