Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

No lo recomiendo.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
No me gusto pasillos con alfombras muy sucias.Salida a la piscina muy fea ,peligrosa o sucias no sé qué más ponerle.El personal muy amable y profesional .La habitación muy limpia pero en general todo el olor no es el mejor en todo el hotel.😉
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Cuba, Our team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing yours. While we’re thrilled that you found your room to be clean and comfortable, we’re terribly sorry to hear that our hallways and the exit leading to the pool fell short of your expectations. We have made note of your comments to be discussed at our next team meeting. We pride ourselves on offering sincere hospitality and we’re delighted to see that you enjoyed the hospitality and professionalism of our team. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll consider returning so that we may have another opportunity to impress you. Warm regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: a/c window unit
Location: good location
good stay,like the brosure say historic hotel ,the lobby seems very old and and dark looking ,plus on threboardwalk
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you on your recent trip to Hollywood Beach and we thank you for sharing your feedback! We’re thrilled to see that you liked our location, right on the ocean and boardwalk. We hope you got to enjoy some sand and sun on the beach! We also appreciate your added comments, as we’re always working to improve the experience of our guests. We hope you’ll stay with us again and be pleasantly surprised! All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't even sleep there

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Took 20 minutes to got to our hotel room because only one elevator is working in the hotel. Finally got to our room it and It had a terrible smell. Then in the room where the bed was the air wasn't working so they had a window air conditioning system, never seen that. Over all I didn't like the hotel and didn't stay there it was gross
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback in the form of a review. We are terribly sorry to see that your stay overlapped with our recent elevator repairs and we hope you’ll accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. As you mentioned, some of our rooms have been furnished with portable AC units, and we have found that many of our guests appreciate having the added control over the temperature in their rooms. We regret that this was not the case for you and we thank you again for sharing your comments for our management team to review. All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Port, Florida

Less than ideal at best!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The ocean was accessible. That's it!
Cons: Entire new staff is needed. No housekeeping provided. They actually held a deposit and charged a resort fee after this could have been called
The elevators were down the entire stay of 3 days. The excuse each time we asked was they have been called. No apology for troubles. There was a service elevator being used by the entire hotel of hundreds of rooms. Housekeeping would tie up the elevators by holding them so that guests could not travel up and down. None of them could understand what you were asking them. The security guards slept all night. The room keys kept deactivating and when I would ask for the front desk to check them before climbing 5 flights of stairs the male at night ( older gentleman) was rude beyond belief. The only thing good about the stay was the fact that you could access the ocean. This hotel had the nerve to charge a resort fee when they should be discounting the guests for the horrible service and lack of amenities. If there had been an remote attempts at service recovery, it may have been worthy of a star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Clarkrrt, Your feedback is important to us and we thank you for sharing. We regret that your stay coincided with our unexpected elevator outage and extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused. While we pride ourselves on warm and friendly hospitality, based on your review this was not your impression. We’re terribly sorry that our team was unable improve the frustrating situation, and that your overall experience fell short of your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your comments so that we may address them with our team to ensure the situation is not repeated. We hope you were able to enjoy the beautiful beach while you were here. All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayo

Rude front desk

Posted Sep 11, 2016
09/09/2016 the women wprking the front desk that night has no people skills acts like she dose not like her job ....as im standing in line she was arguing really rude to other guest ...well as i made my way to the front desk to check in she got really hate full with me ...As i have beem havimg problem with house keeping not cleaning and the tolit led falling apart and the tub not draining or being cleaned ..so at about 9 pm get checked in i call up to the front desk at about 9:15 pm had to make many trys to get the front desk ...after the 5th try i get the Rude women tell her what has and been gping on all she cpuld say do what you have to hanges up on me ....i will never stay there or use you all again never ...i will let friends amd family know to let there friemds know too
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Country Boy, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly hospitality, based on your review, this was not the impression that we left with you. We appreciate the feedback and have spoken with those involved to ensure that other guests do not share your experience. We hope you were still able to enjoy your stay with us and take in some sun and sand on the beach! All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and location for the money

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Great location love the view not perfect needs some work especially working bathrooms for the lobby and the spa tub next to the pool stays hot but the jets don't work and only 2 bell carts for the luggage but u can't beat everything else for the price that is why I continue to stay here anywhere else you will pay double the money for the view and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you back on your recent trip to Hollywood and we thank you for sharing your positive review! It’s great to hear that you appreciated your view of the beautiful beach and saw the value in your stay. We do our best to provide a comfortable and affordable option for those in need of some sunshine and sand and we’re lucky to have guests like you who take advantage of it and enjoy! Come back and see us again soon! All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
This place is horrible. The entire second floor is abandoned. The bathroom tub had rust stains. The place was overall dirty. The carpet and the hall way smelled like mold as though the carpets were wet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We embrace guest feedback and thank you for sharing yours. Although we take pride in attention to detail as it relates to the cleanliness of our property, it appears that we overlooked some of those details in your experience. We offer our sincere apologies and hope that you were still able to enjoy our beautiful pool and beachfront location! Cordially yours The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to the beach thats about it.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Experience was horrible, the pictures shown on their website is very deceiving unless they do exist. The room we had was not clean properly after waiting for an early check in at 3pm instead of 4pm, the furniture looked like they were brought from a second hand store. There so much more to say, but not enough space. In overall, the hotel looked very much abandoned, poor management, no tiki bar, no activities, nothing appealing about the place. I would never recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Josie, Our hotel team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing. We’re sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations and our own high standards. Although many of our rooms vary in furnishings and style, those pictured on our website are real and not intended to be deceiving, and we’re sorry if you felt otherwise. We will review your comments with our leadership team in our next meeting as part of our ongoing effort to improve for our guests. Best regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
we booked double bed with ocean view the first room they gave us was a view of a building. we were then moved to a room with 1 bed and pull out with ocean view with 4 people. after 1 day we had to change rooms because the smell was horrible. it smelt like a sewage problem. the 3 room we got out in had no hot water in the bathroom. after 4 times of telling different people we just gave up and had to take cold showers. I would never stay at this hotel again. very horrible customer service. they acted like they didn't care!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We value guest feedback and appreciate you sharing a review. We are terribly sorry that we did not have a room available that met your bed-type and view preferences, and we really appreciate your flexibility in moving rooms. We also regret that we were unable to resolve the hot water issue in your room in time for your showers, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that it did not prevent you from enjoying some sun on the beach while you were here, and we thank you for sharing your feedback so that we can work to improve for our future guests. All the best, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Run-down moldy Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
This hotel is nothing like the images it shows on the website it's run down it smells really bad and I think they should actually update the pictures and show for what it really is
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Maggie, Our hotel team appreciates guest feedback and we thank you for taking the time to share a review. We regret that your initial impression of the property did not match your expectations, based on the photos you saw on our website. Although the design of individual rooms varies, the pictures online feature a selection of our rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for any confusion. We hope you’ll consider returning to the hotel so that we may have a second chance to impress you! Best regards, The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort