Ratings based on 1,958 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ny

Renovation with no advise

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Lobby is under renovation , this information is not in anywhere so when you arrive you have no idea where to go, staff friendly , condition of room good, but the smell of freah paitn gave me nausea all night , balcony with no furniture. To eat you have to cross the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

usually happy but not this time

Posted Aug 16, 2016
We normally stay at this Coteau and we usually love the diplomat however upon checking in we find out that the hotel is under major renovations which we were not told about before checking in is pretty huge damper on our vacation the front desk was not helpful in fact they didn't seem to mind that they didn't tell the customers that the hotel were under renovations . We have stayed at the diplomat for five times but this time was very disappointing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Hotel is under construction until the fall of 2016, so it was not as nice as the pictures look because a lot of things are closed or off limits. We had a great view but couldn't access our balcony because of the construction. Other than that everything was good, clean and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

I'll be back

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The hotel is right on the beach. The rooms were very nice and renovated (new). Customer service was the best, hands down.
Cons: It was a good stay. I'll probably stay at this hotel again.
Location: There are some nice restaurants near by. We used Uber several times.
My wife and I were in need of a very relaxing vacation and after reading the reviews The Diplomat hotel sounded like the best place to stay in the area. The Diplomat customer service was the best. There were a couple hiccups during our stay but overall things were really good. Cons first: The Diplomat is currently under renovation and it wasn't mentioned when we booked our hotel. After the first night sleep my wife and I woke up to construction sounds, and we were pretty upset about it. My wife and I work very hard and get up pretty early when we're working, so we don't expect to wake up at the crack of Dawn while on vacation. We called customer service right away. They moved us to a better room with a better view of the ocean. Also, the pillows on the bed weren't the best, so next time I will bring my own pillow or two from home. Lastly, the food in the hotel is a little expensive. Pro's: The hotel is right on the beach. The water pressure in the shower was good. The rooms were very nice and renovated (new). Customer service was the best, hands down. The food in the hotel was pretty good. They have 3 pools that were really nice. If you get the right room, you have the perfect view of the beach and the ocean. Family Friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hialeah Gardens, Fl

Beautiful hotel in the beach under renovation

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel is under renovation. Our room was not ready until 6:00 pm although check in said to be at 4:00pm. We did not get any upgrades for our room to be late. The front desk is very slow. The infinity pool is too much noise due to the construction. We were in the north tower and it was confusing to get to our room because the lobby is close. Again, not much help from staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Nice hotel and environment.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I enjoyed my vacation in really nice hotel. Few stuff need to be changed: aditude of most security people and beach chairs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

no me avisaron q el hotel esta en obras y restaura

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Me dieron buen precio pero no avisaron q el hotel esta en obras y reparacion
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel but somewhat disorganized.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I was a guest here a few years ago when the name of the hotel/resort slightly differed, however, my experience this time was nothing similar. I was disappointed and do not plan on returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The hotel was under construction and the balcony of my room was closed down. I had to ask to someone clean my room and not cleaned well. Overrall the hotel was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Aug 8, 2016
If you are going to the Diplomat, wait until all the restoration finished