Ratings based on 3,148 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Excellent views of the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel is fantastic. Very modern feel. Great views of the ocean. Close to great nightlife (pubs, dinner, dancing). Pool a bit small and walls are very thin. But a great hotel based on the one night that I spent. Received some complimentary drinks, food credit and other miscellaneous items as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Excellent location and very nice pool

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Loved it had a great time at hotel and at beach very highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Convenient to everything in Ft. Lauderdale

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: General housekeeping
Location: Central Ft. Lauderdale, everything is nearby.
The hotel itself is quite nice, the pool is not great, but will do for a refreshing dip. First I would like to thank Mr. Santiago at the front desk for assuring me a very late check-in and a comfortable stay. I want to thank Debbie at the pool bar (and sometimes indoors), as someone new, she was certainly pleasant and a welcome face every day. On the downside, overall housekeeping was terrible (there were used glasses in the corridor for 3 days before I told someone to pick them up, carpets were not vaccumed for days, etc. ). The Expedia voucher that I was given for $25 was not known about or honored, and you should know that there is an additional $20 per day for "services" added to the bill that I was not told about. However, overall a good stay and I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Wonderful Hotel, Within Minutes Of The Beach.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Staying in Fort Lauderdale for 4 nights i am so glad that i selected this hotel as our residence for the duration of our stay. They have daily complimentary specials for guest ranging from complimentary wine tasting to live music for guest to enjoy. The room was amazing and the view was beautiful, they go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful time and the staff is so polite and are very helpful when informing you on the best locations to eat and explore. A very affordable and beautiful hotel and i am shocked that we got it for the price we did as other hotels believed in charging more due to their name and were not nearly as beautiful as the Sonesta i recommed if you are in Fort Lauderdale that you reside with the Sonesta! There are other beautiful features that you will see the hotel provides but i will leave that for you to find out ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Gym
Location: There were 5 restaurants all right next to the hotel and a great ice cream place. There were also a couple convenience stores.
Hotel is in a great location. The mid-afternoon treats are awesome. We had spectacular views from our room and we couldn't hear people in the rooms next us to talking. My only negative comment was that they advertised a gym but it was a closet with 4 treadmills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, Canada

One night stay at Sonesta Ft. Lauderdale

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: It was close to the beach. There are places to eat and shop nearby, walking distance. Very nice decor.
Cons: Room could have been a little cleaner in the bathroom.
Location: Great location, shops and restaurants nearby.
It was a smooth check in/ valet. Everyone polite and great room. Nice bartender. Pool was good. Great location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia and hotel screw you over

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Expedia decides what and what not to tell you about cost of the hotel and what to hide so you are elect with a pleasant surprise of $22 a night state tax which was said by Expedia that all tax on this trip would be paid for. So definitely watch out for hidden fees when your booking through Expedia because they sure know how to do it Hotel staff were all foreigners only a few new what you're talking about. No one could tell you about any restaurants or excursions to go to. Housekeeping staff was terrible we had a privacy sign on her door and they insisted that they still needed to clean our room even though we did not need a room cleaned and threw a fit about it everything isn't upcharge whether you drink the water user soap beach chairs or anything. My uncle tried calling to give us $100 room credit and a bottle of wine but they insisted they needed all of his information before they took any steps. Everything is overly expensive for instance for eggs toast and bacon for breakfast cost $20. All they want is your money welcome you win with fake smiles and kick you out. We were told we could stay till 3 even though check out time is at 11 but we ended up being kicked out at noon because they booked the room up during that time at 11 we had a knock on the door saying that we needed to get out and we politely told him that the front desk said we could stay till 3 then they came back up at noon and said that we needed to get out because the room was already booked they charge you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Ocean View

Posted Jul 8, 2017
2nd time being there and I love it. Perfect family stay with affordable restaurants literally just downstairs from the hotel. Room were always very clean and poolside is very relaxing. I loved the front desk staff during this visit at Ft. Lauderdale Florida. Evelyn was my favorite. Very friendly and informative about the area and upcoming guest events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Nice hotel across from the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: location and beach views
Cons: headboard on bed worn but otherwise very nice
Location: beach across the blvd. very easy access.
Very nice place to stay. Easy to walk to beach across the street. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Birthday weekend

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Generous with a 3. The pool and gym are so tiny and don't live up to the photos online whatsoever. Dont be fooled!!! The elevators were a nightmare, had to wait 10 mins every single time. Housekeeping is not prompt, i even had to call to ask for them to come when my room wasn't even made up by 5pm one day. That same day they did not give us our two free daily water bottles. They did not replenish other things in the room. The best thing was the beach view for the king size deluxe room. Breakfast buffet was delicious too. Friendly bar tenders by the pool. I will not stay here again.