Ratings based on 2,360 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was okay for one night.

Posted Oct 12, 2017
I thought the hotel was nice, clean, and modern. The room was nice and cool, but felt damp (humidity was bad). My only complaint is that they don't tell you about the $40 mandatory charge to park your car. I knew about the hotel fees which is fine, but then they get you for $40 more to park the car for one night. I would think that should be included when you stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The Westin Fort Lauderdale Made Us Feel Special

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, accommodations, everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located across the street from the beach with a bridge, perfectly located for the beach lover and walking distance to everything Ft Lauderdale has.
I, somewhat, randomly selected the Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort for my wife to stay and celebrate our 30th Anniversary. I called to book because I had a few questions not explained on the website. When booking the room, I mentioned to the lady that we were excited to spend our anniversary with them. That was it. When we arrived 10/9/17, we were welcomed with a "Happy Anniversary" from the gentleman at the front desk. He went on to tell us that the front desk staff would like to give us a complimentary upgrade to an ocean front room! The following evening, the night of our Anniversary, a representative from the front desk delivered a bottle of champaign and a hand written note from Rosette wishing us a Happy Anniversary (see photo). Every staff member was friendly and accommodating. We felt like everyone knew it was our special occasion. Thank you Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort staff for making our Anniversary celebration one we will never forget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Overall review

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The location, the hotel cleanliness, and the friendliness of the employees.
Cons: change the hotel fee amenities so that it could be cheaper to guest. The rooms with double beds, the beds should be queen.
Location: We were right across the street from the beach and lots of restaurants.
The location was great. The hotel appearance was great as well. However, I did not like that we had to pay a $35 (others had to pay $45) for resort fee which supposedly includes the wifi, bicycles, water in room, newspaper, hotel pool and beach towels. I think it should have been a cheaper for the guest and then those that want to use the bicycles and want the newspaper, have them pay extra. Also, most hotels within the same status have queen size beds for 2 beds in a room. However, they had regular size beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Extra Fees!!!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Very surprised by extra fees. 'Resort Fee-$45 per day!! This is not Disney. This fee covered use of the pool and facilities. Ummmm, what am I paying $200 a night for?? No Options for parking...valet only. $39 per 24 hours. Plus tips of course. My fault for not getting the info ahead of time but I still feel like these extra fees are out of line for the quality of hotel. Compared to Marriott Besch and Spa Resort, Marriott is heads above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Neal Spivack, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. It was disappointing to read about your overall poor experience. Please accept our apologies that you weren’t more aware of our resort fee and valet parking only option. We do ensure these are listed throughout our booking channels as we never want a guest to be surprised when they arrive. We do hope your other experiences around the resort were Excellent, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Great spa and accommodations! Got an upgraded room for no charge . The weather wasn’t great but this place made up for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocala

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I have a great time, excellent staff, rooms spotless!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Unfortunate stay.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Convenient and nice amenities when available.
Check-In was disappointing - possibly overworked or tired staff since there was a convention on site. Room was ready early which was wonderful, but the room location was sub-par....next to elevator and view of roof and rear of building - couldnt even see the skyline. The hotel amenity fee was ridiculous and should have been waived; beach was barely usable since they are still in massive clean-up from Irma. Ive stayed here numerous times and had very good experiences, so this was unusual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Neal Spivack, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your continued loyalty with the brand, and our resort. Please accept our apologies that this stay wasn’t up to our usual Westin standards. We are glad the room was ready early for you, but certainly your arrival experience sets the tone for the entire stay. We have shared these comments with our team, and are looking into who was responsible for the disappointing check in. They will be coached and retrained using your comments to ensure it does not repeat itself. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, affordable hotel!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Great hotel. Staff is very accommodating. Was visiting the area for a long weekend. They recent renovated the lobby and restaurant. Rooms were extremely cozy. Had a king size bed which was so comfortable. Only negative was paying a $35 per day "resort fee" to use amenities which include: the pool, wifi, and beach access which was a little odd to be because one, it's not a resort; it's a hotel and two the "amenities" weren't that great for an extra $35 a day. But overall, the stay was extremely positive and I would definitely considered staying there again when I visit the area next!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples fl

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Excellent Facilities... Mandatory Valet at 45 per night an necessariy charge on top of resort fees
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Staff and Convenient

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Courtney at the Front Desk and Michelle at the Wave's Pool Side Grill were Great! This location was within 10 minutes of the Beachplace Mall and Fort Lauderdale Beach. There were all sorts of transportation options right outside the hotel. The Pool and Waves Grill hours should be extended. The beach umbrellas at the beach should be complimentary with the resort fee. Guests should not have to checkout umbrellas at the pool and carry them across the highway to the complimentary beach chairs.