Ratings based on 2,180 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowmanville, Ontario

Beautiful hotel Close to the beach

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We stayed here on February 4, 2017 the hotel had some minor construction projects in process. But we never felt that we were put out in any way. The location is perfect. The beach is beautiful. Front staff Was very helpful. They texted me with all of the relevant information we needed to have an amazing stay. We kept in touch via text and all of our needs were taken care of promptly. On site restaurants were very good Would highly recommend this property!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruined vacation

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Under construction. Ongoing noise throughout the day beginning at 9 am Great if you enjoy the sound of drills and the view of ropes/ scaffolding outside your window
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Constant construction and loud music during evenin

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The location is amazing, however, the hotel was under construction all week long even on MLK holiday (no announcements online). During the evening hours laud music was playing around the pool area not allowing guest with small children to socialize because it was simply too laud. There was an event everyday from 6-9pm with no heads up or any guidance. Beach area had limited chairs and you had to get there very early to get a spot. Strange rules regarding placement of beach chairs. We had an instance were the stuff wouldn't setup our beach chairs simply because we would obstruct view for other visitors who were in the middle of the beach area. We found that very strange. No clear guidance as to the rules either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Some issues were found

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Ac broken in the suite on top of the roof. Had to move with a toddler. Not great. Ac was nearly broken in the second suute we moved. Staff was not really accomodating.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Beautiful Hotel...Terrible Service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel with a great bar by the ocean. The rooms were nicely laid out along with a great shower.
Cons: The service must be better when you charge this amount of money. To not clean your room for 2 nights out of 5 is not acceptable.
Location: The location is superb. So close to the beach and a wonderful boardwalk.
We stayed at the Diplomat for 5 nights. The reservation was for an oceanfront room but when we arrived the staff was not honest and said that there was work being done on those rooms. We were then given a room that faced another hotel. The room was very dirty with urine on the toilet seat. Staff came to clean the room after 2 requests. When we woke up in the morning, out we went to the beach and there was no scaffolding as we were told on the oceanfront rooms. Yes work was being done but not there. Back we went and were moved to a room that faced the main street with a balcony. Much nicer but not what we wanted. The room was also not cleaned for 2 of the 5 nights we stayed and towels and toilet paper were hard to come by. The hotel did discount our rate which we certainly appreciated but we would have preferred an oceanfront room when you go to Florida as infrequently as we do. Two things to be aware of...$26.00 to park each day and a $26.00 resort fee on top of your daily rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We love the Diplomat always stay there. The hotel is doing renovations and part of the pool area was under construction, not the biggest deal. we had a renovated room which was nice except there was no dressers to unpack so we basically lived out of our suitcase. hotel needs more restaurants. Still love this place!!!! Staff couldn't be nicer. Hotel is beautiful and clean. Great location on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The hotel was nice, but we were there during construction and the Orange Bowl so things were extremely hectic. I would try staying again, hopefully next time things will be more calm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Amazing hotel and very attentive staff. Great breakfasts- the omelets are awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, New Jersey

Great beachfront hotel in Hollywood, Florida!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We loved our stay at the Diplomat! Prime was wonderful, staff at Splash great and Ford at the Spa is amazing. Only downside: minor construction noise at pool. Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel was very clean staff was helpful and friendly