Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: the rooms were on the 1st floor the location was great and the staff Trisha and the other woman, didn;t have a name tag, large woman african american
Cons: the rooms, the breakfast pantry need supervision at all times food all over the countertops spills over flowing some guest need to learn manners
Location: great location, not far from the beach and La Olas
my first night at this La Quinta was disappointing, changed 4 room in 2 days. There was cockroaches climbing the walls, then the mini fridge was leaking carpet soaking wet, then the ac wasn;t working , it was only 91 degrees, then the give us the only avail room which was handicapped, bed was way toooooo high so we settle. Breakfast was a mess, horrible mess. not enough food the other guest were pigs I wonder if that is the way they behave at their homes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I recently stayed at la Quinta what a horrible experience I encountered; Floors dirty, insects, broken a/c in room 302!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Cleanliness is an important standard of service at LaQuinta. Please accept our sincerest apology for not meeting your or our own expectations during your visit. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team to ensure this is not a recurrence. We appreciate your business and vow to serve you much better in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roach infested

Posted Aug 8, 2016
In our room, we spotted about 20 roaches. They have a serious reach infestation. We told front desk. They were not surprised. We took video and photos. Next morning we cancelled our upcoming stay at this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. This is definitely not the kind of experience we want our guests to have. I'm so sorry about the issues you encountered. Providing a clean, comfortable room to our guest is important to us. We will make sure your comments are shared with our housekeeping staff. Rest assured your comments are taken to heart and we will do everything we can to improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The carpet in the room was filthy

Posted Jul 30, 2016
made reservations 5 days in advance still had to wait an hour and a half when we got there to check into our room no discount was given to us then we were charged an extra $75 deposit for our Pet when their website said no extra fees for pets because they are pet friendly people were smoking pot on the floor we were on the smell was so bad we had to check out a day early because it was giving my grand-daughter asthma attacks the rug in the room was filthy I mean filthy and it had fleas bad the bathroom door didn't latch the hallway light came through the room door so bad we had to hang a towel to block out the light enough to sleep there were cops at the hotel on two separate nights I would never recommend this place to anyone that I know
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Antonio from Caracas

No lo recomiendo, hay mejores alternativas

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Muy mal servicio de habitacion, desayuno muy poco variado, siempre lo mismo
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choose somewhere elsewhere 2 stay

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
I asked for non-smoking and it smelled exactly just is that a smoking room. It was so bad that I had to buy air freshener just a mask the smell.
3 out of 5
by Kendrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T & T

Just to overnight

Posted May 2, 2016
As soon as you walk in there was an awful stench in the lobby area...the elevator was worst, almost made me puke....did not even think of going down for coffee...7-11 was safer for coffee... Lakeline. 10 Orlando 10 East Tamarac 0.5