Ratings based on 3,093 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB Canada

Beautiful hotel close to beach but no spa massage

Posted May 25, 2017
Beautiful gorgeous hotel. Beach access amazing. 20$ extra for a beach umbrella. Drinks by the pool (if you forgo the beach) very expensive. Only real negative is we tried several times to book a couples massage. Only they couldn't get hole of the masseuse. So we gave up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Elegant yet casual super nice beach hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, elegant yet casual atmosphere.
Cons: Not that I can think of...
Location: We took a tour of the Everglades offered at front desk. There are some botanical gardens across the street and eating and shopping close by
We were unexpectedly surprised at the quality of the hotel as we had a great rate on Travelocity much better than other hotels in the area & on Miami Beach. Hotel was super clean and was so nice and convenient being able to walk through lobby with swimsuit and cover up right off the beach which is across the street. No need to rent a car as day trips to Everglades available and a variety of restaurants within walking distance. This is my first time not having a rental car, so it was a nice budget stay on the beach before starting my new job. We enjoyed the daily afternoon treats as well as the free cocktail offered with our room. One morning they offered a yoga class that I just loved. Highly recommend Sonesta for your Ft. Lauderdale getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Attentive staff

Posted May 18, 2017
Not super fancy......but very nice. I liked how clean the room was and looked super clean all in white. We had no problem getting around even though we didn't rent a car and I was with someone who could not walk far. There is a good Italian restaurant about 2 short blocks down Sunrise Blvd and we took the bus (easy and cheap) to go down A1A to H2O which is our favorite restaurant for breakfast and to Casablanca for dinner.......actually within walking distance for most people....just go South on A1A. I love that they put a small bottle of water in the room each day for each guest. And I think all rooms have at least a partial ocean view. It is a nice hotel on the beach.....across the street as most hotels down that strip are
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east stroudsburg PA

Nice close to the beach.

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice hotel very accommodating Very clean Enjoyed the bartender
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Great place to stay at. Clean. Friendly staff. Access to the ocean. Very conveniently located. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Luxury and comfort woven together

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Ocean view and access to the beach, gorgeous rooms with beautiful views, friendly and hospitable staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: I didn't get a chance to explore local restaurants in the area. The bar in the Sonesta lobby and dining room are lovely.
Loved my stay at Sonesta. Very friendly and very helpful staff. Fabulous room with an incredible view of the ocean. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Great stay. Views to die for. Excellent atmosphere

Posted May 15, 2017
We had a blast. Great hotel! The staff was great and the atmosphere was amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Theft in Lobby

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The property location by the beach... and room view of beach...
Cons: The manager's lack of interpersonal skills in relating with guests.... Especially when the establishment is at fault for property loss...
Irresponsible staff left my luggage and bags unattended in lobby and someone// stole my husband's expensive watch out of our bag.... At check-in the bellman took our belongings and stated they will bring them to our room post checking in ... Almost 30 mins past and our bags arrived minus the watch... We filled a police report... and prior to checkout after viewing all the uncharged 20.00 a day resort fee and 30 dollars a day parking... I spoke with the manager but he refused to remove any charges. But after persistent he finally took 40.00 off for room service... like WOW...HOW ACCOMODATING!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

nice place to stay

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: restaurant, pool cleanliness
Location: mall, ocean
nice and easy good location. the restaurant was a total rip off and the service was super slow
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The view and Evelyn the only one I trusted at the front desk.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE, no automatic 18% fee, the $50.00 incidental charge and the $20.00 for water and coffee.
Location: Some cafe's close by. The location is good.
The hotel is in a great location as the beach is beautiful and across the street. Nice pool area and good restaurant. What was very disappointing was our treatment by the staff and a series of unfortunate incidents. First the windows were being washed and we were not informed. Guess what, I stepped out of my bath to the face of a window washer. Hope he enjoyed the view and the startled look on my face. We were asked to move rooms and the story given was fake as I overheard the maintenance chatting about having to fumigate my room. The compensation was 2 days of breakfast(was promised 4) and 2 free drinks(was promised 4). The dishes from my room service stayed in the hallway outside my door for 2 days. We ran out of TP, towels, shampoo and soap. Upon checkout I was stuck in the elevator, the front desk staff person did not know the price of a massage even though I pointed it out on the brochure, she was not having any part of it. The hotel also includes an 18% fee on everything you purchase. It also adds a $50.00 fee per day for incidentals and a $20.00 per day for use of beach chairs, 2 bottles of water in the room and the use of the coffee machine; sorry but I have never paid for in room coffee before. Speaking of the beach chairs, when i requested one, they were not available due to an Air Show being on and the hotel rented the beach chairs for a higher dollar value to NON hotel guest. Many other issues but too many to list. The GM needs to be changed.