Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, FL

probably great in the 30's, but now it's the pits

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: food was good
Cons: the property location is fantastic, demolish it and start over...
Location: right across the road from ft. Lauderdale beach state park!
I'll leave it with the pink ceramic 4 inch square bathroom wall tiles covered with peeling white paint....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Bar & Restaurant

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Location, the bar and the restaurant
Cons: Renovation and add a pool
An old hotel that could use some renovating but it is clean and the staff is nice. The location is PERFECT! The bar is excellent! Great food! Try the coconut shrimp! Great breakfast selection and the best Bloody Mary's in town! Loved the New Year's Eve DJ too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Dated hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The staff was nice and the location to the beach excellent, however the rooms are dated and small. The bathroom had what appeared to be a little mold on the window area. The paint is pealing off and was not by a professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel....not a good choice.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
While we found the staff to be to be pleasant to work with and the location to be convention, the facility itself was extremely worn, old and out of date. the room was very small with barley enough room to navigate around the bed.The bathroom was clean but shabby in appearance including rust everywhere and a broken hot water handle. Also, most of the electrical outlets on the room did not work. Overall I would never stay here again nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The room was dirty, paint chipping everywhere and carpet so gross that i had to wear my socks all the time. Mould odors and construction noise from the building besides were the cherry on the cake. Invest a little more money and choose something else. ANYTHING else
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff was great! love the location! needs updating

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: the condition of the hotel
Location: location was perfect for the cruise and flight travel they need a shuttle service close to the beach and shopping and nightlife
staff was friendly and very helpful! the location and price was perfect across from the beach close to the cruise port and the airport. close to night life and shopping. the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. but the hotel needs renovations paint chipping old flooring etc. but over all clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view from restaurant. Reasonable pricing

Posted Sep 25, 2016
True to ad. Everything was great. Very clean. Very quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Close to the beach but...

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The bathroom in our room was substandard. The tile had been painted white and was peeling horribly. The phone didn't work. The fridge never got cold. The bathroom sink drained slow and the shower water was either hell hot or arctic freezing. No in between. Bonus was that the bed was comfortable but we were not given a blanket. Only sheets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mtl

No wifi, no spanish

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The staff not speak Spanish. the room haven't wifi connection!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old, uncomfortable hotel but great location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I stayed at the Bahia Cabana only because I knew the previously named Yankee Clipper is under new ownership and the renovations are extensive and room rates aren't reflecting that. I tried the Bahia Mar but the Cabana was the only one with availability. I should have just gone further down the beach! The parking situation is very difficult (nowhere to really pull in to checkin), the lobby felt like a sauna with little to no AC, the valet is located outside the lobby and they give you your own tickets to place on your keys and to hand to the valet (strange), and then we were relegated to the 600 bldg which was abysmal! We were given and upstairs room with no stairs, no one to assist carrying luggage to the room, so once I lugged everything up at 5 pm in sweltering heat, I was looking forward to the AC only to find the room was worse than the lobby! The room faced west with two long single-panes windows with minimal window dressing so the sun just irradiated the room! I had to leave the bathroom door and the separate closet closed the entire time to keep the room even slightly cool! That made the bathroom close to 90 deg at all times, you'd drip sweat whenever you went in to it! I had the wall unit AC set to the lowest possible temp and never really got cool, even at night. The beds were rock hard and the linens hard and scratchy. They offered no pool towels. And when we carried our cooler to the pool we were told hotel guests had to keep them in the room!!