Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid $200 for a room there in a back alley. sucks

Posted Mar 27, 2017
1 key given attached to safety pin. No security. Room has chain on door with one screw holding it. No bath towels. So dirty. A guy to one of our luggage when we had four and tromped thru mud instead of sidewalk. They issued a free breakfast that too over hour to get served eggs and bacon. Room is so dirty and outdated. Anyone can copy key for door. Motel 6 is cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Fun layout

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the uniqueness of the layout.
Cons: The pool could be cleaned.
Location: The beach was right across the road! Slightly down the beach were multiple restaurants and bars.
Stayed here on spring break with 50 other friends. We were all very close to each other and each of our rooms seemed different. Our first room had a busted window with a board over it but they immediately upgraded us to a larger room. The layout was very unique and had a large patio for dancing and music and multiple bridges that went all over the hotel. The staff had multiple complaints about music being too loud at only 9:00pm, although everyone around us was in college as well and did not complain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

awful service. Unclearly rooms. Disgusting

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The staff is extremely rude and disrespectful. The hotel looks absolutely nothing like the pictures online. It honestly looks like an outdoor motel. Cleaning services did not come clean our room once and I was there for 7 days. It was absolutely terrible and I will never stay at the Bahia cabana ever again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible!!!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and understanding that this hotel is terrible!
Cons: Everything!!!!
Location: Beach, restaurants and bars!
Our stay at the Bahia Cabana in Ft Lauderdale was terrible! The only good thing I can say about the entire place is that the staff is at least friendly. When we first checked in we were originally given a room in a building down the street and separate from the rest of the property. The room was dirty, it smelled and was also on the ground floor and anyone could walk off the street and be at our door. That room simply was not going to work. We were given another room that was just barely better in the main building on the 2nd floor. The bathroom was dirty, the rug was a mess, paint pealing off the walls and the ice bucket was dirty. The air conditioning is a window unit, but at least that worked. The next morning we went downstairs for breakfast by the water and walked out after waiting over 15 minutes for coffee. I believe they were short staffed that day. We checked out a day early because of how terrible everything about this hotel was. I've stayed at this property in the past and it has gone way downhill. Very sad because it is a great location and has a lot of potential. Very disappointing. We left this hotel and checked in across the street, beautiful property!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, Pa.

There are better hotels for your money

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Room is old. 60's style hotel. Bathtub and bathroom look like original from that era. The room was big for a family of 4 but the bathroom definitely needs updating to modern standards. No cable! Remote did not work. They sent somebody to fix it. I wanted to watch a show on NBC which is a standard network. I couldn't find it. There were only 4 channels that worked. I called the office and was told that "I was doing good to have 4 channels". I was so appalled at the rudeness. In this day and age one expects to at least have the basic TV networks when you book a hotel. I had a choice of CNN or Cartoon Network all night. Would never stay here again! Don't waste your money. There are better hotels for this price with working cable and free breakfast! Oh yeah, breakfast wasn't included!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not bother to stay asked for a refund

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Colleen who worked front desk was very pleasant to deal with and very helpful, great job Colleen!
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild
Location: Location was good. Very close to the beach.
Room was very low quality. Bathroom had mould all over tiles ceiling and walls!! Lots of ripped carpet bed sheets was damp??? Very run down hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Second stay, not so good!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location location location!
Cons: Overall room maintenance and repair. Ease of check-in when Expedia is used to secure the booking.
Location: The beach is a very short walk away, as well as multiple restaurants and "The Market" (A small grocery/convenient store).
This is our second stay, in about a year, at Bahia Cabana. Sadly, we were even less impressed this time by this hotel. The rooms are becoming very dilapidated and this time we dealt with difficulties at check in, broken door handles and such in the room upon arrival, and rowdy other guests on site. Due to the fact that we had booked through Expedia, there was a huge hassle at check-in as they attempted to charge me the $15 parking fee on my personal credit card. Check in took at least 15-20 minutes as they tried numerous times to process the fee. Upon arriving the room the bathroom door handle was barely hanging on and the security chain on the main door had been completely cut. The staff was responsive to repairing the bathroom door handle and they did respond to our complaint of someone yelling non-stop for about an hour in the upper outdoor hallway. Overall, the location of this hotel and the low price is why we stay and why we returned. However, I think next time we'll likely spend a bit more money and try another hotel. It's just a shame, with such a good location, that they don't do some location improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, nice pool, good restaurant, overlooking the marina, spacious. I like the small Old Florida type hotels . Great price, Very friendly.
Cons: Could use some updating.
Location: Close to beach and water taxi stop.
Nice "Old Florida" style hotel. Very nice and helpful staff. Great location right by. The water taxi stop. Good restaurant overlooking the marina. Very reasonable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Dirty rooms, needs complete remodel.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Restaurant. Nothing else.
Cons: Everything
Location: Not much except beach.
Terrible. No cable (only three analogue Chanel's), no phone, carpets filthy, no internet in our section of hotel, no parking without fee. Restaurant good. Would never stay again. Need new beds, very uncomfortable, chipped paint throughout whole room. NO shuttle to pier or airport. Looked nothing like brochure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not recommended now

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: A good bed to sleep and a good restaurant. That's all
Cons: Everything has to improve. The best suggestion demolish and rebuild completely For the same price, I would get 4 and 5 stars hotel in Quebec
Location: The location is very good and a few things to do around. Not many things to do in Fort Lauderdale.
We were shocked how old the whole hotel is. We were unhappy to see badly done repairs, badly don painting, No good cable T.V. Looks like it was built in the 1950s and was never remodeled. Plus very bad repairs an maintenance. I don't understand Expedia to make business whit this hotel. And i is very expensive for what you get.