Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Pleasant charming hotel on beach

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Beautiful deck with rocking chairs overlooking the ocean. Nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Pleasant staff. Great beach proximity and quiet.
Cons: Gym facility is old and small, and needs updating and better equipment. Hot tub! Spa is new but cost is out of control (I usually enjoy hotel spas)
Location: Location on beach is great. Trulocks restaurant in Galleria Mall area is exceptional.
Staff is great. Renting through owner is not the way to go. Cost is same and there is NO housekeeping included, nor replenishment of towels, soap, shampoo etc. Parking is expensive and also not included. No upgrades are possible through hotel as we were promised, but because of owner rental it was out of their hands.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

$$$

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Almost everything,
Location: Beach
Yes Expedia did state that the Valet Parking was $ 30, they did not state that there is no other option, since all street parking is fee required. The staff was as friendly as a slug, they let me know immediately that I was in an "owner rental" and they have nothing to do with me. Check in was 4, the room was not ready until 5:20, Well the final kick in the face was that days later I had an additional $ 100 taken from my bank account from the Pelican Resort with no explanation from the Pelican, and this was not listed at Expedia. Now forgive me for not having local knowledge, I don't live in Fort Laudedale. Please take this deal off expedia. I have used expedia for years, I travel almost daily. This is my first disaster. Call me a jerk, but I am a mathematician, chances are this sucks the big one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Owner rentals vs Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Food bar beach pool were amazing... Cafe D Angelos on Federal just North of Sunrise is the BEST... I have had great food but this place is the real de
The hotel is AMAZING... just outstanding... beautiful just do not want to leave.... Our room was an owner rental.. ceiling fan motor burned out, patio chairs dirty could not sit outside, very small. The room did not fit in such a beautiful hotel... needs to be updated... carpet coming apart.. Needed more towels and were going to be charged... was suppose to be on the ocean and was not...was not satisfied with the room but everything else was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not the same room offered

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: There was nothing directly across the street. There was a lot of construction. Places to eat and visit were near by but not within walking distance.
When we were booking over the phone we were viewing a room that looked nothing like the room we stayed in. The room had a beachfront balcony and a separate room from the bedroom. The room we stayed in was facing a busy road with noisy neighbors and one room instead of the 2 shown on the advertisement. The room was very clean and comfortable but we were disappointed in the room offered and the room we received for the money we spent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples Fl

Ocean Views

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: There's an elegance about this place that is not normally found on beach front properties.
Beautiful large room overlooking the beach with spectacular views of the ocean. Only complaint is there should be at least a continental breakfast offered for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Creepy

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cyrus charges for everything and anything, the bell hop told me so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Excellent facility and location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Cons: Self parking would be better and cheaper than valet parking but the valet parking was very quick.
The Pelican Grand is a great beach hotel with top quality facilities and amenities. We enjoyed our visit and our room as well as the restaurant. The staff is ultra attentive and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great amenities and spacious room

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Fabulous lazy river and beach access. Staff was fantastic and quite accommodating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average with issues

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The staff was pleasant and professional.
The owner rental room 529 was average, but the air conditioning thermostat was old and not functioning. The coffee packets provided did not fit the machine. The coffee store did not open until 7am.
5 out of 5
by giselle from Great neck

Beware

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Room 625 was not up to standard I was expecting . The fixtures and the room furniture was old . Will recommend the hotel but do not rent from the owner directly. The hotel has nothing to do with you , if you rent from the 2nd party. Too many Un disclosed charges such as $130 cleaning fee , another $150 misc charges plus $40 a night parking fee