Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disapointed

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel is location: right on the broadwalk! Otherwise the hotel is highly overpriced for what is offered. The front desk manager is clueless. He called the room, but he didn't even know that a phone did not exist in the room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice and cozy hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel for the 4th of July celebrations. The hotel is located in a great spot, is beach front and very close to different restaurants. The room is nice, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice Hotel on the Hollywood Boardwalk

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: On the boardwalk and nice, friendly staff
Location: The hotel is on the board walk steps from the beach, bars and restaurants
I reserved my hotel stay for the weekend of July 4th. Prior to my check in I called to ask for a roll away bed and some beach chairs and umbrella. Patricia was very helpful she set everything up for our arrival and she even let me know about some construction nearby to stay away from on my drive in. The hotel is clean and quiet and the housekeeping staff is very nice. On our first day out to the beach Patricia provided my kids with floats and buggy board which they loved. unfortunately, my husband was not feeling well during our stay and we had to check out earlier then planned. The staff was very nice and allowed us to check out early without a penalty. I am a local to South Florida and always choose Hollywood Beach as my beach of preference. Hotel Sheldon is right on the boardwalk. you can park your car when you arrive and never have to drive anywhere during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel right on the boardwalk

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: We liked the location and the friendly front desk workers.
Cons: The cleaning staff upset with us for not being able to clean the room one morning due to my son & friend being badly sun burned and still sleeping.
Location: The hotel is right on the boardwalk and beach with plenty of restaurants and souvenir shopping. It's close to Margaritaville which has music daily.
We loved the location of the hotel but hotel is a little older but clean. They provide towels, chairs and umbrellas for the beach which is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nys

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: sound of air conditioning unit
Location: Everything is right there
Perfect location staff friendly and accommodating. rught across the treet is the beach. FABOULOUS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad room, bad service and location

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was OK, the service was terrible. The front desk staff was very rude at check-in, and also they do not allow any late check-outs. The location was on the beach, but there was not great nightlife within walking distance. For only the room, it is an OK choice.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the location, nice clean rooms, vety confortable.
3 out of 5
by Joseph C

Nice affordable hotel w basic accommodations

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The Sheldon Hotel is an older hotel w history and old Florida character that has been renovated. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Very thin staff so when one of them was off for a holiday they were limited in what they could do. Rooms are clean but spartan. There was one rolling office chair but otherwise no place to sit. Bed was spongy but comfortable enough for a good night sleep. View of the beach was nice. Windows open but only the top folds in an inch. Can't open fully. No balcony. Upgrade to a balcony room doubled the cost. Ad reads beach chairs provided. They are not the cabana style chairs but folding beach chairs from Walmart. Comfortable enough but just not what we thought was included. Boardwalk is right out the back door of the hotel. A great little shop to the left and attached to the hotel makes a great espresso for morning sipping by the ocean. Several restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. Most great for a beer but food was average at most of them. Great for a quick bite while taking a break from the beach but not memorable. For the price The Sheldon is a good choice. It's a safe, clean place to lay your head down at the end of the day. It's not a 5 star hotel w 5 star service, but it's also half the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect location.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Classic charm with modern conveniences. Beautiful view. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Was bumped up to ocean front great view