Ratings based on 2,409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
All the staff where very polite, courteous and available at all times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting and wonderful beach and ocean fr

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The facilities, setting and staff made our stay memorable. The hotel location is very close to restaurants. There is a bike share station nearby.
Cons: Some of the room features are a bit dated
Location: Shopping, restaurants are about 1-2 miles away from the hotel. Some parking meters along the beach nearby.
We had a great time relaxing on the beach and enjoying the pool and lazy river.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from solon, ohio

Good hotel,right on beach.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location right on beach, grand old style, nice oceanfront suite.
Cons: More cable channels with a guide. Maybe a fitness center.
Location: Beach Beach Restaurants
Nice place to stay, bathroom a little small. Could use a guide for cable tv and more channels. Nice place to go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice smaller hotel on the beach.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
This hotel is nice in general but the rooms need to be renovated. The paint was peeling and the carpets were old. The room was a direct beach view which made up for all of the imperfections. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small. I would stay here again if it was on sale.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lake george ny

Loved everything

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Had a wonderful stay staff were friendly very accomidating. Will come to again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester NY

Excellent View

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Pool, beach, staff, relaxation
Cons: Valet, price of restaurant, more activites,
The hotel was bought out by noble house and you can tell there is a change. Is it a change for the good, not sure as of now. The staff all try to go out of there way and accommodate for you. There are little things that are off right now. The valet was very very slow. We would have to call and let it right a million times. I cannot let these things ruin my vacation. They also had a business convention staying in the hotel which were loud and just took up major parts of the hotel. As a paying relaxing guest I felt this was a huge downfall. I was to pay to come on vacation and relax, not have these loud people in my face who are not on vacation. They had a different attitude of I am not paying who cares. The beach and pool was amazing! We saw a manatee and little fish in the water. Walking the beach at night before sunset or seeing the sunrise in the morning was just out of this world. There was also amazing thunderstorms like I have never seen. Eating out on the porch was amazing, we only had breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

This resort was everything I dreamed it would be.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The resort was beautiful. There was nice music playing through out the main lobby and outside. The service and help was impeccable from the front desk to the end of my stay. It sets the bar high for others to follow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting, good value. Poor fitness center

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Pelican. The setting right on the beach is unparalleled and the staff is excellent. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the room prices are very reasonable compared to other nice hotels in the area. So the resort rates very high on the most important areas. We don't rate it 5 stars, however, for two reasons. First, their fitness center is pathetic, particularly for such a nice high-end property. The equipment is limited and in poor condition, to the point that we felt it unsafe. We went to a nearby facility to work out. To the management's credit, they did apologize and give us a $100 credit on our bill. Second, the food and drink prices were high and the portions were small. I don't understand why hotel management doesn't understand the negative reaction most people have to skimpy pours on drink orders. Other customers we spoke with noted this as well. The good will generated by a slightly more generous glass of wine is well worth the extra expense, and we hope they change their approach to food and drink portions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very nice hotel. Quiet and peaceful. Good service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln University, PA

Large oceanfront suite!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We enjoyed our four nights' stay. The hotel is a few blocks north of the public beaches and the party crowd so it was peaceful. Our bed was comfortable and we enjoyed seeing sunrises each morning from our bed, sitting room or balcony. If you prefer not waking up to the sun, there were plantation shutters between bedroom and sitting room. We didn't venture into the pool or lazy river but did spend time rocking on the big back porch! Beach loungers and umbrellas, towels and cold fruit water were provided too. RELAXING!