Ratings based on 2,438 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Very safe and easy access to the beach.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Hotel parking lot/entrance is very chaotic. Not safe to walk from outside wing to main building unless they use the 2nd floor walk way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not enter!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel smells and has not been updated- contrary to what the photos look like. They gave us the wrong room twice, the remote did not work, the linens are not changed each day and the keys do no always work in and out of the building. The pool patio has not been updated since 1975 as seen by the stains on the pool pillows. Not worth it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The room was nice.
Cons: Reduce the noise level please. If your going to close the pool, axe the price to rent a lawn chair at the beach.
Location: Water taxi is close by. Life Guard at the beach.
I stayed at the Bahia Mar from April 2 to the 6th, 2017 inclusive. The first evening I enjoyed the pool and a walk to Los Olas Blvd. April 3-6 the pool was closed. Lawn Maintenance underway and construction of multiple tents and buildings at the beach access for the Tartuga Festival. My final day of the 6th the pool and the beach access were closed. I spent 4 of the 5 days being shuttled to a sister hotel to use their pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Perfect for nice place to stay

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very nice, close to the beach and even has a walkway over the road. Nice pool area with pleasant staff. Also close walk too food and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

pictures are deceiving

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: the staff was very kind and understanding
Cons: the cleanliness of the hotel!
Location: beaches, restaurants
we went there anticipating it was "close" to the beach. well, it is however you must cross 2 major roads (even though they have a bridge) and it isn't as close as we expected. Also, we had a young daughter and the cleanliness of the hotel was horrible. Granted it was the week after spring break but GROSS! There were chunks of what looked like dried vomit in the elevators and huge stains in the carpet that they attempted to clean but were unsuccessful. The windows in the room had gunk on them inside and out and it seemed like they were never cleaned. We were SO disappointed we dropped our luggage in the room and walked straight to the Marriott to see if they had rooms available for us. we checked out within 2 hours of getting there. On a positive note, the staff was SO nice about it. we even got a call after we left apologizing. The workers and staff were so kind and understanding but I couldn't sleep there even without a child and my large bottle of Lysol
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Perfect location to the beach and restaurants

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Location, Rooftop pool, Proximity to Fort Lauderdale airport (about 15 minutes), Pool bar
Cons: Original reservations made should have been accommodated.
Location: Beach, Everglades about 30 minute drive away for alligator tours, Coconuts restaurant (my favorite!), Elbo room (fun bar!), lots of iced cream!
Bahia Mar was great in terms of location. There was a rooftop pool with a bar where we spent the majority of our time.. with pretty good food to snack on. Convenient bridge to get right over to the beach which is across the street from the hotel. Walking distance to a ton of bars/restaurants/and shopping. We did not get the original ocean view room that I had booked months ago, and ended up with a view of the parking lot. Room was decent...at best. I was disappointed that we got put into a completely different building than I had reserved, as our room was unavailable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: People, cleanliness, and where it was situated.
Location: Many types of entertainment on the canals or the ocean.
Very nice experience. Easy to get to town and entertainment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

DONT GO TO THIS HOTLE

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: the location is great. It really easy to get to the beach and not too far from restaurants.
The hotel staff is not good. (I would use different words but im not allowed to). They constantly harassed guests and forced guests to pay a 250 deposit unannounced at the beginning of our stay. DO NOT GO HERE.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Mar 16, 2017
staff and managers should learn how to respect people of all ages. although i understand it was spring break and rooms were trashed, they did not accommodate their guests properly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from athens, OH

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Nice place. Terrible staff. Very unfriendly front desk workers. They made the place worse than it is