Ratings based on 783 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last Minute Stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Hotel was hard to find. Behind a run down strip mall. Room comfortable. Bathroom clean. Ok for last minute stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016
It was alright but not perfect because of the smoking all over the place even on the refrigerator so as my 6 months daughter was there it was very hard to enjoy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vraiment bien pr le prix.

Posted May 30, 2016
Proche commerces/ dinner/autoroute 1 motel agréable avec des chambres spacieuses lit parapluie fournit dès la demande.petit dej correct.frigo et micro ondes dans la chambre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Horrible hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
There were stains all over the wall. There were burn holes in the covers from cigarets. It was a horrible hotel to stay at
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico, USA

Desk Clerk: "We're 2-star, so complain to Expedia"

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: There seemed to be very few other guests, so it was "nice and quiet"; because I speak Spanish, I got along fine with my Nicaraguan housekeeping lady.
Cons: Most of the staffers were very kind, but it might be constructive if NO staffer EVER invited a guest to "Check out and leave if you're not happy"....
Location: Hollywood, FL is at LEAST as chintzy as its California namesake: all around me were Payday Loan shops, liquor stores and "Defense Attorney" offices!
In at least one respect, the Hollywood Gateway Inn is one of the strangest such places I ever expect to encounter. Why do I say that? Because it's situated behind a strip mall and has NO on-site signage that identifies it in any way! Had I not telephoned in advance for specific directions, I never EVER would have found the place. The in-room telephone lacked any instructions whatsoever: ZERO info about how to make local calls or long-distance calls or how to reach "housekeeping" or the "front desk" or anything else. There was a ceiling light above a table, but the switch for that light was nowhere to be found; a female desk clerk explained that my room's bed had recently been changed from "Queen" to "King" and that its new headboard was blocking access to the switch; she said I could find the switch behind the headboard; when I tried to do that, the headboard dropped to the floor and a handyman had to remove it altogether before I could continue my misadventure. Next was the superb high-def TV set: a neatly printed guide sheet identified all of the available channels, but none of them appeared when I punched them in; the desk clerk told me that they'd changed their TV provider, but had not yet printed new channel listings; again, the handyman had to come to my rescue; he walked me through a complex series of remote-unit maneuvers that were required in order to access the channels I wanted to see. Ah, but the A/C, microwave, fridge & security were excellent....
5 out of 5
by ROBERT from Delmar, NY

Enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Room was dated, but still nice/clean with fridge & microwave. Extended tv channel lineup. Very nice pool; the front desk & housekeeping very hospitable .
4 out of 5
by Terri from Limerick, PA

Convenient to the airport

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is really convenient to the airport. 15 minute drive to the beach. Only stayed here the last night off our vacation because of how close it is to the airport and we had an early morning flight at the Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport. Front desk staff was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darmstadt

Kein Wohlfühl-Deal

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: - große Zimmer - freundliches Personal
Cons: - leider nicht
Wir hatten das Motel für unsere 1. Übernachtung nach der Ankunft in Miami gebucht, um für den kommenden Tag eine gute Ausgangslage für die Weiterreise zu haben. Das Motel liegt nicht im sichersten Viertel von Hollywood. Nächtliche Polizeistreifen über den Motel-Parkplatz und morgendliche Polizeipräsenz an der Rezeption ließen kein gutes Gefühl aufkommen. Das Motel befindet sich in einem abgewohnten, renovierungsbedürftigen Zustand und die Qualität der sehr großen Zimmer lässt zu wünschen übrig. Auch die wirklich sehr netten Gespräche mit dem Hotel-Personal und den morgendlichen Frühstücksgästen konnten unseren Gesamteindruck nicht zum Positiven wenden.
4 out of 5
by Dameshia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Adrian from Los Angeles

Desperate Times

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
I was in town visiting my brother, who lives in Ft. Lauderdale. Spent the first two nights at his house, but it wasn't an ideal set-up so I opted for a room here to stay in for the rest of my trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is old and needs work, both on the outside and inside. My room was on the second floor, which helps if you're wary of Florida insects potentially making their way into your room. I opted for one more night to avoid spending another night at my brother's house, which was sort of expensive. Plus, the hotel would not extend my checkout for another hour, which was disappointing. Overall, there are much better options nearby in downtown Hollywood or another local city, if you're willing to pay more. The neighborhood here is dreadful, but there is a great donut/coffee spot within walking distance (Dandee's).