Ratings based on 1,943 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok if your staying on a budget

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Breakfast definitely could be improved. Would be great to have a waffle maker. Staff needs to be better trained in how to handle issues/complaints.
Location: Good location. Walmart/Cvs about 10 minutes away. Also Pompano beach/Ft Lauderdale beach about 10-15 minutes away.
I had a problem with my room at the beginning due to the tv remote not working and none of the staff members/maintenance guy didnt know how to operate it either. I was then transferred to a "Suite". The next day the staff wanted to move me again to another room. I then had a discussion with the front desk staff regarding the inconvenience this was to continue to be moved to different rooms. I made it clear I didn't like the feeling I was having of a " bouncing rabbit ". After some back and forth I was left in the "suite". The room and hotel are very clean but besides the lobby the rooms and halls look like they need some minor renovations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

The hotel is ok and it is close to A beach.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The hotel is quite. But it is 20 miles from everything else you will want to do. The rooms are nice and big but the cleanliness could be better. The sheets did not get changed the entire week and the cleaning people would leave there clean cleaning items in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This hotel was a former hospital so when you walk upstairs to your room, you immediately get the feel of a "nursing home/hospital" look. There is no bathtub just a very small "hospital" style shower stall. My bathroom sink was peeling off of the wall and desperately needed caulk. Bed was extremely uncomfortable! I will not ever, ever stay at this hospital hotel again! Gross!!!
4 out of 5
by osman from quesada

buen costo-beneficio

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
habitación y desayuno muy básico, pero razonable para corta estancia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 stars!
3 out of 5
by osman from quesada

costo beneficio regular a malo

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
un poco incómodo x no tener ascensor, desayuno limitado
1 out of 5
by Bernard from Tampa Bay

"Negative" 1 star rating OMG don't stay here!!!!

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
On vacation with my wife. description said 24 hr room service. We wanted to stay in order room service and have a bottle of wine. When we checked it we found out ...no room service and we were not allowed to bring any alcohol into our room ?????????????????????? Never heard of anything so ludicrous. They said we could not be refunded so we checked into the room and realized that there was massive construction being done on all the floors. I should have read the reviews. Read them for your own good. One time in Atlantic city we could not get a room and slept in our car...It was better than staying here. BTW people at front desk we extremely rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We understand that The Forum is not for every guest. Thank you for giving us a try! We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy your vacation at another hotel along with your glass of wine! Thank you for the review.
2 out of 5
by Guillermo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carlos from Jacksonville, Florida

Buen Precio

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
No me puedo quejar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars!!
2 out of 5
by Mauricio from Guatemala

Not returning to this one.

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
The building is an office building modified to be a hotel. The bathrooms are small and not too practical. The furniture and TV are quite old. The surroundings are not to pleasant. No-no for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay. We will work hard at fixing the issues you have mentioned. Thank you for letting us know!
3 out of 5
by Agnes from Ft. Pierce, FL

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Served purpose
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! We hope to see you again!