Ratings based on 3,188 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Good stay... easy to get to my destinations. I realize that parking is minimal so parking per day is pretty expensive and is part of the journey of vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Post-Cruise Hotel Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2017
We got off the cruise ship early, around 9 AM so of course our room wasn't ready. We hung out at the pool and the hotel took care of our luggage. Even though check-in is not until 4 we were able to get into our room around 11AM. The staff was very friendly. This hotel is very nice, the views of the ocean are spectacular and the beach is just across the street and it's close to restaurants and shopping. I would have considered staying longer but we just finished our cruise and the real world was calling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington KY

Exceptional view. Going downhill!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The view!
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathtub. Get rid of the weak shower heads! Either dump the "resort fee" or charge it if someone wishes to use those facilities.
Location: The location and access to restaurants and shopping is unbeatable in the area.
The ocean view is spectacular! This is the second time we have stayed at this Sonesta since it became part of that chain and we had a good, but not great, experience. The staff person who checked us in was a little less than welcoming. However, the rest of the staff was very good. While the room was clean overall, the bathtub left quite a bit to be desired. The shower was AWFUL!!! The water flow is so little due to an apparent obsession with "low-flow" shower heads that it actually doubled the amount of time it takes to shower. RIDICULOUS!!! You can't even rinse properly in what would normally be the time it takes to start and finish a shower. Also, the "resort fee" should be charged only if you plan to use those facilities, not for just an overnight stay. The bottom line is...If you want a great view, get a corner room here. It is amazing. If you want to have a great hotel experience and a great view, stay at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove (Miami). It is all of the things this one is not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.C.

Spectacular views of the coast

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: The bathrooms still have the old tubs in them from a previous owner - perhaps in the future these can be replaced with a simple walk-in shower. And, i
Location: Without peer: right on the corner of the main entrance to the oceanfront, with terrific views of the coast.
As a VIP member of Expedia, I received an upgrade to a higher room that was in the northeast corner of the property. I was located on the 11th floor - and what a SPECTACULAR view on two sides of the room! The room was comfortable, felt very private, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ecuador

Great Views , nice Hotel for the beach .

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The Views from the room
Cons: Th price in the parking .
Location: The beach
One of the best views for Fort lauderdale sea . We pass like 5 nights in a great ambience whit a great food and attention . The place was near the beach and the rooms are great and comfortable . Great hotel to be whit my kids .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Nice ocean front view

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Check in was easy. The view was amazing so were the staff. The pool was a decent size looked bigger in the picture. The beach is right across the street. Con: The bathroom needs to be updated. Overall a good experience I would start here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We loved this hotel! Perfect for our first little family getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The staff and the hotel was great. I will return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Excellent views of the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel is fantastic. Very modern feel. Great views of the ocean. Close to great nightlife (pubs, dinner, dancing). Pool a bit small and walls are very thin. But a great hotel based on the one night that I spent. Received some complimentary drinks, food credit and other miscellaneous items as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Excellent location and very nice pool

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Loved it had a great time at hotel and at beach very highly recommend