Ratings based on 632 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MARYLAND

Unsafe, dirty, and just completely misleading.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: the Fire alarm went off 5-6 times during our stay. We evacuated twice, after that we would attempt to call front desk to check, no answer!!
Upon my arrival we received keys to our room. We walked into the room in complete and udder shock. The room was completely filthy strong odder of smoke. Dust all stuck to the ceiling, that when the fan was turned on blew all over the room. Dirt in the bed once we pulled back covers. Appliances were rusted. I'm normally not one to complain but I went back down to the front desk. My one positive statement about this place was the one desk associate was completely understanding and helped our stay tremendously. The desk associate gave me three sets of keys to three different rooms. All of which were better but not good. We did end up with a nice ocean front room, that was decently cleaned. The bathroom drains did not drain, toilet didn't flush right. Made hotel aware was never fixed. AC wouldn't cool, the room was a comfortable temperature to me but my boyfriend preferred it to be colder.During our stay, our room was cleaned most days but never left with the adequate number of towels and washcloths. We always had to go to the front desk to receive them. Next, our stay was during july and there wasn't any ice machine in the whole building.The outside bar they picture on the website, was not open and appeared to be boarded up. Pool was dirty, poolside umbrellas were almost all busted.My main complain above all else was the fire alarms went off 5-6 times during our stay. The first two times we did evacuate and is very difficult. The hotel just stated it was false alarm every time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, Our team values feedback and we thank you for sharing your review! We were terribly sorry to hear that the first room you saw did not meet our high standards, and we appreciate your patience and willingness to look at other rooms until you found one where you were comfortable. We also appreciate your added feedback about the room that will enable us to improve for our future guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disruption you experienced due to the fire alarm. We recently had a fire sprinkler repaired, during which time the alarm was triggered by an independent licensed repair company beyond our control. I’m happy to report that the situation has now been resolved and hope that the inconvenience did not prevent you from enjoying some time on the beach and boardwalk. Should you return to the area, please consider staying with us again so that we may have a second chance to make a positive impression. All the best, Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Logan WV

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Easy access to the pool, beach and bars
Cons: The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort should be leveled and something nice built in its place.
Location: There are a few bar/restaurants within an easy walk from the hotel. The beach and pool access are also very convenient.
The Historic Hollywood Beach resort… Where to begin? First of all the place looks like the hotel from the movie “The Shining”. When we arrived at the hotel we were given our room keys and sent to the 7th floor to a room that was already occupied by another couple. After fumbling around with the key I opened the door to find two naked people laying the bed. After I gave my apologies we returned to the desk for another room assignment. I had booked the “Run Of The House” room as it was supposed to be a bigger nicer room. But we instead ended up in a crappy little room with a portable AC unit that had a hose stuck out the window. There was sand on the floor. A half of a travel sized bar of soap stuck on the wall of the shower and a used band aid in the bed. It was funky to say the least. The elevators creaked and popped and seemed like they needed repair. The first floor is dotted with a number of closed store fronts that speak to a much better day when this hotel was no doubt a hopping place but no longer. A large section of the hotel is no longer in use but isn’t blocked or barricaded off from the public. And I know how this sounds but I'm fairly certain we saw a ghost when we explored this area of the building. The beach access is great though. You walk out the back door and within a few steps you’re at the pool and a few more on the beach. Several bar/restaurants are within an easy walk so this hotel is not without its charm. But all in all I would warn you not to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by HHBR, Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you for sharing your comments. There is no excuse for your arrival or housekeeping experience you have described and we apologize for these oversights. This is certainly not reflective of our standards and we hope you can accept our apologies. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would love the opportunity to welcome you again so that we can provide you with an experience that is reflective of the service and hospitality we strive to deliver each day. Warm Regards, Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel that was right on the beach.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Right on the beach. Had all of the basics. Bike rental shop downstairs! Very convenient location.
Cons: The stove/oven did not work in our room. It would have saved us some money if we could have used all of the kitchen features.
Location: Right on the beach of Hollywood. Boardwalk is right outside with great restaurants and bars. Two state parks are also close by, and fishing charters
Overall, it was a good experience. I was pleased to be so close to the beach and restaurants. I would recommend for those who are not renting a car while staying there. Maintenance updates to hotel rooms should be completed on a regular basis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by HHBR, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie, A bike ride along the boardwalk is a great way to spend an afternoon and we’re thrilled you were able to do so. We appreciate your feedback and invite you to make yourself at home with us again soon. Warm Regards, Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach.....has some old world charm

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Based on the reviews I was a little worried about the rooms. I was surprised at how updated my room was. Directly on the beach. Most definitely a steal for the money I paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by HHBR, Hotel Management
Thanks Kimberly! We’re thrilled you enjoyed yourself and that we left you impressed. Please plan a return visit soon. Yours in Hospitality, Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Room and Staff
Cons: Lobby needs improvement.
Location: Music on the beach, just a little way down. Nice places to eat everywhere in walking distance.
The staff was wonderful, eager to please. My room was perfect and clean. Yes, the hotel itself is old, but it has character.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by HHBR, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your kind words regarding our team, as it’s our staff who make our hotel stand apart from others. We also appreciate you highlighting the efforts of our Housekeepers who often go unseen, but their attention to detail is so important. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we thank you again for your review. Please come see us again soon. Warm Regards, Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little run down. But it was nice.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Not what I expected. But it was ok. Spend a lot of time bu the pool and the beaches
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by HHBR, Hotel Management
Dear Sylvia, Nothing is better than time at the pool and we’re thrilled you enjoyed yourself there. We thank you for sharing your review and invite you to join us again. Sunny Regards, Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not friendly, room dirty, no air conditiong

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Terrible. Bad service. Dirty room. No air conditioning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
Overall, bad, Bad smell, No working A/C, but excellent location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Disgusting

Posted May 9, 2016
Our room smelled of natural gas so we were unable to use the kitchenette. We stayed for 7 days and I sincerely wish I could have gotten my money back and paid 10 times more for a room that was just a bit nicer. There were cobwebs and dust on the ceiling, vents, and lights. The bathroom flooded and we were advised to just put towels down. The light in the bathroom had a short so it didn't work. The entire room smelled of mold. Inside the closet, there was visible mold. The carpet was old and dirty. We requested that they come clean it... they came in with a broom and swept the carpet rather than vacuuming. We had to beg to have the maid service come and when they did arrive the only thing they did was change the trash. One of the maids yelled at my grandmother for placing the trashcan outside the room. During our stay the elevators broke 11 times. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Nice beach location. It's a much older hotel

Posted May 6, 2016
Right on the beach. Pool and gym were decent. Service below average. Parking is separate daily fee. $22 daily