Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, Ca

A gem of a resort right on Fort lauderdale beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Low rise U shaped resort that protects the pool and recreation areas from winds and provides exceptional privacy. Beautifully maintained grounds.
Location: Right on the beach. Close to the airport and cruise ships piers. close to Los Olas and the promenade.
Old Florida charm. Family owned for generations. Friendly, efficient and responsive staff. Two nice sized pools. One geared to families with children the second for grown ups. Immaculate lobby and hallways. Great for families as well as grown ups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

A hidden gem

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Great hotel, reasonable price, beautiful pool and grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice private beach

Posted Jan 4, 2017
The facilities were very well kept. The food was outstanding. The beach was nice and private. Very family friendly. While we were there they had a petting zoo with bunnies, goats, ducks and chickens. They also had a beach movie night. We went for 5 days around new years. If you are looking for water activities I found it a bit too cold but there were plenty of people swimming so if you don't mind the water on the cooler side then it may not be a problem for you. We were in a 2 bedroom suite and I thought the beds were too short. My husband and I are average sized adults and I eventually started sleeping on the couch because the bed was just too small. I would go back for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Will come back again

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: Needs a little updating.
Fantastic beach and pool area. Staff was very accommodating. Close to great restaurants and shopping. 10 minute drive from the airport. Will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

unmatched and a lovely tradition to stay here

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: pools,beach,roomy,comfortable suites,wonderful staff,unmatched by any other hotel. this resort is a tradition as we have nothing like it in california
Cons: it was all so perfect
Location: this resort is right on the beach so, you cant go wrong, however, there are wonderful pools, lagoon pools, great food and entertainment, beach games
We are happy people from California who love to travel and relish every minute of our vacation experience. We have found a happy tradition in staying at the Lago Mar, due to its location, wonderful amenities and wonderful staff. This is a family owned business with old Florida Charm. The restaurant is amazing , key lime pie fantastic, and it is just a very gorgeous resort. The balconies from the suites and other rooms i am certain, have a freat view since you are so close to the beach, i dont think any room would be a bad choice, but we certainly enjoyed our suite. The bars and diners have a wonderful feel, the Diner is adorable and Francine in the diner is very fun. Michael Wells , the Hotel Manager is so very friendly and welcoming that i found myself missing him upon departure. He is always about the property making sure everything is running smooth and everyone is having a good time and he is not only a great guy with a warms mile and very engaging and pleasant that he feels like family. He does an awesome job. Great entertainment by the pool, fantastic food and rooms so comfortable. The resort is majestic but also very home and comfortable there is no denying you are on vacation and being pampered to the fullest. if you have a choice, stay here and you will not regret it. this was our 3rd stay here and we always stay at least three nights to fully enjoy every nook and cranny of this resort. Large lap pools and wonderfully lparge lagoon pools , and the pools are very warm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Lovely Hotel with a Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The only thing I didn't like was the free beach chairs. The free ones were old, wooden framed chair with canvas and were not in very good condition.
Cons: Since it was off season, it would have been nice if the paid beach chairs were made available since there were plenty and not in demand.
Location: Close to main strip and restaurants and shopping but off the beaten path so nice and relaxing.
Stayed for 2 nights with my daughter after a 3 day sports competition over Thanksgiving. Easy parking in a quiet neighborhood off of strip. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is beautiful and was decorated for Christmas. Food was a bit pricey but good. Nice work out facility. Rooms were spacious and well appointed and clean. The private beach was nice. Nice for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnsville, United States of America

Beautiful Resort

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: It is more secluded from the downtown area, but I liked it. A $10 taxi ride gets you about anywhere you'll need to go.
I booked Lago Mar on a whim and stayed one night before departing on a cruise and I loved loved loved the resort! Would be a great place to stay and relax for several days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Friendly staff, warm and inviting lobby, relaxed atmosphere and right on the beach. Can't get any better than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Would stay here again

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Very family friendly. Gorgeous location. Wish we had more time to spend at the hotel itself but we were running around seeing family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful private beach!!!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Spent a long weekend- we were looking for something quiet for some relaxation - this was the perfect spot . Far enough off the beaten trail but close enough to Uber anywhere. Private beach- beautiful pools