Ratings based on 3,053 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel couldn't get room cleaned.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
This hotel is a beautiful hotel right across from the beach. The reception desk staff were great along with the bartenders and wait staff. Rooms were nicely appointed with great views but we could not seem to get our room cleaned up. We stayed for three nights and after returning from the beach at 5:30pm the room was not made at all. I called the front desk and was told that they didn't get around to it yet. I was upset and said it was not my first time at a hotel and that rooms were always cleaned by the time we got back later in the day. The second day you would have thought someone would have taken initiative to make sure our room was done after complaining the first time. Sure enough we returned around 5:45 again and the room was not made again!!! Then the man at the front counter suggested somehow that this could be our fault and did we have a privacy sign on the door therefore they would not clean it. I said of course not then he said he would call the housekeeping manager. They came and cleaned the room while we were getting ready for a family dinner and no follow up was made by anyone. Housekeeping is poorly run and they don't seem to care about customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Awesome hotel with the best views in Ft Lauderdale

Posted Apr 26, 2017
My wife an I had a great time in Ft Lauderdale at Sonesta. We had the corner room with panoramic view over looking the ocean and the floor to ceiling windows over looking the ocean and a1a. It is the best view from any hotel room I've ever stayed in. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, everything was what we expected and more!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach but missing little things

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff, ambiance, style, and comfort.
Cons: Showers, GYM, poolside food
Location: AWESOME location right on the beach. Lots of bars, restaurants, and shopping all right nearby
Beautiful, modern hotel. As soon as I walked in I felt like I was walking into the W. Lots of white, modern furnishings, with nice ambiance and great staff. But the "gym" is terrible, and to me that matters. Plus, the shower ... it's nice but there's ONLY an overhead showerhead directly above. It's not adjustable nor is there one in front of me. That made showering a little more difficult than it needed to be. Valet was okay, so long as i called down ahead of time. But what bothered me with the valet is that there were no other options for parking. Why can't I just self park with the hotel? For what I'm paying every night I should be able to do that at least. Also, ordered calamari and 2 drinks at the pool for $50?? Come on now, that's a bit much -- especially considering the food was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
My family traveled to Ft. Lauderdale to celebrate my husband's birthday. We stayed at Sonesta. I called the hotel the morning before our flight telling them the purpose of this trip and want to make sure we have an ocean view room (I'm not sure if all rooms were ocean view). When we arrived, we wee told that our room was preselected and it was an ocean view room on a high floor. We were amazed at how beautiful our room was. My kids were very excited! However there was a minor issue: on the 1st night, there was a pretty bad leak from the AC late at night. We called the front desk, the problem was quickly taken care of. During check out and I mentioned the leak and the front desk lady immediately offered $50 off our total bill. We totally didn't expect that but it was a great surprise! We will definitely stay again next time and will recommend this hotel to friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taunton

Nice hotel right across from the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Nice hotel, awesome staff clean great location. Staff was great. Valet service very helpful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Pictures can be deceiving

Posted Apr 13, 2017
I booked my room last minute after I arrived in fort Lauderdale. There was an issue with expedias computers, so the hotel did not show my reservation yet. Brittany was the lady that checked me in and had to call expedia for verification, it took her about 15minutes. I was not in a hurry so I was fine with it. She came back and said I just spoke with expedia and they were experiencing a computer problem and that in fact booked my room about 45 minutes ago. She apologized for the wait which was not her fault or the hotels fault and upgraded my room to a full ocean view from 2 sides....floor to ceiling windows! Very cool. What I didn't care for was the pictures of the pool and fitness center were deceiving. They were both extremely small and I enjoy doing those things which is why I picked the hotel. But there were to many people in the small pool and nothing available in the fitness center, which only has 3 treadmills, one bike, one elliptical and one universal machine. Would I stay there again....probably not. But I did like the hotel in itself very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Parking should be chipper $32 per day is kind of high . The restaurant downstairs should have wrap around porch outside. Lobby and bar kind of boring.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy. Dirty sheets, dirty towels, dirty carpet.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Cons: Clean it.
Location: ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE BEACH. NOT ON THE BEACH. Please pay attention to the photos. Your beachfront view is of the street, then the beach.
Nasty. Can't say too much more than that. We had makeup on our sheets, dirt on face towels, spots in carpet. My friend was walking in white sox, that were dirty at the bottoms. We didn't even stay the night. They have the nerve to have white faux leather furniture, that's heavily soiled. Gross. Period.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Spring break

Posted Apr 8, 2017
I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel staff was friendly the rooms comfortable and of course the location right on the beach was excellent I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Close to the beach and beautiful hotel. Staff very professional