Ratings based on 2,098 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris, Ky

Not for the Average Person

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel, excellent rooms. Lazy river was nice.
Cons: A friendlier staff + prices that are not totally "outrageous". A normal drink at the pool or beach is $16. Really???
Location: Location not near anything within walking distance - no restaurants, grocery store, any water sports, etc. A taxi or car will be needed to travel.
This is a beautiful hotel, excellent rooms, BUT, staff is not very friendly, and everything is extremely pricey. There is no complimentary coffee or anything else for that matter. You can make coffee in the room but who knows if the pots & cups are clean (ever see the 20/20 special about that)? A cup of coffee in the gift shop is $3 with no refills. Gift shop staff is very unfriendly and "stuck up". The hotel is "off the beaten" path which wouldn't be so bad, but with the extremely high prices of everything at the hotel, you have to leave the premises to find anything affordable. If you have a car, the hotel charges $30 to park the car (not per visit, per day). If you don't have a car, you have to rely on taxi's or the bus, which the taxi is expensive, and the bus is slow & dirty. Just not a good experience for the average person wanting a nice vacation - if you are rich, then you will really enjoy this hotel. My bad though, I didn't realize "resort" meant you had to be rich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maple Shade, NJ

Beautiful hotel on beach

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Our stay at the Grand Pelican was amazing. I couldn't be happier. The staff was so pleasant, the location was perfect and the atmosphere was so relaxing. We can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Amazing stay at the Pelican Grand

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: We have stayed at the Pelican Grand for 4 years, and we absolutely love it. Very friendly staff, rooms are clean, and comfortable.
Cons: Parking fee, $30.00 per night is expensive.
Location: The hotel is not close to the restaurants or shopping.
We have stayed at the Pelican Grand for 4 years and absolutely love it. The rooms are large, very comfortable and clean. The pool and lazy river are wonderful. The hotel is right on the beach and the chairs and umbrellas are included. The beach is very nice, clear water. Very friendly staff. It is not within walking distance to the restaurants though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Right on the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Outside high valet parking costs the hotel was reasonably priced. One complaint is the restaurant staff allowing little kids to disrupt the other diners. Yes the parents should have known better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Very nice place to stay in Fort Lauderdale!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The view and the rooms.
Cons: The restaurant needs more variety of food. It was not worth what it cost as well. But the service was good.
Location: No complaints
The only issue we had was that we had informed Pelican (By Internet) that we would be arriving early and requested early check in. We arrived there at 1:30 pm and did not get into our room until 4:05.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Perfect...except

Posted Aug 8, 2015
This hotel was so beautiful, the staff was great, rooms were perfect, but unexpected fees are never fun... $30 PER NIGHT for parking, PLUS $18 PER DAY for resort fee. $18 was advertised, however the $30 was not until we arrived.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

How things have changed for the worse

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: I am afraqid this resort has lost its charm in the change over
Cons: House cleaning, beach towel and umbrella availability , front staff who know more than rudimentary english
Location: The location was good as it is on the beach and close to many restaurants and stores.
We had stayed at this resort 3 years ago and were really pleased and decided to return , but boy had it changed and not for the better. Apparently the resort has changed hands, and this has created some problems that were not there the last time we went. The rooms took forever to clean on 2 occasions they were not cleaned until 4:30 pm with 4pm being about the norm. The beach is nice but we had difficulty securing umbrellas and beach towels as they were always low on these items, which incidentally are a hidden fee so look closely when booking as they charge an$18/day and resort tax and room tax in addition . These were not there on our previous trip. The valet parking is also a whopping $30/day + taxes. Also, found a large cockroach in our room, which all this was reported to the manager, which his reply was that the resort is under new management and they are still trying to sort things out, but I payed a heffty sum to receive this kind of treatment. I would look for another resort !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Great food awesome drinks beautiful hotel overall nice staff !! Excellent prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Amazing!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The staff was amazing! Very professional and knowledable. The beach was kept clean everyday and they had paddle boards and kayaks available. Food was delicious and the view on the porch next to the ocean was steller! All around great place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Beautiful hotel, excellent location! Love the veranda with the rocking chairs facing the ocean. Elegant hotel making you feel right at home!