Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Hotel condition is good, the room could use a bit more attention to housekeeping and a bit of a renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Last Minute booking

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Large guest rooms
Cons: Check in(you gotta have someone that has a clue), Monitoring the party guys that are disturbing others sleep
Location: Good location---near gay beach
So I book this resort through Expedia since I had one day left after a cruise to be in Ft Lauderdale. I got tot the hotel earlier than check in time and the young guy at the desk said he would try to get my room ready as early as possible. He said they had around 18 properties total. He told me to walk next door to the restaurant/bar and that he would come back within the hour to get e. He never showed. After purchasing a few cocktails the staff said The youngster at the front was clueless. So I finally get checked in and brought a credit card back to the restaurant to pay them. Nerer got any kind of info about the property fro the check in so I kind of had to figure things about by myself. I tried to go to bed probably around midnight and there were guys screaming and partying all through the night. The office is closed at night so there is no where to report disturbances. The free WIFI signal was too weak to work, So when I chceck I told a guy that was a new person at the desk about all of the confusion and he really couldn't be bothered. He just wanted me out of the room in time for it to be cleaned for another guest. The room itself was quite large with kitchenette etc. I just did not feel very valued as a guest there but there are other places--
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, United States of America

A Good Location!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location
I want to be kind to this hotel. Its in a good location, near the beach. The pools and hot tub were nice. Its an OLD facility, so, be prepared for 1970's esthetics! But, everything worked and it was clean and nicely located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL, USA

The entire property really needs to be renovated.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: They do have 2 pools and a very large hot tub, and lots of areas to get some sun. My room had a good sized fridge and microwave. If you are on a budget they are less than other gay resorts in the area.
Cons: The bathrooms have not been touched since the 60's. I was aware they no longer served breakfast. However, to offer coffee and then say you ran out is pretty bad.
Location: Great location near the beaches/ gay beach is within walking distance. A rental car is really not needed. UBER to Wilton Manors for $6-8. Taxi $23 pl
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Elysium is a nice, affordable place to stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Affordable rates and close to the beach.
Cons: Continental breakfast and snack foods or vending machines.
Location: It's about 5 minute walk from beach surrounded by other resorts. The street along the beach has many bars, restaurants and stores.
I had my doubts about Elysium before I arrived based on prior bad reviews. But the staff were very friendly and made sure I had a wonderful stay. The room was big, clean and air cooled with plenty of towels. The pool area was clean and had lounge chairs available. The one thing I wish Elysium had was snack food available in the office or vending machines in a nearby area. Most hotels provide basic food like bottled water, soda, chips, cookies, etc. Overall, I recommend Elysium as an affordable place to stay in Fort Lauderdale that is close to the beach. I look forward to going back there soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Not the best place to stay...

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Walking distance to a beauty clean beach opposed to the nasty room.
Cons: Reds to be cleaned and kept better. I seen a room of a guest by the pool and it was way nicer than mine and he was even provided 2 beach towels daily.
Location: Close to the beach and other gay resorts. Was invited to the worthington by a guest and it was way nicer, cleaner and had a gym and other amenities.
I was looking for a great escape stayed 8 days spent almost a grand. Upon checking in I had to wait outside the resort over 5 mins in front of the gate in the heat. Was not easy to find unless you know where it is. Room was disgusting. Bathroom and bed smelled of urine. Floors were filthy and tiled with food crumbs. Tub and toilet were horid. Toilet had dried urine all over it, bowl had looked to have never been scrubbed. Only like 8 tv channels and the ones that came in were all news or shopping channels. Ice container had mold in it no bags for it. Trash was still in the bins from the last people. Counters were gross and sticky. Was only supplied soaps on my first day there. I should not have to ask for more they should be replaced when used. No curtains just blinds that at night if the lights are on you can see in. The whole place could use a could cleaning. Last 2 days the hot tub jets stopped working.
4 out of 5
by michael from los Angeles

Still Nice, but changing

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
It's a nice older place, going through changes in the neighborhood. I would stay again, but it's not the pristine place it used to be. Guests are respectful and there is as much "energy" as you want to respectfully create. I think the hotel is moving away from it's gay roots and the new owners will make the switch soon. I hope to get a chance to visit again before the change.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dwain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to the beach, cafes and restaurants
Friendly staff but the place is quite run down. In saying that it's priced accordingly and let's face it, a comfy bed and good aircon is all that's really required.