Ratings based on 864 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Restaurant is being renovated now so should be better next year
Location: Location is great, plenty to do in walking distance or hop on trolley or taxi right outside the door
This resort is in the perfect location for anyone going to Ft Lauderdale Beach, directly across the street from the beach with its own walkway over the road from the pool. Room was very clean and Staff were very willing and able to help with any needs!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Very nice location easy access to the beach front

Posted Jan 17, 2017
I had a great time in the hotel We attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed for 5 days enjoyed and relaxed in comfort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated rooms

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I was expecting more for the cost of the stay. The only good thing was the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Neal Spivack, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. It was great to read how you enjoyed our location. Our apologies that the rest of your experience wasn’t Excellent. We do hope to have you back again in the future if your travels bring you back this way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nevada

Great location, easy access to the beach.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location and access to the beach
We stayed only 1 night but enjoyed the pool restaurant and room service. Renovation on the other restaurant so we had room service. Loved the easy access to the beach. Hotel price a little too high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We like staying at the westin because there are so many restaurants and bars close by. No need to rent a car when you stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Scam Hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: rooms being ready better looking lobby more accommodating reception
Location: area is well known to us
Scam...all the way! Rooms not ready at 4pm- luggage all over the lobby. receptionist smirked at added pricing for parking and resort fee even though no plan on using beach or pool in hotel. she stated "you have no choice"! if price was mandatory why not charge in advance when booking. We had a choice and we went to a nearby resort that was fabulous!! felt scammed at Westin and would not recommend it to anyone! awful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Neal Spivack, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We apologize you weren’t more aware of our resort fee and parking prior to arriving at the resort. These fees are listed on Expedia’s website during the booking process as we never want a guest to be surprised. We thank you for the comments, and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right across from the beach

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Love the experience stayed at The Westin 3 out of my 4 years I've been going to Fort Lauderdale .....Don't ever stay at the Bahir Mar ....I regret not staying at The Westin.... I'll never make that mistake again....Right on Beach Blvd so close to so many restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Enjoyed my vacation very much. Every one at the hotel was very nice the whole stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total waste of money.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
We picked this hotel because there appeared to be a balcony and we love sitting and enjoying the ocean. You could open the sliding glass about 36", however, there's no balcony. Only some bars across the slider. Additionally, to get to the room you have to take an escalator up one floor, walk down and around to get to the elevators. The room was okay, nothing special. After putting our luggage in the room and being totally disappointed, we left. About a block away was the Hilton which had big balconies with a small table and chairs. Ah, that's what we expected from a top ocean front hotel on the beach. We went back to the Westin to check out. Sorry no refund so we lost 2 nights. Since we had been there less than 40 minutes and our car was out front (valet did not have to go get it) the guy at the front desk said to tell him not to charge us for parking. Well I was just looking at the details from my bill and there is a $74.20 charge from Westin. Can't imagine what that could be. Just another headache as now I will have to contact them and probably get the run around to try to get my money back. Take my advice, stay anywhere but here (the Hilton was awesome!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Neal Spivack, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. Our apologies you didn’t have an Excellent experience with us. Our resort listing does inform our guests about the sliding glass doors we have in our room which are not balconies. Our apologies you weren’t made more aware of this. Unfortunately the reservation you made was pre-paid, non-refundable so we were unable to process a refund. The charge for $74.20 is 2 nights of our resort fee ($37.10/night). We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future if your travels bring you back this way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

I was unhappy

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the beach
Cons: Honest pricing. Morning housekeeping. additional eating venues
Location: Beach
We were appalled by the $35 additional charge for use if the pool. Even though our daughter was arriving late one night and leaving the next day early. Either include the $35 in the rate up front, or make it optional. This was dishonest. Do you honestly expect the convention delegate/business person to pay for pool time he/she can't use? It was disappointing to return to our rooms at 3:00 to find them not made up. Come on, guys! After a day's outing we didn't want to be forced out of our room again to have it cleaned. Offering a $5.00 donation to a charity if we decline to have the room made up, looks nice at first glance, but considering that the hotel would save at lease $25 each time a guest declined service, it is a cheap gesture. There was only one place to get food and needs a better/longer menu. We booked 3 rooms for 5 nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Neal Spivack, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. It was great to read how you enjoyed our location as we agree it really sets our destination apart from others. Our apologies you weren’t more aware of our resort fee prior to arrival. It is listed throughout our booking channels as well as the amenities it includes; such as complimentary internet, bottles of water in the room, access to our Westin Workout studio, towel usage for the beach and pool, $10 off every $100 spent at the Heavenly Spa, Beach Yoga classes, and complimentary bicycle rentals via our concierge. Our Shatterproof program is a companywide initiative through HEI Resorts that typically receives much acclaim from our guests. This donation was set up with the election of no housekeeping service as a way to aid in the further study of addiction as a mental illness, and to contribute to research efforts. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to have you back in the future.