Ratings based on 2,396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

This resort was everything I dreamed it would be.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The resort was beautiful. There was nice music playing through out the main lobby and outside. The service and help was impeccable from the front desk to the end of my stay. It sets the bar high for others to follow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting, good value. Poor fitness center

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Pelican. The setting right on the beach is unparalleled and the staff is excellent. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the room prices are very reasonable compared to other nice hotels in the area. So the resort rates very high on the most important areas. We don't rate it 5 stars, however, for two reasons. First, their fitness center is pathetic, particularly for such a nice high-end property. The equipment is limited and in poor condition, to the point that we felt it unsafe. We went to a nearby facility to work out. To the management's credit, they did apologize and give us a $100 credit on our bill. Second, the food and drink prices were high and the portions were small. I don't understand why hotel management doesn't understand the negative reaction most people have to skimpy pours on drink orders. Other customers we spoke with noted this as well. The good will generated by a slightly more generous glass of wine is well worth the extra expense, and we hope they change their approach to food and drink portions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very nice hotel. Quiet and peaceful. Good service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln University, PA

Large oceanfront suite!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We enjoyed our four nights' stay. The hotel is a few blocks north of the public beaches and the party crowd so it was peaceful. Our bed was comfortable and we enjoyed seeing sunrises each morning from our bed, sitting room or balcony. If you prefer not waking up to the sun, there were plantation shutters between bedroom and sitting room. We didn't venture into the pool or lazy river but did spend time rocking on the big back porch! Beach loungers and umbrellas, towels and cold fruit water were provided too. RELAXING!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Clair Shores, MI

A little piece of heaven on earth!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
The entire staff at Pelican Grand Resort is superb. We were there to celebrate our anniversary and everything was perfect. Wisken at the beach set up our chairs and umbrella; he was so nice. Every single host at the front desk was simply fantastic. They were all knowledgeable and very helpful. Debbie in the bar restaurant was an excellent and the bartender from Detroit made the best Long Island ever. We can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 3, 2016
hotel is beautiful...valet staff friendly and didn't have to wait long for car....drinks were very expensive....make sure to catch happy hour for reasonable prices! front desk staff were friendly at check-in but not at check out....overall I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Very good overall

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Very nice hotel, right on the beach. Big rooms with ocean view, good restaurant with outdoor tables. The towels and lounges are always provided at the beach, and it is free. The internet is free, and the connection is good. Minor fall backs: the bathroom is quite small for such a big room, the restaurant is great looking, but overpriced, the food is randing from very good to just Ok and the service is so-so. We liked the bar more than the restaurant. The staff there was more active, and the same drinks there were bigger and cost less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Lovely hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Our stay was excellent! The hotel staff was wonderful, everyone from front desk to restaurant/pool staff. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a beautiful ocean view. We enjoyed great breakfasts and dinners by the beach. My only two recommendations for the resort would be to clear the seaweed in the mornings (minimal, but considering it's a top-notch resort) and improve the fitness facility (quite small with limited equipment). Easy Uber ride to restaurants and shopping. We would definitely recommend this resort to both couples and families and would certainly go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richmond, va

Cramped nothing special

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel was nothing like what I expected. The rooms were very small, tiny refrigerator, air conditioning barely worked. Construction was going on and we were awoke to the sound of pounding hammers at 8am. The room as a whole was dark and depressing. The pull out was a twin bed with springs literally coming out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always wonderful at the Pelican

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff is wonderful and friendly
Cons: Hotel food options are limited
Location: Beach access is great
I always try to stay here when I travel to Fort Lauderdal. Staff is warm and friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. Beach access is terrific. Love this place.