Ratings based on 1,711 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami ,fl

Creepy hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
This hotel was creepy and smelly it felt like I was in a t.v. show where some ghost lurking around . Then when i got to the room it was so small i walked right into the bed. I went to take a shower and the towels had a weird smell . I guess I got what I paid for cause the prices online were pretty cheap to be a hotel by the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

The hotel needs a lot of work. It's been neglected

Posted May 23, 2017
The hotel needs a lot of work. It's been neglected, but has the potential. The pics on ad might mis-lead the guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we appreciate your comments. While not a modern hotel, we strive to offer well-maintained accommodations and we’re sorry this was not your impression. We’ll review your feedback as a team and hope to improve for your next visit! Kind regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not too clean and need improvements.

Posted May 22, 2017
1. The front desk was on the 2nd floor in the far back of the hotel 2. The elevators had an awful smell and were stained. 3. The carpet in the hallways were dingy and dirty. 4. The bathroom was nasty- the floor was stained and needed to be swept and mopped; the shower was grimy and had water stains on the ceiling (see attached). 5. The room was cold at night and we couldn't turn off the AC. 6. There was no one monitoring the pool area so people had dogs sitting in the lounge chairs, children were jumping into the pool; and the hot tub had particles floating in it. 7. We were not told that we were being charged for the continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Lorna, Thank you for visiting our property and sharing your feedback. As you may know, there are multiple vacation management companies within our complex and guests sometimes assume they are our guests and post their reviews to this page. Based on some of the comments you have shared, we believe you may have been the guest of one of the other agencies and regret that we are unable to respond on their behalf. Whether you were our guest or the guest of another, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider a visit with us in the future. Best regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel needs revamping & you can see that they are working on it. Smells musty & old. Pool is not how it's pictured. There is a plastic wall around front not open to see ocean. Location was great. Had to pay to park. Arrears outside are littered with garbage. Needs cleaned up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your patience with some of the construction we have taking place around the property, and we’re glad this didn’t keep you from enjoying the beautiful beach just out back. We hope you’ll visit us again next year to see how we’ve changed! Kindly, Hollywood Beach Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Not the greatest...

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Modernize this place! This is in a great location and is laid out pretty well, and you have a MALL underneath your hotel. Tons of room for improvement
Location: Beach, boardwalk, good places to eat. Not much shopping or anything, though. No arcades, etc.
This hotel was not the greatest. My first impression was one broken elevator, someone stuck in an elevator as I was trying to go to my room (security was talking about this) and the elevator that was "working," was stuck for a few seconds while going up when I initially arrived. Every time I got on the elevators, made me nervous... The hotel itself doesn't look to have been modernized in at least 40 years. Still looks like something out of the 1970s. You can hear EVERYTHING in the hallways and rooms above and next to you, from in your room. From the front of the hotel on the boardwalk, there is an abandoned-looking organic produce stand, and an abandoned mall called Ocean Walk that is connected to the lobby.. This hotel is in a great area, and I really think if they found a good investor, they could get this place back on its feet again. If they did that, I'm sure they would have more customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, We were delighted to welcome you and appreciate you sharing your suggestions. While we’re admittedly not the most modern property, we agree that our location on Hollywood Beach is stunning and we’re always happy to hear from guests who see the potential in our hotel. We’re sorry to learn that we were having elevator issues during your stay and we appreciate your patience. We’d love to host you again on your next beach getaway! Kind regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne Wyoming

Historic don't expect more

Posted May 3, 2017
I think when people stay at this resort they are confused. The rooms are nice but the building is historic. There are things that don't work, empty halls, but the staff is great. I was grateful for my stay there because it gave me a resort feel, but not the $500 a night from my pocket. If you don't go in thinking you are staying at a resort like Margaritaville you'll be fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by g, Hotel Management
Dear Mickey, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we thank you for your positive feedback! We’re glad that the hospitality of our team won you over and delighted to learn that you appreciated the great value of your stay. We hope you’ll be back to visit us again when you’re ready to relax and enjoy the sun on the beach and boardwalk! Kind regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
It's no Marriott but it was exactly what me and my girls needed.. clean, ocean view, cumfy beds.. my biggest complaint is there are no balconies or patios you just get a window that doesn't open that much.. but it was enough to feel the beach breeze so we were fine.. never even needed the AC on! Amazing location also!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you and your girls and we’re glad you all had a great time here in Hollywood Beach! We hope you got to relax and enjoy the beautiful beach and boardwalk just outside our back door. We’d love to welcome you back again very soon! Best regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach and close to all

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Old hotel not kept well, but for the price it was ok, staff was helpful and it's right on the beach and on the strip so if you are not to fussy about amenities this is a good hotel for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our oceanfront location on the boardwalk and that felt well taken care of by our friendly team members. We strive to offer a great value to our guests and we hope you’ll be back to see us soon! Best regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

rude staff. building needs to be torn down.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: On the beach!
Cons: Staff training. bull doze the building.
I found the staff most unhelpful. Tried to get an early check in and was continually lied to. One woman on my floor showed me photos on her phone of what she found under the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear JL, Our team values guest feedback, and we appreciate you sharing yours. We strive to offer clean and spacious rooms and hospitable service at a great rate right on the beach, and we’re sorry to learn that you didn’t see the value in your stay. We thank you for your suggestions and hope you had a nice beach vacation and a safe journey home. Warm regards, Hollywood Beach Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo. new york

Beware!!!@

Posted Apr 19, 2017
This is the hotel from hell! Fire warning on door from City of Hollywood stating hotel is under 24 fire watch because of failing SIX codes. Shower hung out of wall . Power lines for pool lights hung in water! Night staff was ride. When I asked for explanation of fire warning I was told it was none of my business. The only thing going for this hotel is location. Towel stuffed in air vent in upper wall to control air conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Our team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing yours. We’re terribly sorry to learn that your recent experience fell short of your expectations and our own high standards. We thank you for letting us know so that we may review each of your comments as a team to ensure that our future guests don’t share in your experience. Once more, we appreciate you sharing and thank you for being our guest. Kind regards, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port