Ratings based on 3,197 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best ocean view

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The best ocean view I've seen in Fort Lauderdale.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Views, comfortable bed, fast internet
Cons: Eliminate the mandatory extra charge of 22 a day for beach chairs, interent. Just incorporate that in the listed price
Location: Right across from the beach.
Wonderful view but hidden expense of 22 a day for beavh chairs that I did not want nir need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great view from the room! Beach right across the street
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2017
My husband and I arrived on Monday, August 14th and left Thursday, August 17th. Upon arrival at approximately 5pm the computer system was rebooting from a crash so there was a wait.The front desk staff advised us to leave our luggage and gave us complimentary beverage coupons to redeem at the lobby bar. The wait for check-in was about 15-20 minutes and the staff was apologetic! The wait upon arrival and one of the elevator shafts being repaired are the only negative encounters I had at Sonesta. The staff that I interacted with were all friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and the view of the beach was beautiful.The location of the hotel is directly across the street from the beach and away from the majority of the hotels on the strip which I really liked. There are stores and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I really liked the different free theme nights in the lobby like the pretzel party and the 80s band with the corn dogs. I did not use the pool, spa or fitness center nor did I visit the hotels restaurant Bistro while I was there so I can't review them. I also did not use the valet service (we parked at the open lot around the corner). I would recommend the Sonesta and I would also stay there again if I return to Fort Lauderdale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lazy room service

Posted Aug 18, 2017
not a pleasant smell inside the room. humidity level was high even we turn AC on full
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Awesome

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel staff were friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. I suggest for good food and good time the Rock Bar about 5 minutes away for night life! Suggested by the very special Evelyn!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Good stay... easy to get to my destinations. I realize that parking is minimal so parking per day is pretty expensive and is part of the journey of vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Post-Cruise Hotel Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2017
We got off the cruise ship early, around 9 AM so of course our room wasn't ready. We hung out at the pool and the hotel took care of our luggage. Even though check-in is not until 4 we were able to get into our room around 11AM. The staff was very friendly. This hotel is very nice, the views of the ocean are spectacular and the beach is just across the street and it's close to restaurants and shopping. I would have considered staying longer but we just finished our cruise and the real world was calling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington KY

Exceptional view. Going downhill!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The view!
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathtub. Get rid of the weak shower heads! Either dump the "resort fee" or charge it if someone wishes to use those facilities.
Location: The location and access to restaurants and shopping is unbeatable in the area.
The ocean view is spectacular! This is the second time we have stayed at this Sonesta since it became part of that chain and we had a good, but not great, experience. The staff person who checked us in was a little less than welcoming. However, the rest of the staff was very good. While the room was clean overall, the bathtub left quite a bit to be desired. The shower was AWFUL!!! The water flow is so little due to an apparent obsession with "low-flow" shower heads that it actually doubled the amount of time it takes to shower. RIDICULOUS!!! You can't even rinse properly in what would normally be the time it takes to start and finish a shower. Also, the "resort fee" should be charged only if you plan to use those facilities, not for just an overnight stay. The bottom line is...If you want a great view, get a corner room here. It is amazing. If you want to have a great hotel experience and a great view, stay at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove (Miami). It is all of the things this one is not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.C.

Spectacular views of the coast

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: The bathrooms still have the old tubs in them from a previous owner - perhaps in the future these can be replaced with a simple walk-in shower. And, i
Location: Without peer: right on the corner of the main entrance to the oceanfront, with terrific views of the coast.
As a VIP member of Expedia, I received an upgrade to a higher room that was in the northeast corner of the property. I was located on the 11th floor - and what a SPECTACULAR view on two sides of the room! The room was comfortable, felt very private, etc.