Ratings based on 1,741 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from illinois

beautiful hotel and setting

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The character, and it wasn't noisy and crowded
Cons: No body lotion in the bathrooms
Location: On the river walk, lots of restaurants and shops. Also a 2 mile walk to the beach
The hotel is lovely, lots of character. The pool has a great setting, right on the riverfront. You can watch all the big boats going by. Also located on the river walk, so there are lots of restaurants and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Perfect location with plenty to do within walking distance. Great overnight stay for before & after cruise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We have been staying at the Hotel for decades. One of the draws is the Sidewalk dining patio and the quiet pool next to the River. The overall rating on the Hotel is Good to Excellent but we have noticed the last few visits that the new staff is NOT up to the usual standards of the Hotel. The good thing is that the older Staff is there too train the new people. The other disappointing experience was the Sidewalk patio, the tables and chairs have been replaced with unstable tables and the chairs are very uncomfortable. We asked what was going on, the staff would only say they have had lots of complaints about them. The Patio has also been reduced in size due to the expansion of a Retail outlet on the east end. The old tables and chairs from the Sidewalk Patio have been moved to the Pool area. These tables and chair are TOTAL INAPROPRIATE for the pool area. We always enjoyed sitting out by the pool relaxing and reading our paper. You’re not going to do this is a straight backed dinning chair. (there are some old pool type chairs but not enough, they also look like if they break they won’t be replaced).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice hotel on Las Olas Blvd near great restaurants

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect.
Cons: Staff needs to be a bit more knowledgeable about transportation to Port Everglades.
Location: Shopping, restaurants and great coffee shops all within walking distance.
Wonderful hotel located on Las Olas Blvd. Restaurants, coffee shops and shopping all within walking distance. Also, the water taxi is a couple blocks away. Depending on when you arrive consider purchasing an all-day unlimited pass. A few miles away from Port Everglades - easy taxi ride. The property was well-maintained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Room was noisy. We could hear people in the room next to us and the refrigerator made a loud noise when it came on. Hotel staff was pleasant but not overly helpful. I expect more from a higher end hotel. I will not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CT.

Old, historic, hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
This original hotel in Fort Lauderdale was great for spending the night before a cruise ship departure. You didn't need a car because it was right on Los Olas Blvd. and you could walk to numerous places to eat and drink. Or you could even eat at the hotel where the restaurant was a covered patio on the Los Olas Blvd. sidewalk. Nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorrkshire UK

Lovely hotel in the middle of restaurants, cafes

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Let us check in early, reception staff always pleasant and helpful, late lunch outside was perfect, all in all a good place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus,Oh

Very nice hotel. Highly recommend

Posted Jan 26, 2017
This is a very nice hotel. The staff was great,very clean and comfortable. Nice pool area, with bar and server to your chair. I will stay here again,and recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice location in downtown

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The location and the sea food restaurant was very good.
Cons: Update the rooms.
Location: Great downtown location. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
Room was located in the old part of the hotel. Clearly needed to be updated. Small bathroom with very little storage area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine

Nice hotel on Las Olas

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of restaurants, shops and galleries
We chose the Riverside Hotel for its proximity to the cruise port for a one-night stay. Our room was large and comfortable with a view of the river. We were nicely greeted at reception, who also provided other information about the area. The pool area was relaxing with a very personable attendant. Shops and restaurants are right outside the door, so the location couldn't be better. I did think it was pricey for what we got, but then Ft. Lauderdale in January tends to be expensive.