Ratings based on 2,218 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Great hotel with lots to do. Family friendly and good location. Food and drinks are a bit expensive but atmosphere is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Hollywood Beach, Fl.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice hotel on the beach. A little over priced. I booked the room through expedia and was told I would get a 50 dollar credit. However, parking was 30 dollars and additional taxes and fees were 30 dollars, on top on the 287 I paid for one night. This did not include the 26 dollars for the resort fee. The room was nice and they hotel had alot of amenities like a nice gym, 2 pools, basketball court, table tennis, bar, and resturants in the hotel. If you choose this hotel I reccomend staying more than one night so you can use the ammeneties. I did not get to use the ammeneties only staying one night and left feeling like I paid for nothing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Don't expect an oceanview in your oceanfront room

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The breakfast is about a ten. Amazing. Unfortunately for "Bed and Breakfast" you receive a $15 credit on the $38 buffet. It must be a hotel joke.
As a Hilton Honors gold member I expected more from this hotel but received considerably less. If you're planning to travel the first six months of 2017, your oceanview will be one of two-by-fours and scaffolding. We were given no indication that the hotel is under extensive exterior renovation effecting almost every oceanview room. The pool is crowded with plastic tarps and construction worker eating lunch. Perhaps as a result, the front desk personnel are less than hospitable and often short tempered with guests. Expect to wait in line 30 minutes to speak to anyone at the front desk if you arrive between the hours of 11 AM and 7PM. Don't get me wrong there were moments when you actually felt like a guest - thanks to both concierges. One note: don't be fooled by the "happy hour" at Diplomat Landing Marina unless you like standing at a bar while the bartender assures you he'll be right with you and proceeds to wash about 6-8 glasses while his coworker chats with a guest and furtively glances disdainfully at you. Eventhough the bar was only about 30 percent full at the time we left after 20 minutes of non-service and did not return. Overall, it is unlikely that this is a hotel you would return to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent room and service

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Excellent amenties room location Room was very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowmanville, Ontario

Beautiful hotel Close to the beach

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We stayed here on February 4, 2017 the hotel had some minor construction projects in process. But we never felt that we were put out in any way. The location is perfect. The beach is beautiful. Front staff Was very helpful. They texted me with all of the relevant information we needed to have an amazing stay. We kept in touch via text and all of our needs were taken care of promptly. On site restaurants were very good Would highly recommend this property!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruined vacation

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Under construction. Ongoing noise throughout the day beginning at 9 am Great if you enjoy the sound of drills and the view of ropes/ scaffolding outside your window
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Constant construction and loud music during evenin

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The location is amazing, however, the hotel was under construction all week long even on MLK holiday (no announcements online). During the evening hours laud music was playing around the pool area not allowing guest with small children to socialize because it was simply too laud. There was an event everyday from 6-9pm with no heads up or any guidance. Beach area had limited chairs and you had to get there very early to get a spot. Strange rules regarding placement of beach chairs. We had an instance were the stuff wouldn't setup our beach chairs simply because we would obstruct view for other visitors who were in the middle of the beach area. We found that very strange. No clear guidance as to the rules either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Some issues were found

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Ac broken in the suite on top of the roof. Had to move with a toddler. Not great. Ac was nearly broken in the second suute we moved. Staff was not really accomodating.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Beautiful Hotel...Terrible Service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel with a great bar by the ocean. The rooms were nicely laid out along with a great shower.
Cons: The service must be better when you charge this amount of money. To not clean your room for 2 nights out of 5 is not acceptable.
Location: The location is superb. So close to the beach and a wonderful boardwalk.
We stayed at the Diplomat for 5 nights. The reservation was for an oceanfront room but when we arrived the staff was not honest and said that there was work being done on those rooms. We were then given a room that faced another hotel. The room was very dirty with urine on the toilet seat. Staff came to clean the room after 2 requests. When we woke up in the morning, out we went to the beach and there was no scaffolding as we were told on the oceanfront rooms. Yes work was being done but not there. Back we went and were moved to a room that faced the main street with a balcony. Much nicer but not what we wanted. The room was also not cleaned for 2 of the 5 nights we stayed and towels and toilet paper were hard to come by. The hotel did discount our rate which we certainly appreciated but we would have preferred an oceanfront room when you go to Florida as infrequently as we do. Two things to be aware of...$26.00 to park each day and a $26.00 resort fee on top of your daily rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We love the Diplomat always stay there. The hotel is doing renovations and part of the pool area was under construction, not the biggest deal. we had a renovated room which was nice except there was no dressers to unpack so we basically lived out of our suitcase. hotel needs more restaurants. Still love this place!!!! Staff couldn't be nicer. Hotel is beautiful and clean. Great location on the beach.