Ratings based on 2,028 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Positive was the location.

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Great access to the beach and walking distance to plenty of places to eat. The building is just older than you would expect for a Westin. My room had a horrible odor when you first walk in the door. I think the carpet needs to be replaced. The elevators didn't work the majority of the time I was there which was frustrating. The building just needs some major renovations. But the staff works hard for the Westin experience. The spa was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Alin B., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. Please accept our apologies for the odor in the room and that the elevators were down during your stay. We are planing a major renovation for the room so if you will be giving us another opportunity next year you will see the difference. We would like to also thank you for the staff comments as they are working hard to make sure all guests have an excellent experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Disappointed

Posted Nov 20, 2017
For the amount of money paid and location near the beach it was not a pleasant stay. Ice machine didn’t work on our floor so we called the front desk to have ice brought to the room. The wait was so long we had to call numerous times to see if it was still coming. We were told by the receptionist with an attitude that “if we couldn’t wait we could get it ourselves on another floor”. tried calling valet to bring down our cars and no one would pick up, not even the front desk. The valet was 40 a night per car which is already expensive. On top of that charge I was charged over $200 extra because of the hotel wanted to see if I had enough money to pay for the car valet. When I inquired about the extra charges no one could give me a consecutive answer as to what the charges were for. I will NEVER stay with that resort again. Communication was lacking between the guest and staff which added to the frustration. If anyone stays with them read all the fine print and watch out for hidden fees you won’t get back until a week later!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Alin B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. Please accept our apologies for the waiting time for the ice and that the service express agent had an attitude and that the valet and the front desk did not pick up the phone. We will investigate to make sure this will not repeat in the future. We would also like to apologize you weren’t more informed about our resort and parking fees prior to your arrival as i am guessing those are the hidden fees you are referring to. We do have these listed throughout our booking channels as we never want a guest to be surprised when arriving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pleased with location and cleanliness. Great service! Location location location!! Wonderful stay! Close to wonderful cafes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach...

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Location was great! However in room shower was horrible..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale Beach

Nice hotel, very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: close to the beach.
Cons: bar was under construction, would have like to seen the complete bar.
Location: Hotel is right by the beach and has access to a lot of bars and restaurants.
Excellent experience with staff and location. Location was close to the beach and very accessible to a lot of restaurants and bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
I was here for a very short stay. The hotel wasn’t as nice as other Westin’s I’ve been to. The room had a strange odor. Ok stay for overnight but wouldn’t stay for a long vacation
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Alin , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. Please accept our apologies for the odor in the room. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department and we will investigate why and where the odor is coming form and make sure this will not happen again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
It's a nice place, only caveat are the hidden fees. The $49 resort fee that is charged in addition to what you pay at expedia and the $39 a night parking fee. That is almost $100 extra a night on additional costs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Westin Ft Lauderdale

Posted Nov 15, 2017
It was great. There is tons to do. It has direct beach access. There is a daily resort fee that you pay separately from Expedia. In-room dining was great. Pricey but great. I didn’t like that they charge a 10.00 delivery fee to bring food upstairs, plus a service charge. I will not use in room dining again otherwise great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific Escape!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Convenient, location and amenities!
Cons: Coordination at the entrance to the hotel; taxis, uber & lyft traffic gets chaotic!
We arrived and checked in to an upgrade of an oceanfront room, amazing view! Set the tone for an awesome stay! Thanks!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Horrible Experience

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Overall location. Right on ocean. Private hotel area on beach convenient.
Cons: Overall service. It was just a nightmare, at every level.
Location: Close to beach, Ft Lauderdale events. Nearby great dining and shopping. Within walking distance to all.
Arrived at hotel in rental car at midnight after transcontinental flight. Two bellman were chatting and joking. I had to ask them to help me. They didn’t offer to assist with my luggage. Front desk was no better. No inviting demeanor or welcoming attitude. First words were “you know we have a mandatory daily additional resort fee”. They offered a “discounted” wifi access for duration of my stay. when I tried to use, it only worked on one device. If I used my IPad at same time as my iPhone, I had to register for additional usage daily. At check in, they offered an upgraded sea view room for no additional charge. All I requested was a quiet room. New room had partial obstructed view, loud over pool, on 4th floor close to hotel ventilation system. Room phone did not work for entire stay. Technician told me it had been broken for weeks. I utilized room service daily, but had to use my cell. They reprimanded me for using own phone. On 3 occasions, room service took over 2 hours each time. Each time I was told they were busy. Food was cold each time. Room service was unfriendly. They requested to be tipped with cash, so tips didn’t have to be tracked and shared. Two days I had to request room service... no one came to make bed or change linens/replace towels. At checkout, I asked for change to tip bellman. Was told i’d have to buy something from one of the shops, and they could give me change. I told bellman with apologies, and he went to same front desk person and got change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Alin , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. Please accept our apologies for our luggage and valet team not assisting you at the time of check-in. We would also like to apologize for the phone not working in the room and the issues with IRD, housekeeping and the issues at C/O. I have shared your feedback with all the departments evolved and we will investigate all this and change our processes to ensure this will not happen again in the future.