Ratings based on 1,474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

hotel familar y nos ayudo para hacer negocios

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: la ubicacion
Cons: agua en la habitacion
ubicacion adecuada para la convencion y el internet algo saturado y en general todo bien
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Cesar, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we thank you for sharing your positive review! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our oceanfront location and hope you made the most of our pool and direct access to the beach and boardwalk . . . the most important parts of a Florida getaway! We also appreciate you sharing your additional comments, which we have reviewed with our team as part of our ongoing efforts to elevate the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon; we’re sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised! Best regards, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I never go back to that hotel, my experience horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We thank you for staying with us and for sharing a review about your experience. We’re terribly sorry to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations and we wish we had more information so that we could address your concerns. We hope you were still able to enjoy some time on the beach while you were here in Hollywood! Sincerely, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Felipe

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Filthy blankets gas leak would have to pull stove out to close main valve safety issue!! Refrigerator leak,Elivators broke most of the time.Had to change key cards 3 times to get into room!Walking up a down 5 floors!Staff were excellent considering how tired the must be of people complaining!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Dilapidated, We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We’re terribly sorry to see that your stay coincided with our recent elevator outage and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, especially considering the issue you were having with your key cards. It sounds like the perfect storm and we understand your frustration! We also appreciate you bringing to our attention the issue with the stove in your room so that we can address it promptly. We appreciate you recognizing the good intentions and efforts of our team, and we have shared your comments with them. We thank you for your understanding and patience, and hope that you were still able to enjoy some time on the beach while you were here! Best regards, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

proche de la plage

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: la piscine
Cons: tous, beaucoup de travaux à faire dans cet hotel Internet
Location: le quartier est bien, au bord de la plage
accueil pas accueillant pas d'eau chaude chambre disponible à 16h même s'il n'y a personne dedans l'internet ne fonctionne pas, il se déconnecte toutes les minutes, je n'ai même pas pu m'enregistrer sur mon vol, il a fallu que j'aille dans un MacDo
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share a review. We’re thrilled that you appreciated our oceanfront location right on the boardwalk and hope you got to enjoy some sand and sun! We’re terribly sorry to hear that you experienced issues with our internet, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We thank you again for sharing so that we may address the issue and we hope you were still able to enjoy your beach holiday with us! All the best, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The room service staff failed to clean the room after numerous request were made at the front desk where I was told that "I just had to be patience". Bed sheets not change. I initially requested an ocean view room but upon arrival that was not the case. The room was later change after complaining. Not recommended !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, It was a pleasure to welcome you as a guest on your recent beach vacation and we thank you for sharing your review. While housekeeping service occurs daily, we have green-friendly initiatives in place in regard to our linen service and so only change guests linens every two or three days, unless otherwise requested. We apologize if this was not communicated to you and we appreciate you sharing this feedback. We also thank you for your flexibility in moving rooms so that you could have your desired room type, and we hope you enjoyed your view of the beautiful ocean! Cordially yours, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Need renovation new staffing has protencial

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Elevator was not working I had to take the stairs staff didn't make me feel welcome the room was clean properly overall experience was not good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Ronald, We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share a review! We’re glad to see that you appreciated the positive aspects of your stay, such as a clean room, and regret that your overall experience wasn’t better. Welcoming hospitality is one of our core values and we are disappointed to read that this was not your impression. We have used your feedback as a coaching subject to help our associates understand your point of view. We thank you for sharing and feel confident that you’ll find a noticeable difference on your next visit. Sincerely, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Boardwalk

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Right by Boardwalk on beach , beds were very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location on the beach and boardwalk and that you got a good night’s sleep! We hope to welcome you back the next time you’re in need of some sand and sun! All the best, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Overall bad experience

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Had to pay a extra $10 for a portable a.c. unit to be duct taped out of the window. Pictures of hotel room did not look the same when we got there maybe older pictures on website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Adriana, It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we appreciate your review! While all of our rooms are unique, we do our best to portray a wide sampling of rooms on our website and regret that your room fell short of your expectations. Although the air conditioners currently in use are portable units, we’ve found that our guests appreciate having control of the temperature of their room (vs. an older AC system where all units maintain the same temperature.) To clarify, air conditioning is a standard guest room amenity and you should not have been charged extra for this service. We apologize for any confusion and are always happy to help if you feel there were errors on your final folio. Sincerely, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miramar, FL

Filthy hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The worst hotel I have ever been in. Hygiene was deplorable, dusty, the bath tub and sink were clogged, the room smelt awfully, we didn't dare to have breakfast, which was included in the price. The pictures we saw in the website do not match with what we saw. The three elevators were out of service. It's a shame that you get charged for such a pig place, the entire environment is decadent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Art and Yin, Our team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing yours. While we strive to offer clean and comfortable accommodations on the beach, based on your review, this was not the impression we left with you. We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, and we want you to know that your comments have been reviewed with our team. Our intention is to better understand your point of view and identify ways to improve upon your experience with us. We’re sorry for any inconvenience and hope that you were able to enjoy your beach holiday. Warm regards, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not comment

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The room comfort is terrible, portable HAVC, mattress awful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We do our best to offer clean, comfortable rooms and great service at a great price, and we are sorry to see that we fell short as it relates to “comfort” in your experience. On behalf of the entire team, we extend our sincere apologies and hope you were able to enjoy your visit. Best regards, Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port