Ratings based on 2,636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Could not check inn when we arrived at 6 pm to 930pm clogged up tolite had to be cleared out of room due to fire alarm i think we need a refund it sucked
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are sorry to hear the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.Such late for a check-in is not a common concern. Please except our sincere apology for this and be advised that we have forward this review to our management team for improvements. Thank you for your time and we hope to have a second chance to welcome you back in t he future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping staff needs training

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The hotel is nice the front desk staff very nice very courteous, but the housekeeping staff... nobody introduced themselves. You should at least have a tent card with the name of the cabin steward. The shower curtain was dirty. The rest was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are pleased to hear that our front desk staff were friendly and courteous. Your feedback is very important to us and please be advised that we have forward your comments on our housekeeping staff to our management team for improvements. We thank you again for your time and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Worth experience ever..

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Housekeeper stolen my watch... very bad management team and staff not caring....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, We thank you for your time in sharing your concerns with us. First off, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had with our management team and staff. Your message has been forwarded to our Executive management for reviewing and to look further into your concern. We thank you again for your time and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Concierge was awesome and very helpful. Very knowledgeable about property and surrounding area and activities. One lady at front desk sad rude but all and all a great experience and time spent at Crowne Plaza
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. It's great to hear how our concierge was attentive and helpful with your needs. Customer service is our priory and we apologize for any inconveniences you may have had with our front desk staff. We have forward your concern to our management to for improvements. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you back for another great experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close - but not actually - on the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We got to the hotel a few hours ahead of check in time and were advised that no rooms were ready yet but that they would call us when one does become available. The concierge took our bags though and we went exploring for a few hours until the call came - still two hours before the actual check in time. We had ordered an ocean view king room with wrap balcony and were advised that although we still were paying for the ocean view rate that we would be given a corner room facing the pool and intercoastal instead. Note: NO rooms in hotel are directly on the ocean as advertised - there is another hotel (The Hyde) which is situated between this hotel and the actual ocean. However, despite that, facing the intercoastal and the pool was still a nice view, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. There is no tub so cannot soak, but the walk-in shower had good water pressure and stayed hot. The balcony was not a wraparound per say but two separate balconies off the room - still nice though. And the pool is just gorgeous. We added the breakfast to our bill and was pleasantly surprised at the selection - it was indeed a hot full breakfast and not the standard cereal-in-a-bowl to-go deal. I would stay in this hotel again but would pay only for the intercoastal view, corner room - breakfast included - rate. The beach/pool towels are a nice touch, and the Chocolate cake in the bistro is to die for :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley, We thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review. It's great hearing how your stay was enjoyable and that you took advantage of our fantastic amenities like the pool area. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with the room type. When booking a Corner rooms, the view is not a guarantee but it was great knowing that you still enjoyed the gorgeous pool view. We thank you for your time and can't wait to welcome you back so you can enjoy some more chocolate cake!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Hard to get a hold of front desk if calling from room, never answered the phone,tried at different times
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your concern with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Customer service is our number one priority and please be advised that we have forward this message to our management time to avoid become a recurring issue and assure we answer the phones in a timely matter. We thank you again for your time and hope to welcome you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel. Clean and friendly.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Loved the atmosphere as soon as we walked into the lobby/ Everyone was friendly and helpful. Pool is AMAZING! We had a waitress bringing us food and drinks poolside- Excellent time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review. We are pleased to hear how great of an experience you had during your stay from our friendly staff to enjoy our beautiful pool area. Thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back on your next Hollywood vacation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Staff were very strict with check in and out. We had to wait until 4 pm for the room and they didn't bother to see if we could do a check in earlier. Check out was also very strict. I suggest spg where you can do a later check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Jorge, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear you were unable to get an early check-in. Unfortunately we cannot control an early check-in due to that check-out begins at 11. If we were to have rooms available early, it would be our pleasure to assist our guest with early check-in. We thank you again for your time and hope to welcome you back in the near future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Not a bad place did not appreciate having to pay $25 a day to park
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing this review with us. Your feedback is very important to us and although we are sorry to hear the parking fee was a burden but due to limited availability in space, there is a fee for parking in our area. Thank you again for your time and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stuart, United States of America

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Nice size room with a balcony.
Cons: Provide a side entrance for self parking, you have to walk around to the front of the hotel to enter: you shouldn`t have to do this for $23.00 a night
Location: Not much to do within walking distance
Not a bad hotel, not a great hotel. Cable channels are limited. Free breakfast would be nice for the price. Not happy with the parking. Coffee maker in the room did not work. Other hotel chains offer more for the same money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Erika L, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, We thank you for your time in sharing your recent experience with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and balcony. Your feedback is very important to us and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. Our parking fees are competitive in the market due to limited space in the area, there is a parking fee. We thank you once again for your time and we hope to welcome you back in the future.