Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ft lauderdale fl

So disappointed

Posted May 31, 2017
My girlfriend asked that we stay there because there is a kitchenette and this would allow us to save money and spend more time with my husband. Once we got there the room was completely filled with cigarette smoke. Unavoidable. So they moved us to another room. We proceed to go grocery shopping. Once we get back and attempt to cook, the stove doesn't even work. There's now only a microwave. They take over an hour to have someone check things out. Only to be told nothing could be done until Monday which means now we are forced to pay to go out to eat. Monday comes. I haven't received a phone call yet as my husband and I are in the privacy of our room unclothed, the maintenance guy knocks once before I could even answer he is walking in. In a panic I yell at him to get out. My husband chases after him as he tries to use his later key to slip into a room across the hall. This was a complete violation of our privacy. After a message was left for the manager I now a day later call back. The manager immediately says well I just got here after not being there or able to be contacted since the incident occurred. No empathy whatsoever. He starts reading the notes and says his worked did try to enter but the inside lock was on. I'm explaining to him that was not the case. And instead of even apologizing he just becomes argumentative and says that he will need to speak with his worker again to confirm the facts. I was completely floored. There was no resolution.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Surprises

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: I was asked at check in whether I'd like to have a room on an upper floor. That was nice! It makes the visitor feel respected and honored.
Cons: There could, and should, be a bell of some sort that alerts staff or hotel management that someone is at the front desk.
Location: There were many stores and restaurants nearby, and the man checking me into the hotel was very eager to tell me about these places.
My stay at Candlewood Suites in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in late April 2017 was as expected. It is important to mention that one expects common courtesy no matter what one pays for the stay! In this I was not disappointed. However, I do have one complaint: Often the front desk has no one immediately present attending it; one arrives to a vacant corridor and reception desk. It is customary in such circumstances to look for a bell of some sort, which summons someone nearby the to desk to help you. But I looked around and found no buzzer or bell. I stand there wondering if somebody is going to show up in a few minutes. And I am one of those people who finds it quasi-classless to shout out for an unknown somebody (aside from emergencies). I also believe in being understanding and patient, so I do not shout out something like, "Hello. Is anybody there?" This may be routine at one-and-a-half-star hotels and motels, but I do not stay at such places. If the management wants to leave the front dest unattended - even with the clerk just around a corner - there needs to be a bell alert of some kind. As I've stated, there wasn't. For this reason, I would not recommend the hotel. Such a circumstance leads the guest to infer that he/she is a bother, an interruption, a distraction, etc. Unwise for any hotel hoping to compete in a highly competitive hospitality market!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Average hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Close to airport.
Cons: Housekeeping was sloppy. I checked into a room with trash in the bin, en empty toilet tissue roll was on the vanity and tissue was in the toilet.
Location: Near airport, small shopping plaza and eateries.
Short trip. Hotel was average. Full sized fridge. Other kitchen amenities were nice.
3 out of 5
by Laurel

Clean & Comfy, Not as Convenient as Advertised

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here the night before our cruise left. We waited a very long time for the free airport shuttle to pick us up, and when we got there check-in took a while and was in a cramped entryway. We were very hungry, but there was no food nearby. They did sell snacks and offered us flyers for pizza delivery. The room was comfortable and clean. Though the Hotels.com listing said there was also a free shuttle to the cruise ship, we were told that was not true and we ended up having to pay for a cab. Since free transportation was one of the reasons we had chosen this hotel among the many other local hotels, the value was less than originally thought. But overall it was a decent hotel and we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This will work for a night.

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
We got to the hotel at 11:30pm. Never having been to Ft. Lauderdale, I called the hotel to ask about shuttle service. Jose answered and told me exactly what I needed to know. Check-in was fine. The room was spacious and clean. My only complaint, the smoke detector didn't have batteries. Check-out went as well as check-in. We had prearranged transportation to the cruise ship, through the hotel with All Star Transportation. We waited an hour an 10 minutes for the shuttle. Totally acceptable. It was a little expensive, but you pay for location and convenience.
5 out of 5
by Veronica

Van pick up

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The only slight problem was waiting for the van to be picked up from the airport to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Darlene

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very conveniently located for a one night stay between flights. We were able to walk to nearby restaurant and drug store. Bed was super comfortable. The lobby area and other public spaces not great but the room was very good. I wished they had a breakfast program.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Basic and clean

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Cleaniness
Reception staff was friendly. Room was basic and clean. Good for one night pre cruise. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Towels were clean. They have bottled water and snacks for sale at reasonable prices. Shuttle driver was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

Nice location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Easy access
Cons: no suggestion
Location: A mini shopping center, food, clothing, eating places, gas station
Needed a place not too far from the airport and close to a lot of facilities and a good price range. This would be a great place for families or for someone that needs to stay a longer time.